We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Mora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mora
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife and I (both retired) recently spent a week in the Villa Mora.
We enjoyed our stay. The resident owners were very helpful-- Anne, for general advice ( where to go / what to do)- and Nando, who served a very good breakfast each morning ( nice coffee)
The hotel was very clean and full of local artefacts. It has a very good position - near to sea and to bus stops. A useful extra - residents get a discount at a nearby restaurant and at well- run lidos on the beach.
We hope to return to the Villa Mora next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    18
    10
    11
See reviews for
21
39
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The rooms are clean and quite basic but totally adequate. We had sea views and a balcony which was nice. The bathroom had the odd spot of paintwork that needed attention but nothing serious. Air con worked fine. Plenty of clean towels daily. I thought the hotel had a nice vibe and the staff were very helpful.
The German manageress, mentioned on this site previously, was direct and occasionally could appear brusque but was also helpful and we had several pleasant chats.
Giardini Naxos is a good base for exploring that side of Sicily and the bus service to Taormina is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPinksarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Hotel was lovely and clean and nicely dercorated. There are two rooms that are called superior - you must ensure you book one of these or do not book at all - they do cost extra. The owner is a control freak and very unpolite - like she is doing you a favour by letting you stay there. Very poor customer service skills. We felt like Children under her control. A few times there were errors with change given and we felt this happened a bit to often - although always corrected! You have to pay a parking fee of €6.00 euro from 10am to 10pm and from 10pm to 10am - so allocate another €12.00 into the price of your stay. You are not allowed to take the bath towels to the beach- you can rent however for 3.00 per day (dont be fooled into thinking you can sneak one out as Furlong will know!) You can buy for € 7.00 down the street. All said it was a lovely stay and owner must be met for the pure entertainment value but be fore warned.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathscanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

What a horrible hotel!

In summary: dark, cramped, dirty rooms and the bathroom was filthy. Balconies look out onto brick walls and into private residence balconies and the bathrooms were disgusting - you didn't want to shower in them they were that mucky and there were bugs crawling around on the floor.

We booked 2x Double ensuite rooms in the hotel via Venere in January 2008, and received an email in Febuary 2008 directly from the hotel confirming the booking. We then emailed 3wk prior to arrival and received an email direct from the hotel to confirm booking.

We arrived at the hotel to be told that the hotel had no knowledge of us coming until earlier that morning when they just "found" the reservation and if we didn't like the rooms we could speak to the manager the next day. We were given 2 horrible, dark and dingy rooms. When we asked for alternative rooms we were told that there were not any apart from 1 family room which was slightly bigger.

We then spoke to the manager on the phone who was very rude, basically called us liars about the hotel acknowledging the reservations. As it was fairly late in the day when we arrived, we stayed one night, instead of the 3 that we were supposed to.

The rooms were very noisy at night, everytime a toilet was flushed in the hotel, the plumbing rattled in the walls, trains rattling past.

When we left the next day, the hotel manageress advised that the standard of rooms were the same throughout the hotel, just the view from the balconies differed.

I feel that our experience of this hotel is not a one-off - we saw 3 hotel rooms in the hotel and they were all horrible and dirty.

I would really recommend that you do not use this hotel.

  • Liked — Booking into another, clean hotel and showering away the grime!
  • Disliked — It was a dump.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We stayed at Villa Mora for just over a week during July 2008 on a bed and breakfast basis.
The atmosphere is quiet and friendly. It felt secure and relaxed. The rooms and lounges are clean and comfortable, furnished in the local tradition.
The position in Naxos is ideal for the sea front, harbour, all the local restaurants, and just wandering. Naxos itself bustles when the sun goes down, but in that pleasant, good-natured way that the Italians have when on holiday.
We found it handy for exploring eastern Sicily by car as Naxos has easy access to the Autostrada and main roads.
Villa Mora is close to public transport (bus and train) so a car is not a necessity, or advisable unless you subscribe to the local 'con brio' driving style. Parking is on the blue line and scratchcard permit system (6 euros a day).
The hotel owners and staff are very helpful and informative about the local area, attractions and the best way to get around. (The town's Information Centre itself is only a couple of hundred metres away.) - Don't miss a trip up Etna!
At the rear you can hear the main road and railway (for a few seconds) with the balcony doors open, but it is not intrusive. The air-con was necessary at night and worked well.
The hotel facilities are limited; do not expect any luxury add-ons and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

I always check Tripadvisor before booking a hotel, but there's an art to interpreting people's opinions. The US reviewers seem obsessed by the size of the breakfast, bathroom, and bath towels, so I take any complaints with a pinch of salt. The British seem almost oblivious to cleanliness, but the French take it very seriously indeed.

However this experience has taught me that I haven't quite got the hang of it. Maybe I was too impressed by the price, and that made me put more faith in the positive reviews than the negatives. Or maybe I'm just a fussier traveler than I used to be.

Here's the information I wished I'd known - I'll start with the positive. The location is handy for the public beach and not too bad for the bus service to other towns. The staff are helpful and attentive (the owner's style is quite brusque, but nonetheless efficient). Now the negatives:

- noisy scooters go past the front of the hotel pretty much all the time (especially at weekends) - Sicilians seem to love scooters, and the louder the better!
- noisy trains go past the back of the hotel, but much less frequently
- sound-proofing between rooms is minimal - if you're early to bed you'll probably be able to follow the conversations going on in the next room.
- very low water pressure - only just enough to have a shower, and very annoying for anyone trying to wash longer hair
- breakfast is pretty miserly - even by Italian standards - and the "american" coffee is very weak. Go round the corner to a proper cafe and you'll get great coffee and a delicious chocolate croissant for 2€
- (this is a general point about Giardini) the train station is a good 20-30 mins walk, and parts of the walk are along a busy road with no pavement, so bear that in mind if you'll be dragging a suitcase and wear bright clothing if you're going at night!

So I've learned that if the price seems good, and some of the reviews sound good, it's still important to consider the complaints.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dion-Valmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

This hotel was a great find. It's at the slightly quieter end of Giardini Naxos (the other end looked a bit tacky). We had a front room with balcony (with a bit of a sea view) and didn't find it noisy at all, though we used the quiet air conditioner. Breakfast was lovely with good coffee! The beach straight across the road was perfect. There are lots of local restaurants and the bus stop to Taormina was close by. Anne was really helpful. We would have liked to stay longer!

Jill and David Parry, Barnet UK

  • Liked — Lovely clean bright room, easy access to beach, balcony, good breakfast.
  • Disliked — I didn't check well enough how to find it.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JillPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azzurra
Hotel Costa Azzurra
#9 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Nefele
Hotel Villa Nefele
#19 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#6 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#27 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Rusticana
Hotel La Rusticana
#30 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mora

Property: Hotel Villa Mora
Address: Lungomare Naxos 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Mora 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small enchanting family-run hotel, furnished with charming Sicilian antiques. Conveniently located in the heart of Giardini Naxos, Hotel Villa Mora attracts a local and international clientele known to return for the warm hospitable atmosphere and exquisite Sicilian cuisine. Close to the main beaches, commercial and entertainment areas, Hotel Villa Mora is strategically located 15 minutes away from the picturesque town of Taormina and a 45 minute drive to the eminent volcano Mount Etna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Mora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mora Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hotel Villa Mora Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing