We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cipani and staff extremely helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Florida
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Recently had 4 days at the Florida hotel (which turned out to be 6) due to volcano erupting! can't complain though, because the hotel was excellent, breakfast delivered at 8.30am on the dot every day (our choice of time by the way) and was delivered by a very friendly happy member of staff, always smiling and trying to teach us Italian each day. We got stranded in Lake Garda for a few extra days due to the volcano erupting in Iceland and the hotel was so very accommodating, nothing was to much trouble for them. They allowed us to use their internet access to book alternative flights home and helped us with extending our car hire etc. Seriously you must visit this hotel they are such lovely friendly and helpful people. Both receptionists were also wonderful and so very helpful (I believe both their names are Maura). One day we will revisit Lake Garda and will definitely return to this hotel. Also the bed in room 104 was so comfortable and the room had black out shutters, so we were getting about 10 hours sleep a night :-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Florida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

My biggest regret with this hotel was that I couldn't stay longer. The Lake Garda region is beautiful and this hotel takes full advantage of being on the edge of the lake.

Our room was good and big with a double door which opened out to a views of the lake. (Breakfast was served on the decking outside).

The pool was good and I had it all to myself. However the couple who run this place are it's biggest asset. They are friendly without being in your face or being friendly because you are paying them to stay there - they are just nice people and it was nice to have a laugh with them.

I was able to chat to the owner on Skype which is a help when calling from overseas. We paid 130 per night which was very good value for the service you get.

I would love to go back - I know this place will do well as they just know what people want in a hotel and charge the appropriate price for it.

Gardone Riveria is nice - watch where you park though. We pulled into what looked like a free car park (no metres or signs) and when we came back 10 minutes later had a fine on the windscreen. This was my first parking fine ever. We then had to find the police station tp pay the fine and despite pleading our case with photos etc there was no negotiating. As a result we missed the ferry to Sirmione - we still had a good day but be extra vigilant as we saw others get fined and all in all it seemed to be a bit over the top!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergalfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This is the best Hotel we had been in years. The high quality offered at a reasonable
price makes it a 'must see'. The careful and warm attention of the lovely Cipani family
and the beautiful layout offered us one the best holidays we ever had.
Our days were blessed by the unfolding evening sunsets and the majestic lake views.
The surrounding towns offer many opportunities for unique sightseeing of many special spots that several poets throughout history called their own.
If you go once you will always return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giovassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Based on Tripadvisor recommendations, we spent 6 nights here 6-8 August 2009. It absolutely lived up to all the positive reviews.

We had the “Le Palme” apartment which was two identical adjoining rooms with a connecting door. We were 2 adults and 2 kids, 18 and 12.

What we liked most were:
The high quality of the rooms and bathrooms
The terrace outside our room
The immaculate grounds
The panoramic lake view
The very friendly and attentive service.
The small but fully equipped kitchenette
The effective air conditioning
The rolls and milk each morning
The pool was always quiet with more than enough sun loungers
Parking was always available both at the hotel and in the town (free or for a small fee)

Some things to consider:
The centre of Gardone is just a bit too far to walk (in the sun) – 20 minutes at least - so we used our car. You could equally take a taxi.

There is a bit of noise and bustle from the road below and from kids diving into the lake. It was never at a level that bothered us and after a swim, I quite enjoyed watching the comings and goings down below.

Take your insect repellant and mosquito plug in – I learned my lesson on day one and was fine thereafter.

The things I recommend doing:

Take a boat trip. We chose to take the ferry to Sirmione. There are several choices from half a day to a full day. It was so lovely to see the lake, from the lake, and enjoy the cool breeze.

Sleep late and stay up late promenading and dining in Gardone. We enjoyed live music late into the evening in the town centre – and there are more restaurants, coffee bars and ice cream parlours than we could sample in 6 days.

Finally, my number one dining tip – Restaurant Wimmer. We found generally that their portions were more generous than some other places we tried. Their fillet steak and green pepper sauce is fabulous or, for something a little lighter, their Wimmer salad served inside a sort of giant pitta bread.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Last July we went to the Garda Lake for a 2-week holidays after a very stressful year of work. We selected the hotel Florida Residence on the basis of the testimonials we found on Tripadvisor.com. It was an amazing 2 weeks-stay!
In fact, we already decided to go back to Florida Residence in 2010.
We are a family with 2 young children and booked the Superior Apartment I Limoni (2 connecting rooms; 1 for the children and 1 for the parents).
The view from the appartment is amazing, it will remain on our mind for the rest of the year. The apartment has a terrace and garden, so the children could play and we all had an enormous space for sunbathing.
The marvellous swimming pool is just 5 metres away, it is very clean and the bar service is excellent.
The rooms are very clean; cleaning service is very efficient and friendly.
The hotel management (Dr. Cipani) and staff are very friendly and do the maximum to render the best service; for example, we asked for restaurant advice, and Dr. Cipani booked a table in the Lido restaurant in Gardone, which was really excellent!
The holidays we had were the best in years!
Florida Residence is the-place-to-be for a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

It was an easy decision to return to the Florida Residence and Lake Garda for our Holidays this year and it was just as good as last year. We flew from Dublin to Bergamo which is approx 1.5 hrs drive away. We stayed in early July with our two children who made some new friends from all over europe. This is a lovely residence and every request is met with efficiency and very pleasant people who help to make your holiday!.

This year we hired a car for a few days and travelled around the lake, which made travelling to Gardaland on the other side of the lake a lot easier, but it is not essential, as on many nights we walked into Gardonne, a pleasant stroll as long as its not too hot!! The Hotel will arrange a taxi for you if required. The pool area is well maintained and in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. We spent some lovely days just relaxing by it.

We look forward to our next visit to Lake Garda and the Florida Residence

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We have just returned from our first visit to Lake Garda and had the pleasure of staying at the Florida Residence Hotel which we booked after reading the reviews on this website and we were not dissappointed in the slightest!
As like other guests this is the first time I have ever written a review on a hotel and it is the first time we are keen to return to the same hotel next year!
We stayed here for 2 nights (wish it had been longer!) with our 2 young children aged 2 and 5. Our ground floor apartment was very spacious with a lovely big bathroom and a kitchen area to use if required. We also had a fabulous large balcony area where we were able to enjoy our delivered breakfast while taking in the gorgeous view from the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - full of recommendations for restaurants to suit our family and local information too. They were also extremely helpful when our 5 year old daughter demanded orange juice late into the evening and they searched their bar for just the right kind!!
The swimming pools are fabulous - large pool to suit everyone but also a small round pool for children which was perfect for our 2 year old.
The road below was not noisy at all and being in the ground floor apartment we did not hear it even once!
I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel to everyone and have been doing so already!
Our family had an amazing stay at the Florida Residence and will be visiting again as soon as possible!
Huge thank you to all the staff at the wonderful Florida Residence!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSM122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,188 reviews
22.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
686 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
22.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
615 reviews
14.2 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Florida

Address: Via Zanardelli 113, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £116 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Florida - Suite & Suite Apartments, set in 6 hectares of olive groves and floral gardens, has been run by the Cipani family since the 1950s. All accommodations are with a balcony or terrace overlooking the lake. Guests can expect hand-painted ceilings and elegant furniture. Panoramic swimmingpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Florida Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing