We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, excellent value, good food.”
Review of Gambrinus

Gambrinus
Ranked #65 of 135 Restaurants in Giardini Naxos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very friendly, excellent value, good food.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In a week-long stay in Giardini Naxos, we ate at Gambrinus 4 times (and not just because it was right over the road from our hotel!). While we had exhausted the range of vegetarian-friendly pizza on the menu by then, the food was so good we didn't bother trying anywhere else - and besides, even with my very limited Italian, we were able to order custom variants on the menu offerings without any problem.
Service was consistently friendly and efficient whilst low-key, our food arrived quickly and shamed anything I've ever eaten in Britain that claimed to be a pizza whilst being significantly cheaper than the well-known pizza restaurant and delivery chains here.
Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    21
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballincollig, Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice friednly spot for a meal”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went here a couple of times for a beer and a pizza. Wood fired oven, good selection of fish (that I can eat unfortunately) and a friendly knowledgeable service from the owner and his staff. Prices are very reasonable and with you can eat outside in 25C+ in mid September. Got talking to the owner and his wife and learnt a bit about some Sicilian superstitions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jboland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was impressed with Gambrinus. They have a good range of dishes on their menu, including a chicken dish (Sicily seem to dislike chicken dishes, so I was pleased to have found one!). We also had take away pizza from Gambrinus on our last day as a quick lunch and we weren't disappointed. A Margherita was about 4 Euros and totally delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for dinner”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Good food, good value, excellent menu in English. Great place for a relaxing outside dinner. Wish I found it earlier in trip and would have returned

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brokeredj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Resturant in Giardini Naxos”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is the best Restaurant in Giardini Naxos. The food in the Gambrinus is exceptionally good and very good value. The owners are so welcoming that we ended up Calling the lady owner MAMMA!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gambrinus also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Been to Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing