We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Well located, with private beach approximately 50 yds from hotel. About 15 minutes walk to Giardini Naxos beach resort, with it’s multitude of restaurants to suit every budget. Giardini Naxos had a good sandy beach, whilst the hotel beach was dark, volcanic, sand. Perfectly OK, but didn’t look quite so inviting. Hotel amenities as expected from a 4* establishment. Our room was clean, spacious and quiet, and we had the most stunning view of Mount Etna from our balcony. The menus had a good variety of dishes to choose from and the dining staff most attentive. The bus to Taormina stops just a few yards from the hotel, and this enchanting town is well worth a visit. It is situated on a cliff, has a wide variety of restaurants, cobbled streets, numerous churches and beautiful gardens with stunning views across the bays, plus a funicular down to the beach

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    172
    140
    52
    29
See reviews for
102
255
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,AZ
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wow, what a wide range of opinions on this hotel! My two cents worth is that staying here for three nights as part of a tour group worked just fine. Little bits of criticism from others are all true. So are the good things. Had we been staying here independently we would not have been nearly as happy.

To start with, our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable. We had a very small, comfortable balcony overlooking Mt. Etna that was large enough to accommodate two people. The bathroom was OK except for the very small shower where it was a chore not to hit the water controls if you moved. We had a room that did not required an elevator ride, but the elevators seemed slow. The pool area was large, comfortable and had a nice refreshment bar and plenty of seating. There was plenty of shade if you need it. So far not too bad, right?

The biggest downside it that the hotel is over run with tour bus groups. The place where you really run in to this in the dining room which was divided in to reserved table areas for at least three large tour groups each morning for breakfast and for dinner. At breakfast you walk by scores of empty tables until you reach your "spot". If you are on a tour this works out. If you are an independent traveler, being with all these bus tour people is be very inconvenient, possibly intolerable. Another annoyance is the ridiculous WiFi policy, with no free service anyplace in the hotel. You must buy an hour of service or service until midnight. Nothing is available in the rooms for any price. At other locations we were given free in room service.

The location of the hotel is also both good and bad. A 10 minute walk puts you on a quiet street with several good restaurants and a convenience store. A 12 minute walk takes you to a rather marginal beach where the hotel will charge you a substantial fee for beach chairs and an umbrella.

Bottom line, if your tour group is sending you to this property it will be fine. We had a tour farewell dinner and it was some of the best food we had in Italy with wait service to match. The breakfasts were ample but mediocre. I would not choose this hotel for independent travel. Too busy and the tour groups will swallow you up. Very good with the group, average or less if you are by yourself.

Room Tip: Caters to tour groups. Ask for a high room facing Mt. Etna if you are given a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As others have reported, this place gives the paying customer a very mixed experience. We were allocated a reasonable room next to the lift. We could hear the lift from the bathroom, but not from our room.The room was a good size with a decent bathroom and a small balcony. (Although the architect should be shot as the single light bulb in the bathroom only lit the hand basin, and not the shower).
The walls are paper thin. One night the man next door snored all night and kept me awake for half the night.
The hotel specialised in "Do Not" signs. Do Not wear shorts in the dining room, Do Not take food from the dining room, Do Not enter the hotel without a shirt on, Do Not enjoy yourself. (OK, I made the last one up).
The Dining room was like a Hangar for a super-jumbo. It was huge. This place is given over to rather a lot of Coach parties. At either 7.30 or 8.00 hundreds of coach trippers descend in to the dining room.
The food was Good. Whilst more Sicilian options would be good, each meal that we had was good. Getting the food was a different matter as the waiters were massively over worked. They tried really hard, but there were not enough of them. The wine list was extensive, but over priced for wines that were one third as much in the local supermarket.
The worst aspect was the arrangement for lifts. The hotel has two blocks. One block has two lifts. The other block has only one lift, and that lift only takes 5 people. Tough luck if you are on the top floor and in a queue of 50 people after a couple of coaches have arrived. You wait for ages for the one lift. A very stupid and mean bit of hotel design!!

As to the very mean habit of charging extra for everything, such as towels, wi-fi and so on, that policy was very annoying. Another sign of a cheap hotel??

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, or a view of Taormina. The higher floors give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had seen some of the previous comments about this hotel and were a little concerned. However, we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our four day stay here.

We were part of a Riviera Travel tour. We found the welcome very warming, reception was efficient and helpful and the staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and curteous.

We had paid extra for a sea view room and although you could just see the sea this was a little disappointing. However, we had a large balcony with a view of Etna as well. The room was very good, large and bright and everything worked. The beds were a little hard. There was a large bathroom and an excellent shower. The room was some way from reception and the dining room but we were glad of the walk after the excellent breakfasts and dinners we had.

We had requested vegetarian meals but this message doesn't seem to have got down to the hotel. However, the hotel jumped into action and the owner produced menus for us for the next three dinners. The food was excellent and of good quality. The only problem was that there was too much of it. A great selection of good local wines at about 18 euro each. Bottled water (large) was 2.5 euro each.

There is a large outside pool and another inside with a spa area. We may have been lucky but we could find little fault with this hotel and we would certainly come back if in Sicily again.

There is only a short walk to the stoney beach where the hotel provides loungers and umbrellas at a charge and a short walk into the town area where there are many restaurants. There is a small supermarket only 200 yards away where you can get most basics.

We were impressed with this hotel and a big improvement on the hotel we stayed in at the beginning of the tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, Hants
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was really worried about this hotel from the TA reviews but I didn't need to be. The hotel is really pretty with roman staues around a small pool that we didn't swim in as our days here were full of trips and the wether was cloudy. Our room was clean and comfortable although my bed was a bit hard and I could feel the mattress springs. Everything in our rooms worked although you had to wait for a while for hot water to come through in the shower. I thought that the food was good and 4 courses was too much for me. We had a single choice starter eg quiche, followed by a choice of soup or pasta, followed by a choice of a fish or meat dish, followed by a set dessert eg icecream. On the last night we had a baked alaska in the shape of a vlocano with fire coming out. It looked good and tatsted good. The wine at meal times was priced at about 20 euros a bottle. I tried and liked the lambrusco. Breakfast was the usual buffet spread and there were lovely chocolate croissants and pain au raisin pastries. You could walk from the hotel towards the beach but then along the road to a few touristy shops. There wasn't much there though. The best place to shop was Taormina - walk right through the main street to the end (Porto Catania) then turn right and go up the hill slightly to a supermarket where we got reasonably priced drinks and food to take home (Grappa was only 5 euros a bottle). We also had good food in a restaurant called Moldovia where we had some lovely and very tasty pizzas.
We had a fantastic tour guide, Rosario, on our Riviera Travel tour and he made the holiday fantastico!

Room Tip: All rooms should be OK as the hotel has 2 very fast lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyBTadley_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this quite large hotel as part of a tour group. The hotel has sea or mountain views. It is within an acceptable distance to Taormina and Aetna. There is also an archaeological site nearby (still being excavated).
Our room was very small and the furnishings basic. It is mainly for this reason a 4* seems unjustified. We would have liked to use the internet but, with a charge of £3 per hour, decided against it.
We had a breakfast and dinner package. Breakfast was adequate. Unfortunately, coffee could be likened to dishwater. Luckily, dinner, although not brilliant, made up for the standard of the breakfast. It was very tasty and pleasingly arranged on the plate.
Staff could do with more training in making guests feel welcome and maybe, just maybe, even appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After arriving at the hotel we had to walk a very large distance to our room. After seeing the room and the ash tray on the table (!),we decided we couldn't stay in a room that reeked of tobacco for the next 11days After complaining that other people on the tour had much better rooms, we were given the room allocated to our coach driver. At least this room was closer to the facilities. (Beware room 109. It is extremely small, never sees the sun and has very little view or balcony). It was noisy -being situated next to the kitchens and the delivery area. The next day we were shown 3 more rooms 2 of which were in the same remote area as the first room. One was damp with the paint work crumbling and they were both too far away. We were told that we would have to pay extra for another small room on another floor. After being upset for 5 days we decided to stay put in the coach drivers room. At first we were told we would have to pay extra to stay in that room. We tried our tour company in the UK and the local agent to get a better room -but to no avail. We were told that we should be grateful for the room we had because the hotel wouldn't charge us anymore.- I should think not! The hotel itself was in need of repair the walls outside were cracked and the concrete was coming away in more places than you could count. The picture on line must have been taken when the place was new. It's not like that now. The majority of the staff on reception are in urgent need of training in how to treat guests properly and make people feel welcome. After all we pay their wages.
Please note that the indoor pool, the beach and the gymnasium cost extra!
However there were some very good waiters working in the dining room who helped to make our stay more bearable. If only the hotel owner had kept up with the maintenance... I'm sure that it was a lovely hotel once ( as in the online photo) . As you can tell we will not be back. It should be 1 star not 4.

Room Tip: you need to pay more for a better sized room with a reasonably sized balcony with a view. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 603Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giardini Naxos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,561 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#26 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Giardini Naxos, close to the most fascinating destinations of the island. A few steps from the sea, the hotel is located in the east coast of the Ionian Sea, in a picturesque setting and evocative, from which you can enjoy a unique view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel And Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hotel Sant Alphio Garden
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing