We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-helpful receptionist, great hotel”
Review of Hotel Palladio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palladio
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super-helpful receptionist, great hotel”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Turned up at this hotel on spec and it was an excellent find. The receptionist was really helpful with parking and restaurant recommendations, and getting me to find the front door as the sign had confused me! Fantastic sea views from our suite, the sea was really whipping up a storm so it was noisy but amazing. Walking distance to several decent restaurants and would be great for the sea in the summer. Highly recommended and hope this praise gets back to the receptionist on duty evening March 6th. She was great. Good value price too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    187
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
256
365
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirano, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have just returned from a short break in this hotel and want to thank the owners for an excellent stay. We received a very warm welcome and left almost like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff went out of their way to assist us in any way possible. We were upgraded to a family suite and had two simple but lovely rooms both with balconies and one with kettle and tea facilities provided. The hotel is family-run and the furnishings are in traditional style.
For breakfast there were both sweet and savoury options, all made in the hotel and the cakes and pastries were very tasty indeed. There are restaurants and local shops nearby and you can get a bus just across the road from the hotel. For summer visitors the beach is right in front of the hotel and you can enjoy a pleasant stroll along the promenade.
On departure we were given a jar of the local jam to take home with us and we certainly won't forget the flavour of the Sicilian hospitality we experienced in this hotel. We would be pleased to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarajane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel is absolutely perfect! We spent our first night in Sicily there! What a good surprise! Big white room, big bed, very nice and large bathroom... everything was wonderful! The breakfast is very good (good marmelades, littls cakes, fruits...) in the front of the sea with the sunlight... a real pleasure!
The woman at the reception gave us very good advices about the city and around!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 25.
Good points: location in front of beach, central, good service with very nice staff, providing useful advices on places to visit and restaurants to go, free wifi, sea view rooms have a nice terrace where you can chill out enjoying the view, comfortable bed.
Bad points: basic rooms in need of renovation, horrible bathroom, namely shower, size, facilities done in the 80s and not replaced since. In front of the hotel there is a gas station, can be busy and smelly at times.

Overal overpriced for what is on offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JML01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This was our second stay in the Palladio; we very rarely go back to a place but we so enjoyed the first stay that we made an exception.

The front of the hotel is on the main street and the back looks on the sea front road; these two form a one way system, so there is a certain amount of traffic. You need to be aware of this, and also the nearby church clock, which chimes half-hourly between 7am and 10pm, if you were expecting silence.

We felt that the atmosphere in the hotel was less like a commercial hotel and more like a big house where we had been invited as guests. The owner, Caterina, and her staff (mostly female and mostly English-speaking) were friendly and helpful. They even arranged for a staff member to drive us to the village of Savoca when we could not find a suitable excursion there.

The rooms are each decorated in a different colour - walls, paintwork, furniture all conforming to the colour scheme. This may sound strange but it works surprisingly well. Bathrooms are beautifully tiled. Bedrooms are comfortable and include tea-making facilities, rarely for a Continental hotel. The landings are adorned with large paintings of religious and medieval scenes by the owner's mother, in a style vaguely reminiscent of Marc Chagall.

Mounting to the top of the hotel (and there is a lift if you can't manage three flights of stairs), you find the rooftop terrace which doubles as the restaurant. Breakfast features killer scambled eggs and delicious fig jam among other delights. If you are on half board, which is well worth doing, you will find fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and hand-made pasta used to great effect. I particularly enjoyed the vegetable-based pasta sauces. If you're not dining you can order antipasti and watch the sunset over the town (to your right) and the sea (straight ahead).

Above all, in this hotel we felt like guests not tourists and that we were helping the local economy rather than some faceless corporation.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - all good
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suferick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

On our 6 week trip to Europe, this was hands down the best place and our all-time favorite. Incredibly helpful, thoughtful, lovely staff-- every single one of them. When we arrived we were welcomed with a glass of wine on the beautiful terrace and offered a free room upgrade looking out over the water. Simply fabulous buffet breakfast with the best coffee EVER and delicious organic jams. Even with this great spread, they asked if they could make us an omelette and was there anything else we wanted.
When we needed to wash some clothes and the laundromat was closed they did it for us and refused payment! They were always happy to print out a bus schedule or tell us how to get somewhere. When we left they gave us a jam as a parting gift!
The hotel itself has a great location and is gorgeous--bright tile work inside, bright blue paint outside, each room a different color scheme, sundeck & shower on the very top floor. Thank you to everyone at Hotel Palladio--you're the best and we loved our time there!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAINZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 days at the Palladio. We had half-board and enjoyed the huge selection of local treats for breakfast and delicious evening meals. One night we were treated to a "tasting menu". I cannot recall how many courses that meal had. The staff were all so very friendly and attentive. The concept of the hotel is to respect local Sicilian tradition, i.e. decorations are from the area, the ingredients for the typical food for the area are fresh and purchased locally, etc. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The kitchen is on the third floor where we had our room. There was a bit of clatter in the morning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giardini Naxos
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#6 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palladio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palladio

Property: Hotel Palladio
Address: Via Umberto 470, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#1 Green Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#1 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palladio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palladio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palladio Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing