We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Florida
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Based on Tripadvisor recommendations, we spent 6 nights here 6-8 August 2009. It absolutely lived up to all the positive reviews.

We had the “Le Palme” apartment which was two identical adjoining rooms with a connecting door. We were 2 adults and 2 kids, 18 and 12.

What we liked most were:
The high quality of the rooms and bathrooms
The terrace outside our room
The immaculate grounds
The panoramic lake view
The very friendly and attentive service.
The small but fully equipped kitchenette
The effective air conditioning
The rolls and milk each morning
The pool was always quiet with more than enough sun loungers
Parking was always available both at the hotel and in the town (free or for a small fee)

Some things to consider:
The centre of Gardone is just a bit too far to walk (in the sun) – 20 minutes at least - so we used our car. You could equally take a taxi.

There is a bit of noise and bustle from the road below and from kids diving into the lake. It was never at a level that bothered us and after a swim, I quite enjoyed watching the comings and goings down below.

Take your insect repellant and mosquito plug in – I learned my lesson on day one and was fine thereafter.

The things I recommend doing:

Take a boat trip. We chose to take the ferry to Sirmione. There are several choices from half a day to a full day. It was so lovely to see the lake, from the lake, and enjoy the cool breeze.

Sleep late and stay up late promenading and dining in Gardone. We enjoyed live music late into the evening in the town centre – and there are more restaurants, coffee bars and ice cream parlours than we could sample in 6 days.

Finally, my number one dining tip – Restaurant Wimmer. We found generally that their portions were more generous than some other places we tried. Their fillet steak and green pepper sauce is fabulous or, for something a little lighter, their Wimmer salad served inside a sort of giant pitta bread.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    28
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
143
207
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Last July we went to the Garda Lake for a 2-week holidays after a very stressful year of work. We selected the hotel Florida Residence on the basis of the testimonials we found on Tripadvisor.com. It was an amazing 2 weeks-stay!
In fact, we already decided to go back to Florida Residence in 2010.
We are a family with 2 young children and booked the Superior Apartment I Limoni (2 connecting rooms; 1 for the children and 1 for the parents).
The view from the appartment is amazing, it will remain on our mind for the rest of the year. The apartment has a terrace and garden, so the children could play and we all had an enormous space for sunbathing.
The marvellous swimming pool is just 5 metres away, it is very clean and the bar service is excellent.
The rooms are very clean; cleaning service is very efficient and friendly.
The hotel management (Dr. Cipani) and staff are very friendly and do the maximum to render the best service; for example, we asked for restaurant advice, and Dr. Cipani booked a table in the Lido restaurant in Gardone, which was really excellent!
The holidays we had were the best in years!
Florida Residence is the-place-to-be for a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

It was an easy decision to return to the Florida Residence and Lake Garda for our Holidays this year and it was just as good as last year. We flew from Dublin to Bergamo which is approx 1.5 hrs drive away. We stayed in early July with our two children who made some new friends from all over europe. This is a lovely residence and every request is met with efficiency and very pleasant people who help to make your holiday!.

This year we hired a car for a few days and travelled around the lake, which made travelling to Gardaland on the other side of the lake a lot easier, but it is not essential, as on many nights we walked into Gardonne, a pleasant stroll as long as its not too hot!! The Hotel will arrange a taxi for you if required. The pool area is well maintained and in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. We spent some lovely days just relaxing by it.

We look forward to our next visit to Lake Garda and the Florida Residence

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfall0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We have just returned from our first visit to Lake Garda and had the pleasure of staying at the Florida Residence Hotel which we booked after reading the reviews on this website and we were not dissappointed in the slightest!
As like other guests this is the first time I have ever written a review on a hotel and it is the first time we are keen to return to the same hotel next year!
We stayed here for 2 nights (wish it had been longer!) with our 2 young children aged 2 and 5. Our ground floor apartment was very spacious with a lovely big bathroom and a kitchen area to use if required. We also had a fabulous large balcony area where we were able to enjoy our delivered breakfast while taking in the gorgeous view from the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - full of recommendations for restaurants to suit our family and local information too. They were also extremely helpful when our 5 year old daughter demanded orange juice late into the evening and they searched their bar for just the right kind!!
The swimming pools are fabulous - large pool to suit everyone but also a small round pool for children which was perfect for our 2 year old.
The road below was not noisy at all and being in the ground floor apartment we did not hear it even once!
I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel to everyone and have been doing so already!
Our family had an amazing stay at the Florida Residence and will be visiting again as soon as possible!
Huge thank you to all the staff at the wonderful Florida Residence!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSM122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel as part of our trip to Tuscany (on the way back) and we loved every minute of it. Even though it isn't one of the beautiful old mansions it must be the best run hotel on the lake. The service was outstanding and personal. We were not given back our passports in the hotel we just came from and only found out on arrival. The owner wrote a letter and send a fax to the hotel that kept our passports immediately and also phoned them to check if the fax had arrived. We got some great restaurant recommendations. The pool area and gardens were immaculate and the rooms spacey, airy and very clean. The best thing I though was the strategic placement of the air-conditioning, I hate it when it blows in your face as my sinuses always respond to it badly. They placed the AC in the hall and then a fan in the bedroom was spreading the cool air. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

As a family, we did something this year we have never done before, returned to the same destination, and the same hotel, for the second year in a row. Last year we stayed at the Florida Residence with our three children (now 17,14 & 4), and all agreed it was by far the best family holiday we had ever had.....and the main reason....our wonderful apartment at the hotel and the staff who can't do enough for you. We were a little concerned that we would return this year and maybe it wouldn't be as good after our fantastic holiday last year.....we needn't have worried. Dr Cipani, his family and staff again made this the ultimate place to stay on the lake. Nothing is too much trouble.

We stayed in the same apartment as last year (Superior Apartment I Limoni) which is perfect for us as a family because it is right beside the pool with a private terrace which looks out over the lake. The apartments are spotless, the cleanest we have ever seen and we basically self-catered making use of the kitchen provided. Also, we actually had a double apartment, with interconnecting door, which meant the boys had their own room, with en-suite, as did we....so we were able to keep an eye on them yet have our own privacy at the same time. Perfect...! I should point out that the main hotel is situated above the pool area and there are quite a few steps to walk up or down, but this didn't bother us and personally I was glad of the exercise after all those pan au chocolate I ate every day for breakfast. Some other reviewers have also complained about the noise from the main road and again this didn't bother us at all, but hey, you can't please all the people all the time!

There is so much to do around the lake, and this hotel is the perfect base to explore from. (I would definitley recommend having a car hired) Gardone itself is small compared to other areas and towns such as Salo, Riva and Malcesine, but we preferred to visit these areas then come back to our apartments and relax again away from masses. There are also some fantastic places to eat and Dr Cipani and his staff will tell you the best places to go.

In summary, this is the first time we have ever done the same holiday twice, the first time we have stayed in the same hotel twice and it is also the first time I have ever written a review on trip advisor to say how good it was......I think that says it all. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoy staying here, and the wonderful family who run it. Hotel Florida Residence is #1 in trip advisor....and for very good reason, it is simply the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Lovely hotel in a truly beautiful setting. The apartment was great with wonderful views over the lake. My two young children loved the pool and the gardens. Our room was exceptionally clean, and the pool and grounds were beautiful. The fifteen minute walk into Gardone for the restaurants was just right with two young children.

We only spent three nights as we just drove over for the weekend from Munich , but we will definately be going back.

We picked the hotel because of the over reviews on trip adviser and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were fantastic and the attention to detail was amazing. It made for a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
22.1 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
14.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
22.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
14.1 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florida

Property: Hotel Villa Florida
Address: Via Zanardelli 113, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#1 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Florida - Suite & Suite Apartments, set in 6 hectares of olive groves and floral gardens, has been run by the Cipani family since the 1950s. All accommodations are with a balcony or terrace overlooking the lake. Guests can expect hand-painted ceilings and elegant furniture. Panoramic swimmingpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Florida Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing