We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good photographer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed 29 August 2013

First of all, we have had an impression that this hotel is located in the midle of a garden, far from other hotels and residences. That is not true. Hotel has a modest garden, although pretty. Nearby buildings are just 20 to 50 meters away.
This part of Giardini Naxos, Recanati, is however a touristic area, that means all buildings are hotels or similar for tourist accomodation. There is no source of noise (clubs, bars etc.) around the hotel, so in that sense its location can be tagged as peacefull. I have read other reviews mentioning often weddings in the hotel. Since we have been there in August, there was no weddings (Sicilians avoid weddings in the August). But I agree, that such activity would rouin our peace.
If you want to eat out, there are very decent restaurants only few houndreds meters away. Center of Giardini is reachable with a half a hour walk, but there is not mouch to see.
Hotel has its own beach, 200 meters away. Beach is sandy, kept clean, with basic equipment, but without beach bar. And it cost 10 EUR (umbrella and two deck chairs).
Since the beach is in the reach, we were not using the pool. I noticed that there were always free beds and also a pool bar.
There is also an inner pool area, recently renovated and very nice. I entered there by mistake and run away because it was very hot and wet.
Hotel building itself is very strange, probably due to its organic growth. It has rather irregular shape with pretty long corridors for the hotel of that size. It is in the acceptable condition, but obviously old.
Rooms are different in size. Our was decent in size, with good double bed and basic toilet. Sheets were changed every few days, towels every day.
Breakfast buffet is decent, but after a week you get bored with it.
Dinner is a la carte style, you chose one of three/four dishes, for primo and secondo piato and desert.
We did not have any complaints on food we eat, except one, but BIG: in the grape land we did not see in the hotel restaurant a grain of grape, not mention watermelon, melon, apricot, figs. The choice of fruit is based on apples, oranges, kiwi and sometimes peaches. Fresh vegetables / salads are also avoided by the chief, you can eat only tomato for breakfast. That is a shame for the Sicilian hotel.
And my favorite hotel rule: gentlemen are kindly asked to wear trousers during the dinner. I think that this is really annoying when you come in July/August on leisure vacation at 40⁰C. I guess that owner insist on this rule because the hotel facilities are often used for some events at same time the “ordinary” tourists are dinning.
So, Recanati (Giardini Naxos) is a good basis for excursions on Sicilia (every major attraction is on 50km except Palermo). You can also enjoy sun and sea.
Sant Alphio Garden is an OK hotel with few minor remarks.

Room Tip: Avoid ground level rooms, they are not in the garden but on/bellow the pavement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank softwaredude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

When we arrived at the hotel at 5.30pm our room wasn't ready! When we reported this at reception, we were given a very reluctant half-hearted apology by the female receptionist.

Our sea-view room which cost extra had the tiniest of sea views - not worth paying for. The room looked clean at first glance but the shower had clearly not been cleaned properly - there was mould growing around the door seal and hairs on the walls of the shower. The floor was never swept or vacuumed during our week long stay. We had booked a double room but were given a room with two single beds, not very romantic for a couples holiday. On our second night a wedding was held at the poolside. Loud music was played until well after midnight with little regard for hotel guests who were trying to get some sleep.

The food was absolutely appalling. We had paid for half board but after 2 disastrous dinners we ate elsewhere, at our own expense of course. The meat was overcooked and chewy, 'fresh' vegetables from a tin and the mashed potatoes tasted like Smash (reconstituted potatoes). What was absurd was the contrast of the terrible food with the pomp and ceremony of the waiters plating it up ('a la carte'). If this much effort was put into the cooking of the food then the dinners might have been edible! Breakfast was adequate apart from the stale bread rolls and poor substitutes for fruit juices. By the time the waiters got around to asking us if we would like coffee we had already finished eating.

Customer service is non-existent in Sant Alphio Garden Hotel and Spa. The reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, bordering on ignorant. Not very encouraging if one has a complaint. The waiters were dismissive and disinterested in the most part. The owner was dour and his presence in the restaurant created an unsettling atmosphere for staff and hence guests.

The hotel website claims to be in the 'turistic centre' of Giardini Naxos - it isn't! The centre of Giardini Naxos is a 30 minute walk away. The area the hotel is located in looks a bit run down, particularly the laneway down to the beach. However, there are some great restaurants and bars nearby, within a 10 minute walk, with genuinely friendly and helpful staff. Café Sikelia on Via Stracina was our favourite, the food was delicious and the staff were excellent. Sikonie bar at the junction of Via Stracina and Strada Jannuzo Recanati was great fun, a quirky local place. And the cocktails bar by the market area did awesome Pina Coladas!

This is not a four star hotel, it is a two star at best. Don't waste your money here!

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying in this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I did not enjoy my stay at all. The service given by the recpetionist was terrible. They where very arrogant and un poilite. I found ridicouls the fact that it was a 4 star hotel and everything you used had to be paid for example Wifi, Gym & parking..ect.. The fridge in our bedrooms where empty with not even a bottle of water offered. The bedsheets where not changed and all they would do was use the same one every day They did not offer any plastic tooth brushes or tooth pastes and only gave out 2 shampoos and 2 soaps. Also there was mold all over the shower boards and ants walking everywhere even on our DESKS!
Every evening the front gate and front doors where locked and lights where turned off and we had to ring each time for someone to open up.
The breakfast was ok there was a lot of food being offered but the thing i found most ridicouls was that at 9.58am everything was been taken away and the late arrivals did not have time to even have a coffee.
This hotel is deffentily not worth the money we paid and does not deserve 4 stars at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fabz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Nice location, nice service,nice rooms... Everything is nice in this hotel!
There is a large choice for the breakfast (pastries, different kind of bread, teas,...) and one also have the choice for the supper (Menu à la carte).
The room was spacious, with a very large double bed. The bathroom was also big.
There are loads of plants which gives the hotel a nice mood. The pool area is pretty ; the pool could have been a little bigger.
The staff is very nice and really helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We would not rate this hotel well and blame the management. The reasons are as follows:

1: When we booked the hotel, parking was advertised as part of the deal- upon checkout the hotel demanded 5euro per day. I refused to pay on grounds of principal and after 5minutes they stood down and accepted I was not paying that charge. We got a vibe of money for this money for that during our stay here and nearly everyone that we met said the same thing.

2: During our stay stayed the noise from a wedding band outside near the pool was unacceptable. It was advertised as a peaceful hotel but it was far from that when we stayed. The hotel does many weddings from the looks of things.

3: The staff in the reception were not friendly or courteous. Quite frankly, I found their manner rude and dismissive. The waiters in the dining room were very formal and looked like robots, all over the hotel there are signs that men must wear long pants in the dining room area, the pretense of the place is very off putting. After all, if we wanted that kind of a stay we would have gone 5*.

4: Our bathroom in the bedroom we had was extremely basic, again not to 4* standard.

5: The bed we had (we asked for a double bed) was two single push up beds put together- it was very uncomfortable. if one of us moved the beds came apart in the middle! Enough said!

6: Location- it is a 10minute drive from the center of Gardina Naxos. Too far to walk as there is no footpaths in many different stretches of the road to the town on the busy road.

On a positive, we felt breakfast was ok- again we have had better on our 2 week stay in Sicily but it did us fine. The coffee wasn't great, again we drank it but you can get much better.
There pool looks nice and the flowers surrounding it do also. We didn't use it as it was busy most of the time.

We would not stay here again and don't recommend it to couples or groups in their 20's or 30's.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a money making scheme for the hotel. All double rooms seem to have balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After touring Rome and the Amalfi Coast this was the perfect resort for my husband and I to spend a week at the end of June. The floral beauty and the quiet pool area was my favorite spot for swimming, tanning and reading. The three meals a day were delicious and more than you could ever eat. The staff was friendly and most accomodating.Taormina was a short ride away with fabulous shopping and wonderful restaurants. Our overall experience was one that we will never forget and highly recommend to anyone traveling to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

June 2013, overall very pleasant stay. Good service,tidy room. Loved the owner thanks for taking the photo of us. The pool was amazing and refreshing after long days of walking.
Room had a sea view and large balcony. Bar and waiting staff very efficient and the service was excellent. Shame we had to leave for Palermo as I could have just stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
921 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#8 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,669 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: £74 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Giardini Naxos, close to the most fascinating destinations of the island. A few steps from the sea, the hotel is located in the east coast of the Ionian Sea, in a picturesque setting and evocative, from which you can enjoy a unique view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel Giardini Naxos
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel And Spa
Hotel Sant Alphio Garden
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing