We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mini Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sofia
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Mini Hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice little hotel in the pleasant area of Gardone Riviera, on Lake Garda. A short stroll from the water's edge and the main restaurants etc of the town.

Staff very friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself was very nice, both externally and internally.

Great little pool and pleasant gardens to the front.

Breakfast was of a good quality with plenty to choose from and as much coffee and tea as you wished. If it's hot breakfast you're after, you're very limited to "scrambled eggs" though they were a little congealed for me with perhaps bacon or sausages, though the cold options were extensive and always fresh.

Top tip was a local water fountain in the car park just across the road - even had fizzy water on one of the three taps! You'd see locals constantly coming with their own bottles to fill up, rather than buy it from the supermarkets!

Shame a few kids arrived and left during our week there, but most were civilised!

Don't forget the 0.75 euro charge/tax per person per day, but I'm guessing they all have this!

Room Tip: You have to upgrade to superior or equivalent I think to get a lake view - our first floor bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFatFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    48
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
88
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was lovely. Very well positioned, within a few minutes walk to the lake front with it's restaurants and shops.
Wonderful pool and garden, when we visited we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves most the time.
Great staff, always happy to help.
Third time to Lake Garda and the Gardone Riviera itself is simply stunning.
Tip :- go up into the hills as well as towards the lake, you can find some real gems serving real local cuisine.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank K-Lou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It is a few years since we stayed at this hotel but we had a great time when we were there. The room was spacious with a nice view to the front. Whilst there is no lake view the location is very nice and quiet. If we hadn't been staying here we wouldn't have ventured up the hill and found a small old town area and very interesting gardens. As others have said the staff were polite and efficient the the standard of cleanliness was exceptional. When we were there only breakfast was offered so we ate out each night but we probably would have anyway.
Highly recommended in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is our second time staying at Hotel Villa Sofia, 4 nights two years ago and 2 nights right now (3-4/10/13).
As soon as we entered the hotel we felt like home.
The reception was great and very warm, we got the same room where we last time with a bottle of champagne and a welcome home blessing.
Great staff that taking care of everything and gives a warm feeling of homeץ
Excellent location for traveling in Lake Garda and great restaurants near by.
Recommended for anyone visiting Lake Garda.
Many thanks to Giovanna, Eva, Mara and Rodrigo for outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Effie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very kind review. We are very delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Villa Sofia. Hospitality means to establish a warm contact with our guests and it is a pleasure to see that most of them feel well and come to spend their holidays in our hotel year after year.

We will forward your greetings to Giovanna, Eva, Mara and Rodrigo and hope you will come back soon to this beautiful part of Lake Garda.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed three night in September and can definately recommend this hotel. Quiet location away from the sometimes busy lakeside road. Clean comfortable roooms. Great breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Gardone is a treat and we found some very good restaurants.

Well done and thank you!

Room Tip: Our first night was a disabled room at the back - a bit noisy and little in the way of a view. on as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Charming hotel with wonderful staff ! The rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable , go up to the terrace on the third floor for amazing views . Perfectly situated half way up the hill , a short walk to some great restaurants . Wish we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed two days at Hotel Villa Sofia recently, and we are pleased to report that it sure lived up to the reviews given by other travellers here on TripAdvisor.

We had originally booked at the Savoy Palace Hotel, and stayed there for one night in advance to our stay at Villa Sofia, and let me just simply say that this hotel outdueled its larger hotel counterpart by a long-shot!

While it's not right next to the marina in Gardone, it's a short walk away and its position on the hill fits nicely with the charming atmosphere. The pool has chairs for just about every hotel guest and the pool was never overcrowded. We had a room with lake view, and what a view!

Highly recommended for a four star hotel in this region of Lake Garda! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LommeJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
355 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Capri
Hotel Villa Capri
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ville Montefiori
Hotel Ville Montefiori
#19 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
473 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sofia

Property: Hotel Villa Sofia
Address: Via Cornella 9, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Sofia Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing