We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really excellent in line with descriptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Florida
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“really excellent in line with descriptions”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

stayed for 3 nights in june . great value , gorgeous view, perfect rooms , amazing service and hospitality. just one area of improvement. wireless should be more powerful in the rooms .
great position for excursions ,we will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    28
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
144
218
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were in two minds as to whether we should include Lake Garda on our meanderings, and we are so glad we did. We were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely spotless and very comfortable. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and the breakfast was without parallel. We recommend this hotel very highly and only wish we had stayed longer. Truly a pefect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just spent a week at this beautiful hotel. My husband & I can highly recommend it. First impressions are excellent, the whole hotel is immaculately clean, the rooms/ apartments are very well equipped and the bedding is clean on every day.
The view from the balcony from our room was just superb - far reaching views across the Lake.
Breakfast on the terrace - again with views across the lake.
All staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble.
Sad to leave but will most definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side of the hotel got the sun all day & evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyUr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Villa Florida for 2 weeks in August 2012. Weather was superb. The trips to the various towns on the edges of the lake were excellent - Malcesine, Sirmione & Garda town. Monte Baldo is a must via cable car and sits high above the town of Malcesine. We also visited Venice which was the second time for my wife and I and more memorable than the first time especially the gondola ride. We normally visit more places during holidays abroad hence not spending much time in the hotels however this was a very different personal experience for my family and I and one which we live in our hearts forever. Gianmario, his family and staff were so friendly and accommodating that we decided to spend a lot of our time around the pool relaxing, reading, swimming and eating ice cream. Everyone at the hotel greet you with a smile and are keen to talk to you about interesting places to visit in the area. Ask Gianmario about his Beetles vinyl albums and his cold German beer. The rooms are of a very high standard - ours had a separate room with a kitchen which is extremely useful for light snacks and cold drinks. The breakfast is superb and it is a real treat sitting outside overlooking the lake. You will come away from this hotel feeling that you have known Gianmario and his family forever and I expect you also will be so sad to leave as we were. If we were to visit Lake Garda again we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB-CLB-FAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trstenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We were going to Italy in mid-October and on the back of the reviews on Hotel Villa Florida on Tripadvisor, we added a couple of nights here onto the start of our stay.

Thanks to flight delays, we didn't arrive until late evening when it was dark so not the best start. The restaurant we wanted to eat at had closed, so our first experience of the hotel was sitting in its bar eating a rather good takeaway pizza that the staff kindly organised. As it turned out, it was rather fun.

We had one of the first floor rooms which was a 1 bedroom suite, consisting of a lounge room with dining area, a kitchenette, double bedroom and separate bathroom. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The furnishings were all period, along with the wall coverings and lovely painted ceiling. The whole feel was very classic, like going back in time, although the suite was complemented by a large flat screen TV on the wall and very effective air conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan in the bedroom.

The bed was amazing, possibly one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The combination of a luxurious mattress and very firm pillows (which served to remind me that I need to get similar firm pillows for back home). Perhaps best of all were the shutters that, when lowered, made the room completely dark and I'm sure this contributed to a very good night's sleep.

The bedroom had plenty of built in wardrobes, with lovely hand painted handles. The bathroom had a shower only - which was fine as we had booked just that - which was a huge walk-in shower with a fixed rain head as well as a detachable hand-held head. There were plenty of clean towels as well as fluffy bathrobes. One thing though; Italian toilet rolls are no way as long as UK ones, so make sure that there is a spare one.

In the morning we went down for breakfast out on the terrace. It was the last weekend of the season and we weren't expecting much, even though many of the reviews on Tripadvisor have highlighted the breakfast as being exemplary. All those reviews are right - the breakfast has to be experienced to be believed. It consisted of, well, just about everything; choice of cereals, yogurts, meats, cheeses, breads, rolls, filled savouries & croissants and then cooked panchetta and filled omelettes. And if that wasn't enough, then there was a collection of pastries, cakes & meringues.

Everything was laid out with care & precision in the breakfast room and the waiting staff brought out the items you selected from the buffet style presentation.

Topped off with lovely coffee and fresh juices, it was a very memorable breakfast; sitting out on the terrace looking across the lake.

We then spent the day touring around the lake and came back to the hotel early evening. We had planned to eat out in one of the local restaurants - reviewed separately on here - but that didn't work out, so we came back to the bar and had another takeaway pizza. Not exactly a good advert for the region (well the pizza was nice) but the hotel staff were very understanding and even embarrassed at the way we had been treated elsewhere.

The following morning we repeated the breakfast experience and then packed to leave. As we checked out, we discovered that we were in fact the last guests to leave for the season before the hotel closes for the winter. It was rather an honour.

You have to bear in mind that the hotel doesn't offer meals in the evening (although many people may still be full from breakfast!) and there isn't room service. However, the owners & their staff are very helpful and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. There are supermarkets in Gardone so one should be able to buy provisions to stock up the kitchen prior to or during a stay.

The age of the other guests suggests that this is somewhere for the older traveller although this may be because it was the end of the season.

Those seeking a modern, cutting-edge and full service hotel will be disappointed but having stayed here, this perhaps misses the point. Hotel Villa Florida is a throwback to a long-gone age where quality & service were paramount. The building is lovely, the rooms wonderfully finished and the staff professional yet engaging. Compared to the rest of our stay in Italy, Hotel Villa Florida was the highpoint.

If you want a classic guest experience, don't hesitate to stay here. Thank you to the Cipani family for your fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Propaganda_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is not a "conventional" hotel but has wonderful suites and apartments with well equipped kitchens and terraces that look out over the whole Lake - a terrific pool too. It's quite special having breakfast on the terrace with home baked cakes, wonderful breads and a delightful range of meats and cheeses. As it is a family run business there is a lot of personal involvement and you feel part of the family from the moment of arrival. You definitely need a car because of the location. Do explore the hinterland too, interesting restaurants and D'Annunzio's crazy house. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Apartments have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazeyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I'd mailed ahead to say we'd be late, maybe around 9pm due to flight times and hire car access. No problem they said, check in doesn't close till 11pm.

After getting hopelessly lost in the dark, we did a full tour of all the roads south-east of the lake (except the one we wanted). Italian road signs are 'quirky'. You get one saying Lake Garda South, and then nothing for miles. When you turn around you see a sign from the opposite direction that you couldn't possible see from the other side. If driving, hire a sat nav or kidnap a local!

Anyway, we eventually arrived at around 10.40pm, tired, frustrated, fed up as it was our silver wedding anniversary and had spent it in the car! Andrea (An-dray-ah) greeted us at reception and made us very welcome. Check in was easy, straight up to room 208 and a beautiful, clean, bright and airy room. At that time it was pitch black outside so we couldn't see the view.

Andrea had offered to reserve a table for us at a local restaurant that would still be open, but we were too tired. We did however, go down to the bar where Andrea cracked open the beers.

Next morning we saw the view. Brilliant! A full panoramic view of Lake Garda from windows and balcony. The room itself has a lounge with TV, desk and breakfast table at the windows; a small kitchen; a balcony with table and 2 chairs; a bathroom with large walk in shower but no bath, sink, toilet and bidet; and bedroom with comfy bed, 2 pillows and lots of wardrobe space. Our only criticism of the room itself was that the drawers inside the wardrobe had been put next to the door which opened only halfway against the bedside stand. As a result we couldn't open the drawers. This may have been an issue had we been staying for a week or more, but we didn't need to use them at all in 4 nights.

Note: other reviewers have mentioned the road noise, as the main west lake road runs between the hotel and the lake. The speed limit is set to 50kph here, so noise is minimal. You may notice it if you live in a sound-proofed room but it was not a nuisance to us, in fact we heard more noise from ducks on the lake!

Breakfast was good. All the food was set out to look pretty, and did. Hot food was limited although the variety of sides (olives, tomato, pickle,etc) was good. The staff was exceptionally friendly and worked hard. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace with views of the lake while you enjoy a leisurely coffee.

Location - we were about 20-25 minutes flat walk from the promenade, and about 20 minutes uphill walk from the old town. The lake front was pretty although not exactly bustling (last week in September), and it was good that as 40-somethings we felt the youngest in town!

We were glad of the car. We took a trip north through tunnels which were quite disorientating as you constantly switch from bright to dark, stopping at Gargnano (very pretty, proper backstreets, small and compact), Limone (reminds me of 1970s Spain) and Riva. Riva had a very dramatic backdrop, nestling right under the mountain, and is worth a visit.

We also took a trip south to Sirmione. This is right at the southern end and a mecca for tour buses. It had rained all day when we were there but it was still heaving with tourists. Well worth a look though this town on a peninsula within a castle. Beautiful.

Malcesine was reached by 'speedy-boat'. We wanted to take the cable car up Monte Baldo but were put off by a 2 hour queue. Instead we spent a happy hour watching the world go by in lakeside bar, drinking coffee, beer and sampling ice cream. We also went to the castle. Just before the entrance there is another ice cream shop which the locals use as it's the best in town.

We had never been to Lake Garda before and wanted to see a good deal of it, which we did. Weather was mostly kind, and the Hotel Villa Florida provided an excellent base.

I cannot compliment highly enough the efforts of the Cipani family to make us welcome. Each and every member of staff worked hard to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Any guest walking through reception who looked in need of help were immediately assisted.

The whole hotel was sparkling clean. Every work surface, every floor, every fitting looked clean and new. The rooms were huge and tastefully decorated. Absolutely fantastic from check in to check out. Andrea deserves a special mention. He lent us his umbrella on our last night as it was lashing down outside and we were off out for dinner. He also gave us a bottle of limoncino as a gift from the hotel to mark our anniversary.

Top notch hotel, fully deserving its number one status on Tripadvisor.

Thanks to all at the hotel
Mark & Elaine

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a great view. Each has A/C and a whisper quiet ceiling fan in the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
22.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
14.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
22.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florida

Property: Hotel Villa Florida
Address: Via Zanardelli 113, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#1 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Florida - Suite & Suite Apartments, set in 6 hectares of olive groves and floral gardens, has been run by the Cipani family since the 1950s. All accommodations are with a balcony or terrace overlooking the lake. Guests can expect hand-painted ceilings and elegant furniture. Panoramic swimmingpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Florida Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing