We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food”
Review of Al Veliero

Al Veliero
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Tasty food and nice wine, good service and not too heavy on the pocket in a great lakeside location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    32
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Local Avg Food”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The view is very good the food not so good. Went here for pizza and one pasta dish and were not disappointed but not really satisfied considering the prices, The staff seemed to be interested in something other then the patrons and it was hard to get their attention at times. Would not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe Village, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ate here on our last night in gardone - it was ok, food was average. Service was bit slow - my husbands pizza turned up a good 10 mins after our pasta dishes, and we had to ask 3times for the bill. Staff were friendly but did seem to be intimidated by owner/manager - didn't lead to best ambience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jkt1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely location & fairly good food.”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You can't get a much better location than this right on the lake side and I accept that you are going to pay a bit of a premium for the privilege. In all fairness though the bill was very reasonable, the staff attentive enough (although I did wait for over half an hour for the bill to arrive after I requested it only to lose patience and walked in to pay instead). The food was pretty much ok without being spectacular, my carbonara was particularly nice, but my wife's desert came with synthetic cream and I doubt my tiramisu was home made, ok nothing more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepperbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo Ca
Level Contributor
163 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good place!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a discount coupon from the Hotel du Lac so tried it and liked it so much we ate here 3 times on their lake front terrace. Reasonable prices for food and house wine and service good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Veliero also viewed

Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
 
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Al Veliero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing