We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed 11 July 2013

June 2013, overall very pleasant stay. Good service,tidy room. Loved the owner thanks for taking the photo of us. The pool was amazing and refreshing after long days of walking.
Room had a sea view and large balcony. Bar and waiting staff very efficient and the service was excellent. Shame we had to leave for Palermo as I could have just stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

The second half of our Riviera Travel tour was spent here. We had a large comfortable room with a balcony and sea view for which we had paid extra. The pool area was delightful in lovely gardens but I cannot swim well so never went in as there was a very tiny area at one end that was shallow and the water was freezing. One day I asked about the indoor pool which was closed. The man at the desk said it cost 5 euros and that he would open it for me. I was surprised that one person on their own would be allowed in there - not a very safe policy.I have never paid extra to use a hotel swimmimg pool. So I would not stay here again as the swimming arrangements were no good for me and would not be suitable for little children. The hotel beach also costs 5 euros and looked rather scruffy, so we did not bother with that.

The food was of a poor standard. I have travelled extensively in Italy and had good food there on many occasions. The breakfast food was of a poor standard - tinned fruit, very little fresh fruit, very sweet and coloured fruit juices, appalling coffee - this in Italy!!! and inferior bread. I had the impression that many corners were being cut. The evening meals were not at all typical of good Italian cuisine. The hotel is about half an hour from the centre on foot so we did not go out to eat elsewhere.

The owner was a friendly man who clearly loved his beauitful gardens full of many flowers.The pool bar attendant was very courteous but other waiters seemed to be overworked. There was a distinctly unfriendly male receptionist on some afternoons. His manner was supercilious and he was not very helpful.

We had the most wonderful guide on our trip who tried her utmost to make sure we were happy.

Room Tip: There are many evening weddings with noisy music so make sure your room is well away form these. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellor67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at the Sant Alphio Hotel during the second half of our Sicily tour with Riviera, and found it to be very good. We had a very pleasant, quiet room with seaview and balcony on the third floor, with a very efficient lift to the ground floor. The hotel is draped in bougainvillea, and there are lovely plants and shrubs around the swimming pool. The dining room is very spacious and bright, and though there was a subtle division between the private diners and the groups, it was barely perceptible - certainly not enough to make us feel like second class citizens! The groups were seated at round tables of 10, which actually worked very well, as there was plenty of space, and you were not restricted to always sitting at the same table, with the same people, if you didn't want to. Though the food was unexciting it was good, and you could always ask for something different if you didn't like what was on offer. The boring bit was that you had to order next evening's dinner the night before - but if you forgot what you ordered, or didn't like the look of it, you simply asked for something else. The waiters were always very pleasant and accommodating, and the hotel owner was often in the dining room to make sure that everything ran smoothly. All in all a good, well run hotel - however, we had an exceptional Riviera guide, and had there been any problems whatsoever Rosario would have . ensured that they were resolved. Because we were on the go all and every day, we didn't venture out of the hotel in the evenings, as the village was probably a good 15-20 minute walk away, so we can't comment on the area, or indeed the beach.

Room Tip: We paid extra to get a room with a seaview, which wasn't worth it. Yes you had a glimpse of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I had a 4 night stay as part of our holiday in Sicily. The rooms and staff were excellent and the dining room raised our anticipation of a chance to try some high quality Italian food. Consequently the sub-standard offerings spoiled our stay with only access to nearby resturants preventing us from goin hungry. The menus were overly restricted and boring with pork being the meat dish on two nights. Breakfasts were a joke with poor quality bread, tinned fruit and inedible scrambled egg. By all mains stay in the hotel but if possible avoid eating there as the slow service only reflects the poor standards. The only sign of urgency was supplying wine lists - overpriced and low quality - not worth buying.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleanlivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during 12-16 June while touring Sicily with Riviera Travel. Our room was fairly basic, but clean and reasonably comfortable. The grounds are attractive and colourful with a pleasant swimming pool. We found the staff to be generally helpful and courteous; some staff, primarily our waiters, appeared to be overworked. Our major complaint was that the standard of the restaurant did not reach our expectations for a 4-star hotel. We have eaten well on previous visits to Italy but that was not the case for this hotel. To be fair some courses at dinner were reasonably good , but the overall quality and service require considerable improvement. The restaurant was divided into two sections; one for independent travellers and the other for tour groups. Many of our group felt as though we were being treated as second-class citizens. Our overworked waiters took almost 2.5 hours to serve dinner whereas service was far quicker and more personal in the other section. Being seated as tables for 10 people was less than ideal; conversations with guests on the opposite side of our table were a challenge. However if you are an independent traveller you may find this hotel to be quite acceptable. If you are with a tour group be prepared for a less than enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the back of the hotel have pleasant views and are reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uktravellerSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were part of an Archer's tour group. The hotel is very popular with tour groups and as a venue for weddings.
Our room was towards the rear of the hotel - we did have a view of Mount Etna and a glimpse of the sea.
Our room was quite well equipped and comfortable.
Breakfast was buffet style with the usual continental options. The only hot option was scrambled eggs.
Dinner for tour group members was a set menu but to be fair, if asked the staff would offer alternatives if the set choice was something you really didn't like. In general the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Drinks were quite expensive and the bar service could be erratic if there was a wedding taking place.
The outdoor swimming pool is set in lovely grounds and we never had a problem getting sunbeds. There is a poolside bar. There is also a small indoor swimming pool - I saw it but the weather made the outdoor pool much more attractive!.
The hotel charges for WiFi and this consists of a weak signal available only in public areas - most 4 star hotels nowadays seem to be providing free WiFi, many in guest bedrooms.
In the street behind the hotel is a range of cafes and restaurants. Very usefully there is a mini market in this street selling drinks etc. Across this street is the hotel's private beach.
Generally a good place to stay but as one other reviewer at least has commented you do feel at times that they are out to extract as many euros from you as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had a room with a balcony which was over looking out on the swimming pool and also Mount Etna!

Lovely gardens with a nice pool. Breakfast buffet style. Evening meals reasonable. A nice peaceful hotel to stay in.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TIMETEAM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
920 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: £77 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Giardini Naxos, close to the most fascinating destinations of the island. A few steps from the sea, the hotel is located in the east coast of the Ionian Sea, in a picturesque setting and evocative, from which you can enjoy a unique view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel Giardini Naxos
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel And Spa
Hotel Sant Alphio Garden
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing