We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Lac
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Capri(Gardone Riviera)
US$185
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa del Sogno(Gardone Riviera)
US$322
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Sofia(Gardone Riviera)
US$203
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Gardone(Gardone Riviera)
US$250
US$230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Bellevue(Gardone Riviera)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Florida(Gardone Riviera)
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diana(Gardone Riviera)
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Du Relax(Gardone Riviera)
Great 4.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Villa Eden Luxury Resort(Gardone Riviera)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Touring(Gardone Riviera)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
18
84
66
42
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
84
66
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bathroomspaghetti carbonararooms are basicfantastic locationlake roomlake tourhotel receptionbreakfast roomrecommend this hotel to anyonediscount cardferry terminaloverlooking the lakebotanical gardenspromenademalchesineensuitegarda
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

That's what you get in the rooms - cathodic tube TV and really old dated furniture - and in the hall. The menu too... service is OK but with no much efforts to please. A tad noisy for my taste. I won't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

this is a 3star and i expect what i pay for but this hotel was disgraceful,our room was large enough for the two of us and bathroom was large to but the room was very dated and the carpet was disgusting it was covered in dirty marks and i spent the hole time in slippers/flip flops on as i did not want to stand on the carpet when my partner moved a piece of furniture to our horror we realised the carpet was blue and what we were seeing was green it was that disgusting. there was paper peeling off the wall and the door frame in the bathroom was loose as well as dirty marks on the walls. the air con in the room is free but very noisy and if you are a light sleeper like my partner then this would be a problem. our balcony had a view of the lake which was lovely but the balcony it self was small and only had two cheap plastic chairs on it so you wanted to have a drink out on your balcony then no where to put your drink also our balcony to the other side of us was the main street which is noisy in the morning and of the evening but not to late into the evening.

the buffett breakfast was okay i have had worse i was disappointed by the tinned fruit and would have preferred fresh. On our last day we had a 6am breakfast as we had to be on the coach at 6.45 we had all the avalibility of the breakfast except the breads as they were not delivered at that time. breakfast as served 7.30-9.30 i would recommend that you are up early and that you keep an eye on the 1 waitress topping up as the food does go fast.

we did not eat in the restaurant as we did not want to spend the money at the hotel.

you are given a drinks voucher on arrival it just states drinks be warned it is limited to wines only local beer is not included.

there is a gentleman that works at the hotel he is very rude and very unhelpful.

the cleaners just walk in so be aware and they do an average job, if towels are on the floor they will be changed.

the area is lovely and i would recommend that you stay in the area there is loads of lovely hotels in the area.

also the nearest beach isn't that far but you have to pay to go on it 5 euro i believe and more if you want to use other facilities. about a good half hour walk there is a public beach that you do not have to pay for.

all in all i would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

hi
never been to the lakes and this hoiday was an 'extra' having just returned from a very expensive rhine river cruise. we chose this hotel because it had great reviews on trip advisor. the location of the hotel is brilliant right at the edge of the lake and about 20 yards from where the ferries pull in.
we flew monarch and my husband and i were picked up with an almost brand new 8 seater mercedes benz people carrier and had a very pleasant 1 hour transfer from verona airport and similar transfer for return journey. all i can say is don't expect a 5* hotel when you are paying 2* prices. this hotel is very basic. our room was on the 2nd floor and the bedrooms were dated and very tiny with just one large wardrobe with drawers. my husband didn't unpack just lived out of his suitcase thank god i had not gone with one of my lady friends there would not have been enough drawer/wardrobe space for our clothes, there was only one tiny shelf in the bathroom to put your toiletries which did not bother 'husband' It was clean! we were half board. there was only ever one waitress on in the restaurant for breakfast who had to clean and clear tables and replenish the food which was always running out. the breakfast was basic and in the week we were there the food never varied. rolls, croissants and a pleasant tasting brown local bread plenty of butter. thin cheese slices, thin slices of ham and slices of garlic sausage and cake or a tart. there was always a large bowl of tinned fruit salad and a bowl of plain yoghurt. you would get to the table and find there was no cheese or ham it had all gone you had to keep a sharp eye for her bringing a fresh plate of food as it was gone as quick as she filled it up. you helped yourself to tea/ coffee from a machine and there was a machine that supplied orange/pineapple. gardone is a small resort and du lac restaurant was quite popular with passing trade, if you were resident you were allocated a table back from the ones set out at the front of the lake,you had to choose the night before what you wanted for the following evening. starters was always soup or maybe a small pasta dish, main course first night was knuckle of pork -aaaaaaargh and a few vegetables followed by a sweet - you could pay extra and use the a la carte menu and sit on the coveted 'front row' seats after the second meal we ate out always eating elsewhere. all in all we did have a lovely holiday, had an organised trip to venice which by coach was about a 3 hour journey. we left at 10a.m. and returned at 1a.m. the following morning, the cost was around 140 euro for two but included a gondola ride, a river ride and a guide who showed us the main sights after which we were left to do our own thing. every day we took the ferry to a different resort on the lake. all in all a pleasant holiday.

Room Tip: balcony rooms facing the lake seemed larger
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiceclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed here for four nights with my family, and if you're coming to the hotel for any other reason other than to see the Lake I really wouldn't bother. The Hotel is adequate, it serves it's purpose, it's clean and it has a balcony overlooking the lake, but other than that it's at best mediocre. The television in our room only seemed to have a German channel and a BBC world news so there was no Italian TV for us to enjoy. At night the air conditioner is noisy and if you are not a good sleeper this is probably not for you. The restaurant serves food that is ok, not typically Italian again. I thought this was quite poor for a 3 star hotel when we had stayed in another 3 star later which was amazing and so much better quality. My tip is, don't stay in your room if you come here - the Lake is beautiful day and night and you can go on ferry trips around the lake, there is a train that takes you up into the hills and a sweet little street with shops perfect for a snack or luncheon. There is really so much more to say about the Lake, but again if you're looking for a good hotel rather than a mediocre one don't pick here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

WE booked through the travel agents/Thomson holidays and stayed on a half-board basis - huge mistake!
The breakfast was basic - bread rolls, croissants, meat, cheese, cereal, cake which was adequate really. However, the evening meals were a total disgrace - no variety, no presentation, poor service, food inedible, very poor standard.
The general service at this hotel was very poor, apart from Sylvia on reception who was the most helpful. We were greeted on arrival by the "manager"/maintenance/"maitre'd" - he was stroppy, bad-tempered and downright rude when we didnt have the hotel voucher as we had booked through the travel agents! Fortunately I had the receipts/invoice with me......!
We had problems with the light in the bathroom and the loo wouldnt flush, so he had to come and fix, and again, he was downright rude and very dismissive! We told our rep and she had a word with him, and he improved a little , but there is lots of improvement!
i would not recommend this hotel - for b&b, and certainly not half board basis. We weere not the only ones who complained about the food, even paying guests in the restaurant sent food back!
One other thing - all the paying dining guests (public) would dine on the terrace overlooking the lake, wholst we were pushed into a corner of the dining room! We all asked on various occasions if we could sit on the terrace, and were told "no, the boss wouldnt like it". However, the last few nights of our stay we were allowed to sit out!
Fortunately, we did not allow the hotel experience to spoil the holiday - Lake Garda is absolutely beautiful - Gardone Riviera is lovely, and the villages and little towns around the lake are gorgeous too - I would definitely go back there!

Room Tip: We had a side lake view with balcony, and the view was good! However there was noise at 6.45 every morning made by a delivery of wooden blocks to a nearby restaurant! We met people who had a lake view, and their room was so small they had to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom! Our room was nicely situated, overlooking the restaurants, street, with a side lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curryqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews