We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
160
227
154
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
227
154
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel swim up bar mount etna four nights outdoor pool baked alaska private beach silver service nice hotel short walk to the beach paid extra for a sea view beautiful flowers touring holiday room was clean and comfortable room was large quiet location group tour
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

When we arrived at the hotel at 5.30pm our room wasn't ready! When we reported this at reception, we were given a very reluctant half-hearted apology by the female receptionist.

Our sea-view room which cost extra had the tiniest of sea views - not worth paying for. The room looked clean at first glance but the shower had clearly not been cleaned properly - there was mould growing around the door seal and hairs on the walls of the shower. The floor was never swept or vacuumed during our week long stay. We had booked a double room but were given a room with two single beds, not very romantic for a couples holiday. On our second night a wedding was held at the poolside. Loud music was played until well after midnight with little regard for hotel guests who were trying to get some sleep.

The food was absolutely appalling. We had paid for half board but after 2 disastrous dinners we ate elsewhere, at our own expense of course. The meat was overcooked and chewy, 'fresh' vegetables from a tin and the mashed potatoes tasted like Smash (reconstituted potatoes). What was absurd was the contrast of the terrible food with the pomp and ceremony of the waiters plating it up ('a la carte'). If this much effort was put into the cooking of the food then the dinners might have been edible! Breakfast was adequate apart from the stale bread rolls and poor substitutes for fruit juices. By the time the waiters got around to asking us if we would like coffee we had already finished eating.

Customer service is non-existent in Sant Alphio Garden Hotel and Spa. The reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, bordering on ignorant. Not very encouraging if one has a complaint. The waiters were dismissive and disinterested in the most part. The owner was dour and his presence in the restaurant created an unsettling atmosphere for staff and hence guests.

The hotel website claims to be in the 'turistic centre' of Giardini Naxos - it isn't! The centre of Giardini Naxos is a 30 minute walk away. The area the hotel is located in looks a bit run down, particularly the laneway down to the beach. However, there are some great restaurants and bars nearby, within a 10 minute walk, with genuinely friendly and helpful staff. Café Sikelia on Via Stracina was our favourite, the food was delicious and the staff were excellent. Sikonie bar at the junction of Via Stracina and Strada Jannuzo Recanati was great fun, a quirky local place. And the cocktails bar by the market area did awesome Pina Coladas!

This is not a four star hotel, it is a two star at best. Don't waste your money here!

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying in this hotel!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I did not enjoy my stay at all. The service given by the recpetionist was terrible. They where very arrogant and un poilite. I found ridicouls the fact that it was a 4 star hotel and everything you used had to be paid for example Wifi, Gym & parking..ect.. The fridge in our bedrooms where empty with not even a bottle of water offered. The bedsheets where not changed and all they would do was use the same one every day They did not offer any plastic tooth brushes or tooth pastes and only gave out 2 shampoos and 2 soaps. Also there was mold all over the shower boards and ants walking everywhere even on our DESKS!
Every evening the front gate and front doors where locked and lights where turned off and we had to ring each time for someone to open up.
The breakfast was ok there was a lot of food being offered but the thing i found most ridicouls was that at 9.58am everything was been taken away and the late arrivals did not have time to even have a coffee.
This hotel is deffentily not worth the money we paid and does not deserve 4 stars at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fabz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Nice location, nice service,nice rooms... Everything is nice in this hotel!
There is a large choice for the breakfast (pastries, different kind of bread, teas,...) and one also have the choice for the supper (Menu à la carte).
The room was spacious, with a very large double bed. The bathroom was also big.
There are loads of plants which gives the hotel a nice mood. The pool area is pretty ; the pool could have been a little bigger.
The staff is very nice and really helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We would not rate this hotel well and blame the management. The reasons are as follows:

1: When we booked the hotel, parking was advertised as part of the deal- upon checkout the hotel demanded 5euro per day. I refused to pay on grounds of principal and after 5minutes they stood down and accepted I was not paying that charge. We got a vibe of money for this money for that during our stay here and nearly everyone that we met said the same thing.

2: During our stay stayed the noise from a wedding band outside near the pool was unacceptable. It was advertised as a peaceful hotel but it was far from that when we stayed. The hotel does many weddings from the looks of things.

3: The staff in the reception were not friendly or courteous. Quite frankly, I found their manner rude and dismissive. The waiters in the dining room were very formal and looked like robots, all over the hotel there are signs that men must wear long pants in the dining room area, the pretense of the place is very off putting. After all, if we wanted that kind of a stay we would have gone 5*.

4: Our bathroom in the bedroom we had was extremely basic, again not to 4* standard.

5: The bed we had (we asked for a double bed) was two single push up beds put together- it was very uncomfortable. if one of us moved the beds came apart in the middle! Enough said!

6: Location- it is a 10minute drive from the center of Gardina Naxos. Too far to walk as there is no footpaths in many different stretches of the road to the town on the busy road.

On a positive, we felt breakfast was ok- again we have had better on our 2 week stay in Sicily but it did us fine. The coffee wasn't great, again we drank it but you can get much better.
There pool looks nice and the flowers surrounding it do also. We didn't use it as it was busy most of the time.

We would not stay here again and don't recommend it to couples or groups in their 20's or 30's.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a money making scheme for the hotel. All double rooms seem to have balconies with fabulous view of either Etna, the pool or the mountains. Don't pay extra but clarify prior to booking if you have a balcony. Also clarify parking and Wifi charges prior to booking and if they try to charge you for anything additional challenge them on it- it worked for me.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After touring Rome and the Amalfi Coast this was the perfect resort for my husband and I to spend a week at the end of June. The floral beauty and the quiet pool area was my favorite spot for swimming, tanning and reading. The three meals a day were delicious and more than you could ever eat. The staff was friendly and most accomodating.Taormina was a short ride away with fabulous shopping and wonderful restaurants. Our overall experience was one that we will never forget and highly recommend to anyone traveling to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews