We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food & Old, shabby accomodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Club Naxos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Club Naxos
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrible food & Old, shabby accomodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We selected half board accomodation, the food was terrible. There was no way to make tea/coffee unless we paid extra €35 to turn on gas supply, and pay extra €5 per day cleaning bill, on top of €124 per night. Extra €5 per day, per person charge for an obligatory 'club card', then €12 ph to use tennis court + €10 to rent rackets. So called 'private' beach charged €12 per day for achient & shabby loungers & parasol. Pool had constant defening club music, with no sun loungers, only 40yr old wooden deck chairs. Small can of beer €3 poolside bar. This place is crazy & have no idea what its customers want.... We regretted our stay...

Room Tip: As far away from noisey pool as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lialaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    18
    18
    20
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We found this place when planning a trip around sicily. We wanted a quite self catering place for the whole family with a nice surrounding and not to expensive.
These are very hard to find and the holliday club was the closest we could get.
The place looks like it was really something in the 70's of the last century, but the green and the view on the Etna and the beach nearby compensate a lot.
Like whole Sicliy there is no real play ground for small children except from the swimming pool and small and old place. The rooms have very basic furniture. We had the two floors appartment which give a lot of space for the family.
In other countries like France and Germany you would have received much more value for your money. But Taormina ,the beaches, the Etna and Catania are worth the visit.
Holliday Club Naxos has a very narrow main entrance on the main street, so I missed it the firste time passing buy. For an extra 10 euro a day you can park your car in the side entrance of the park. Giardini Naxos can be reached with a 15 minute walk passing the ancient remains of Naxos.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichielW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

First impressions are good in Holiday Club Naxos, the setting is really lovely and the place seems perfect, until you see inside the accommodation. We stayed in two different apartments within the complex, the first was awful, decorated in 1970's style and quite obviously hadnt ever been decorated since then. No kettle, not very clean, light hanging out of the ceiling, 2 inch gap under the front door - very basic although it did have a good air conditioning system. In my opinion this was not a 3* - far from it. The second week we got moved to a different apartment, this was much better and had obviously been updated in recent years and was a lot cleaner. Still no kettle! There's not a lot going on in Giardini Naxos so we ended up getting the bus up to Taormina (much nicer) almost every night. We also walked to Naxos Centre (about 10 minutes) and San Giovanni (about 20 mins) which have a little more going on than Giardini Naxos. Holiday Club is a minute from the beach but very difficult with pram/buggy. If you manage to get a good apartment it is perfect for a family holiday, lots of activities for kids and adults if thats what you are in to.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — standard of accommodation
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Savana2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giardini Naxos hotels

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2007

Beautiful setup: Many different bushes with nice flowers, large pool, large area with the houses.
The large pool has only 2 ladders, no area to slowly enter the water like some stairs. We saw a handicapped women almost drawn trying to get out. Children have to be lifted out, even in the children area.
The animation is done by teenage students, quite unprofessional. Neither children nor adults were joining.
The beach (400m pass 2 streets) is stones only, no sand and a chair costs you another 10Euro per day.
The air conditioning, fridge and toilet flusher did not work. We had called 2 times with no reaction, passing by the reception (3times in total) did help and the fridge and airco were repaired.
At the end of the stay we were presented with 9Euro per day for the baby crib, we could have bought a new one for the same price of our stay.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Rip off even if you already paid beforehand, unprofessional animation, quality of house
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tisiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Club Naxos self -catering apartments in Giardini Naxos in May 2007.

The holiday village is set in beautiful grounds with a great view of Mt.Etna and covers a wide area.There is 24 hour reception. When we arrived, we were told to leave our luggage in reception and it would be delivered to our apartment. We decided to bring our luggage. Boy were we sorry! Our apartment turned out to be at the end of the complex (a good 5 minutes walk) not nice wheeling heavy cases. we were soon overtaken by staff on a golf buggy, delivering other peoples luggage.

Our apartment was a spacious ground floor studio apartment. It had a good size kitchen/dining area, with large window overlooking the beautiful garden. There were 3 single beds. 2 single beds were in a partitioned off area and another single bed was in the living area. There was a T.V and built in air conditioning, though we didn't have any need to use it whilst there. Decent size shower room with hairdryer. SPOTLESSLY CLEAN!!!
Apartment was spotlessly clean, though a little dated. It would benefit from an upgrade. We found the beds to be a little on the uncomfortable side.

Overall apartment was a good base for exploring the area. It would be very suitable for families with children and teenagers. There was a lovely swimming pool, restaurant and shop (open until 8 p.m) on the complex. There are also tennis courts, a volleyball court, small football ground and an open air theatre in the grounds. If you are brave enough to rent a car, there is good private car parking available.

Shingle beach 2 minutes walk from reception.
Town of Giardini Naxos and sandy beaches 15/20 minute pleasant walk.
Bus stop very close by going to Taormina, Catania and day trips to Mount Etna etc.

We found this to be a good base, very suitable for families and couples who just want a relaxing break at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Beds and chairs. Uncomfortable!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy_flag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2006

We have stayed in Russott hotel from 15 to 22 seprt. Hotel first of all has good location, generally it is not in giardini, the village is called Recanati, although note this when you are coming back from Taormina by bus to avoid founding yourself half way to Catania. The private beach and first line, both are very unusual for sicily hotels. However beach is tiny even for not 100% full hotel, even suported with two sunbed areas above the beach. Facilities are pretty worn out, (the moment of our stay some floors were closed for refurbishment). But huge suit room with 3 sea view balconies and small but exciting garden fixed this.
Restaurant serving classic buffet for breakfast and a la carte for dinner. Food is good quality italian cuisine, a little bit lacking charm, but ok. Don't take lunches in a hotel! Its 10-15 minutes walk to Giardini promenade with scores of restaurants (seafood dinner for two with wine 30-40 euro). F.e. "Da pippo" somwhere in the middle of promenade. If you want to fit the tight budget, you can eat pizza which is 5 to 7.5 euro maximum and pretty enough for two (yummy). Water and stuff better to buy in a Euromarket aross the street to hotel, the owner and the cashier at the same time will serve you with a short lesson of italian :). Hotel stuff is very helpfull and friendly. I'll recommend to visit Russott hotel after they finish the reconstruction.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergio_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2005

Hotel is adequate for 3/4 night stay when exploring eastern Sicily. Rooms are of good size but furnishings are rather tired, but clean. Food is without imagination but quite edible and service in restaurant satisfactory. Good size pool with area kept clean and tidy. and small beach. Hotel is convenient for buses and taxis always available. Alternative dining choice nearby but not high standard, pizza and pasta mainly but inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltheworld45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Linda
Villa Linda
#21 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
#12 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Daphne
Villa Daphne
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sporting Baia
Hotel Sporting Baia
#34 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Azzurra
Hotel Costa Azzurra
#9 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Club Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Naxos

Property: Holiday Club Naxos
Address: Viale Jannuzzo s/n, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Club Naxos 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Club Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Club Naxos Hotel Giardini Naxos
Holiday Hotel Naxos
Holiday Hotel Giardini Naxos
Holiday Club Naxos Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing