We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”
Review of Hotel Palladio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palladio
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A little gem - this is a 3-star hotel with 5-star staff and 5-star catering. We booked 3 nights in May on the recommendation of Tripadvisor reviews and we were thrilled. On arrival a member of staff brought us to our room, showed us around and then took us upstairs to the terrace on 4th floor where we were offered a welcome drink and a look at the dinner menu if we wished to eat there. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we should’nt single anyone out but Clara and Fiorella were the first we met and deserve a big thank you. Our room was large with a small balcony overlooking the sea – close enough to hear the waves rolling on the beach. There was a TV but we never turned it on so I can’t say what English channels there were; we had free wifi and there were tea making facilities in the room. The bathroom was clean; shower was small but we had lots of toiletries and large clean towels. There was no fridge or safety deposit box but a staff member offered to keep my insulin in a fridge when she noticed I am diabetic. The lift is tiny and holds a maximum of 2 but the stairs are wide and good exercise! All meals are served on the 4th floor terrace (or in 3rd floor dining room if it is too windy). Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice in big glasses; the usual Sicilian savouries and cold meats; eggs freshly cooked to order; breads, croissants and cakes with a selection of homemade fruit marmalades and fresh coffee and tea to order. Menus for lunch and dinner were left on the tables and orders taken. We ate there for the 3 nights and the food was varied and terrific. There is also a roof terrace for sunbathing, reading etc. The bus stop for Taormina is across the road from the hotel and the bus from Catania Airport also stops there. The Taormina/Giardini train station is 1km away and on the bus route to Taormina. On departure we were offered a pot of homemade marmalade but unfortunately had to refuse because we were travelling with hand-luggage only and could’nt take it through security.
Highly recommended and we will be back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank F&MBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    187
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
256
365
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in the Palladio in mid May and had a wonderful time there for the second year in succession. This is a family owned and run hotel on the seafront at Giardini Naxos with a bus stop for the bus from Catania Airport outside the door. This stop also serves the local service to Taormina, about 15 minutes away, as well as the excursion buses. Everything about this hotel must be described in superlatives, fro the fantastic panoramic views of the Bay of Naxos, to the welcome, cleanliness, food, the most cheerful and helpful staff ever, and the ethical philosophy of the owners to support organic foods, local co-operatives, fair trade, and the freshest of locally caught fish. There is no other hotel anywhere in Taormina/Giardini Naxos comparable as far as we know. Anyone looking for a hotel in this part of Sicily whatever you do, do not miss the Palladio. We can't wait for May 2014 to return.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the seafront fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anbratgorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just come back from a holiday to see friends and family in Sicily and on the last part of our trip we spent one night at the Hotel Palladio. The staff was extremely attentive and efficient and helped with all our requests.
We did arrive on Monday morning 27 May and we were shown around and taken to the beautiful terrace on the fourth floor and offered a coffe; we were then taken to our room, on the second floor with seaview, very nice and spacious considering that we did ask for an additional bed for our daughter. In the evening we had dinner on the terrace. The food is truly excellent and with a wide choice of local dishes;. The following morning we had to leave early to get to Catania airport and we asked to have breakfast in the room which arrived right on the time we requested with all the cakes freshly baked. We really didn't want to leave!!!! The hotel has his own car parking 200 mt away which I reccomend to book for peace of mind as the roads around the hotels can get quite busy. I really recommend the Hotel Palladio and we will definitely go back and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: It is well worth booking a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our first time visiting Sicily, and this was a gorgeous hotel!!! The rooms were beautiful and the view was out of this world! The breafast in the morning was amazing too!!! Service was great! The only complaint I have about this place is the cleaning. Our rooms were clean and they cleaned it everyday, but our washrooms were cleaned out that well and we had to as to have it done again. Also the wireless reception was not good at all, so I had a hard time being in touch with my family.

Our next visit to Italy, I would definitely stay here! It's a 2 minute wal to the beach! It's literally outside your window! The boardwal is across the street with some shopping and restaurants and bars and such. It's also not a far drive from Taormina which is perfect!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hahamysock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here from the 15th to the 20th April on a half-board basis in a sea view room. We were on the 3rd floor, the room was very comfortable especially with the sea view and balcony. We had a hire car and never had any trouble parking in either the hotel spaces or close by. We spent some time most days on the roof terrace and enjoyed drinks and delicious appetizers. The food is exceptionally good, we would strongly recommend the half-board option, there was a good choice every day and the food was delicious. The staff are very charming and helpful and keen to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel is very convenient for Taormina and a good base to visit the Etna region. We have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Hotel Palladio.

Room Tip: Stay in a sea view room with the half-board option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 5th to 12 May 2013 and could not praise it highly enough. Upon arrival we were shown straight to our city view room, which was spacious, light, airy and full of character. The balcony overlooked the street, which was ideal to watch everyday life going on.

The staff invited us for a complimentary drink in the bar on the roof terrace which was very welcome after 11 hours of travelling. The terrace has fantastic views across the bay of Giardini Naxos and up to Taormina. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. They made us feel really welcome and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We stayed on a B&B basis and if you are hungry after breakfast, it’s your own fault. Fantastic selection everyday to choose from, meats, rolls, pastries, both savoury and sweet, cereals, cakes, jams, fruit and the scrambled eggs were fabulous. Fresh coffees, including cappuccino and espresso are served every morning. It really set us up for our days out exploring. The only small thing is that the bar does not have a cash facility and drinks are charged to your room. This wasn't really an issue for us but I could easily see how a large bill could possibly ‘surprise’ you at the end of your stay, if you socialise frequently in the hotel. However, the prices are very keen in comparison to the rest of the resort.
The bus stops for Catania, Taormina and Messina are very near to the hotel and with the public and private beaches just across the road it was perfect for our needs.

To sum up, for anyone who wants a real Sicilian experience book this hotel, we would definitely recommend it. We didn't want to leave and certainly want to return.

Room Tip: City View rooms are cheaper and we didn't feel that we were missing out not overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyMcBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were to Palladio hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is easily accessable- we had the hotel parking place for free. The staff (specially Roberta) helped us a lot in advising the tours around. The sea view is wonderful - everybody can enjoy it from the restaurant or from the dining room.The atmosphere is very relaxed and warm. Highly recoimmended to order dinner menue in the morning - cooking quality is superb.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive but I guess they worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giardini Naxos
1.7 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#6 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palladio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palladio

Property: Hotel Palladio
Address: Via Umberto 470, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#1 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palladio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palladio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palladio Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing