We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Tadley, Hants
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was really worried about this hotel from the TA reviews but I didn't need to be. The hotel is really pretty with roman staues around a small pool that we didn't swim in as our days here were full of trips and the wether was cloudy. Our room was clean and comfortable although my bed was a bit hard and I could feel the mattress springs. Everything in our rooms worked although you had to wait for a while for hot water to come through in the shower. I thought that the food was good and 4 courses was too much for me. We had a single choice starter eg quiche, followed by a choice of soup or pasta, followed by a choice of a fish or meat dish, followed by a set dessert eg icecream. On the last night we had a baked alaska in the shape of a vlocano with fire coming out. It looked good and tatsted good. The wine at meal times was priced at about 20 euros a bottle. I tried and liked the lambrusco. Breakfast was the usual buffet spread and there were lovely chocolate croissants and pain au raisin pastries. You could walk from the hotel towards the beach but then along the road to a few touristy shops. There wasn't much there though. The best place to shop was Taormina - walk right through the main street to the end (Porto Catania) then turn right and go up the hill slightly to a supermarket where we got reasonably priced drinks and food to take home (Grappa was only 5 euros a bottle). We also had good food in a restaurant called Moldovia where we had some lovely and very tasty pizzas.
We had a fantastic tour guide, Rosario, on our Riviera Travel tour and he made the holiday fantastico!

Room Tip: All rooms should be OK as the hotel has 2 very fast lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    169
    138
    52
    29
See reviews for
101
246
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this quite large hotel as part of a tour group. The hotel has sea or mountain views. It is within an acceptable distance to Taormina and Aetna. There is also an archaeological site nearby (still being excavated).
Our room was very small and the furnishings basic. It is mainly for this reason a 4* seems unjustified. We would have liked to use the internet but, with a charge of £3 per hour, decided against it.
We had a breakfast and dinner package. Breakfast was adequate. Unfortunately, coffee could be likened to dishwater. Luckily, dinner, although not brilliant, made up for the standard of the breakfast. It was very tasty and pleasingly arranged on the plate.
Staff could do with more training in making guests feel welcome and maybe, just maybe, even appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After arriving at the hotel we had to walk a very large distance to our room. After seeing the room and the ash tray on the table (!),we decided we couldn't stay in a room that reeked of tobacco for the next 11days After complaining that other people on the tour had much better rooms, we were given the room allocated to our coach driver. At least this room was closer to the facilities. (Beware room 109. It is extremely small, never sees the sun and has very little view or balcony). It was noisy -being situated next to the kitchens and the delivery area. The next day we were shown 3 more rooms 2 of which were in the same remote area as the first room. One was damp with the paint work crumbling and they were both too far away. We were told that we would have to pay extra for another small room on another floor. After being upset for 5 days we decided to stay put in the coach drivers room. At first we were told we would have to pay extra to stay in that room. We tried our tour company in the UK and the local agent to get a better room -but to no avail. We were told that we should be grateful for the room we had because the hotel wouldn't charge us anymore.- I should think not! The hotel itself was in need of repair the walls outside were cracked and the concrete was coming away in more places than you could count. The picture on line must have been taken when the place was new. It's not like that now. The majority of the staff on reception are in urgent need of training in how to treat guests properly and make people feel welcome. After all we pay their wages.
Please note that the indoor pool, the beach and the gymnasium cost extra!
However there were some very good waiters working in the dining room who helped to make our stay more bearable. If only the hotel owner had kept up with the maintenance... I'm sure that it was a lovely hotel once ( as in the online photo) . As you can tell we will not be back. It should be 1 star not 4.

Room Tip: you need to pay more for a better sized room with a reasonably sized balcony with a view. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 603Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giardini Naxos hotels

Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just a nice hotel, clean, food average, not enough Italian food on menu though. Paid extra for room with a view, wasn't worth it, but was moved after complaining. The shower in the first room was so small my large husband couldn't even shut the door...Good pool area. Dining room staff so overworked and every move watched, so serious not relaxed or friendly, until the last night??? Felt sorry for them. Breakfast coffee horrible, tip make your own pot of tea each morning with FOUR breakfast tea teabags and you may get a good cuppa.....

Room Tip: 404 shower to small, tiny side balcony, 416 lovely room with view of sea and Etna..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Above 3 star average, but lacking in parts. Very good pool area and gardens. A short walk to the beach where the hotel has its own section and a little longer walk into Giardini Naxos where the is a big selection of restaurants. The hotel looks bright and clean both inside and outside. We paid extra for a view of both the sea and Mt Etna- which we thought was worth it. This is a fairly big hotel with a very big, bright dining room. We had to choose from the limited menu the evening before and with different tour groups the hotel tries to provide different menus and at different times. This all leads to chaos and dinner always took two hours or more. The ordering of drinks at the table was a shambles--even the staff could not read the maître d's and a quarter of drinks were sent back as wrong. No fresh veg or fruit at any time. Breakfast also weak. Some of our party decided to eat out.

Room Tip: Try for an Etna view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stampman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Excellent pool with gardens and within walking distance of village and beach. But the food was very mediocre and not typically Sicilian. Evening meals were a chore, not a pleasure and we ended up going out to eat. Morning coffee tasted like watered down Nescafe and fruit juice had been diluted with water. Local, much cheaper, bars, pizzeria and restaurants offered better quality food and service.
Our room had a cracked shower tray and leaking water made the floor slippery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

There is no 'good' category in TA so it has to be rated 'average'. However, it is basically a very nice hotel but there are some things which let it down.

The pool area and garden are lovely. The terrace around the hotel is nice, and the inside is well looked after. The rooms have nice décor and the shower rooms are roomy. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a view - of mountains, the pool and garden and, of course, Etna.

There are some irritations - such as charging an euro for hire of pool towels; charging 10 euros for use of the sun loungers and umbrellas on the hotel beach. Fair enough if not a guest of the hotel, but I expect to have the use of beach facilities without charge if staying with them. Wi fi was expensive and the time allowance was inflexible. It was also quite difficult to access and could only be used in the reception area and around the pool. The router system needs to be upgraded. I know times are hard at present, but these petty charges serve only to irritate. They should be built in to the main price.

There is a useful porter service so you do not have the lifts cluttered up with luggage.

The dining room is extremely well presented with adequate staff. It was a pity about the standard of some of the main dishes though. The anti pasta course along with the pasta dish was very good. The main course sometimes left much to be desired. Why do these hotels catering for tours try to provide food which they think might appeal to the British? We would all have preferred simple, straightforward Sicilian dishes instead of badly cooked meat and veg.

Breakfast was nice enough - apart from the ubiquitous awful hotel coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.1 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#27 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Giardini Naxos, close to the most fascinating destinations of the island. A few steps from the sea, the hotel is located in the east coast of the Ionian Sea, in a picturesque setting and evocative, from which you can enjoy a unique view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel And Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hotel Sant Alphio Garden
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing