We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room & Balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were upgraded to a 5th floor room. Plenty of space - as well as a double bed a sofa and chair. Large balcony shared with next door (plants sectioned it off) Big enough for 2 sunloungers and table & 2 chairs. Only stayed B&B - breakfasts had plenty of different things to choose from including fresh fruit salad & hot eggs & bacon, all buffet style. Reception didn't pass on information from our travel rep for 2 days - otherwise would have had 5 stars. Balconies far better in this hotel than the Hilton next door. Both in very good position. Supermarket a short walk to the left and the bus stop to the right. Also pleasant easy walk round harbour area from here.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible - if you don't mind a few stairs to get there - the views are...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenSunninghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Hellenia Yachting Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel, built in 1975, is unrealistically marketed as a 4 star and proved a disappointment from day one. When we arrived we were given an upgrade to a large 3 room suite which whilst initially looked good turned out to be poor. The furniture was very old fashioned even by Italian standards and in poor repair. The room became unusable when we attempted to use the shower. This comprised of a large Jacuzzi that appeared to have last worked in the mid 1980s and had a shower attachment. As the floor of the Jacuzzi sloped it was impossible to take a stand up shower. We changed room.
The second smaller room was slightly more modern than the suite, however, it still needed a total refurbishment. We did accept the room as it had a more useable shower. How wrong we were. This shower leaked so as to flood the whole entrance hall area and we only managed to control the flooding with the help of cleaning staff who provided extra towels which were rammed into vital corners stopping the flood. This shower also comprised of a bath size Jacuzzi which was also not working. As these units were not designed to be used as stand up showers the floors showed signs of excessive flexing due to their continuous use as stand up showers. To add to our misery we had two occasions when the hot water went off in mid shower. Luckily my wife was using the shower on both occasions thereby sparing me from the cold shower ordeal.
The dining experience didn't prove much better. Having looked at dining experiences of others prior to booking we decided on breakfast only and made our own arrangements for other meals. How right we were. On one occasion the restaurant ran out of coffee cups and we were asked to use small double handed soup bowls. The automated self service hot drinks machines needed continuous attention by staff and it was difficult to see how they fitted in to the hotels 4 star strategy. We were in luck that we found a small family run restaurant called "Sire" which was approximately 100 metres to the right as you exited the hotel. As this restaurant has recently been taken over by the family it is not, as yet, listed on Tripadvisor but is well worth a visit.
The hotel had other niggling problems of noise. People dragging chairs on the hard floor above combined with the closing of heavy window and door roller shutters added to a general low level annoyance. One day the hotel hosted a wedding which resulted in shouting and general noise in the pool area to well after 1am. To add to the dissatisfaction using the hotel beach umbrella came at an additional 14 euro a day cost.
However, there were some good aspects. The staff, both reception and cleaning staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location of the hotel was in a beautiful spot with uninterrupted views of the Mediterranean in the rear and Mount Etna in the front. One of the better aspects was the free WiFi which had total coverage of all areas including inside rooms.
Our disappointment continued with the service offered by our Prestige Holidays representative. Our contact Maxine failed to make contact as stated in her contact letter and later arranged to meet in a local bar the following day. The only information we required was the pickup arrangements which she failed to provide on 4 occasions. This single factor caused more underlining stress than the poor hotel room. It appeared that our representative was more keen on letting people know it was she who recommended us to the various places she told us about.
I would not use this hotel or travel company on future occasions

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for a week at the end of April and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was unseasonably cool at that time but was still consistently in the mid 20s C. The staff were all helpful and appreciated us testing our Italian on them; the restaurant staff in particular were especially friendly. The hotel was very clean and tidy (if a bit dated) and our room was very spacious (the walls are a little thin). The food was lovely with lots of variety (I didn't have the same thing twice).
There's a good shop right outside the hotel which has everything you might need.
We split our time between the pool and the beach which were both nice but the beach was a bit stony for my liking. I'd recommend hiring a car and going to Taormina (about 25 mins away) which is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a sea view room which was well worthwhile. Food was very good- with interesting choices and service very friendly and professional. Hotel is very stylish and clean - a pleasant change from the concrete blocks which are all too common. Good location next to beach. Pool is not heated but doesn't need to be either. The staff and management went out of their way to help on various occasions - a very welcoming feel overall and exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice but we did see astandard room and would have been quite happy to stay there.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A good location, by the sea and not far from shops and restaurants. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were given. We didn't have a sea view and our balcony was small, so would suggest/recommend an upgrade.
We liked the food. The breakfast had lots of choice and if you are a cake lover, you will be in heaven. There was waiter service at the evening meals which meant it felt civilised. The restaurant staff were really helpful and served each meal individually to us. The menus offered choice, although I don't think a vegetarian would have survived.
We went on some trips. One was a very long day and hearing the same thing said in four languages was very wearing. Entrance fees were not included.
We found the staff helpful.
If you want the Sicilian/Italian experience, come to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

An excellent hotel, with first class accommodation, service, situation. The staff were efficient, the restaurant was excellent. There was plenty of food. Breakfast had a choice of continental or cooked, or both. There was nothing lacking. Having read some of the comments before I was a bit doubtful but I don't think they went to the same hotel as we did. It was very quiet, except when furniture was moved round (as often happens on solid floors). There was plenty of choice and amount of food. The rooms were clean and well stocked. The staff always helped as much as they could. To those who were not happy with this hotel - get a life. Italian waiters do not walk around smiling all the time. They are very efficient and that is there manner. I would go back there tomorrow if given the opportunity. Thank you everyone. Beryl Clampton

Room Tip: We asked for a superior room and when we got there we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony ove...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have never experienced such unfriendly and miserable restaurant staff, no smiles or willing service and lots of noise when clearing tables.
Breakfast the same and basic every morning.
Also our room like many faced the car park and hotel beside and consequently street and loud noise from bands etc., could be heard until 3 pm at night.
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Facing sea if possible, we asked but no luck. Eat out.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
#8 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Daphne
Villa Daphne
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
268 reviews
2.0 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#9 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellenia Yachting Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellenia Yachting Hotel

Address: Via Jannuzzo 41, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellenia Yachting Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giardini Naxos, first Greek colony in Sicily, holds a wide archaelogical site with its relating Museum. Few landscapes embrace the most typical beauties of Sicily as Giardini Naxos, cradle of ancient mediterranean civilizations and avant-garde turistic resort in Southern Italy. In the middle between Messina and Catania, only 5 km from Taormina, Giardini Naxos is at less than one hour drive from Fontanarossa Airport in Catania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hellenia Yachting Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellenia Yachting Giardini Naxos
Hellenia Yachting Hotel Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing