We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Siciliy”
Review of Villa Daphne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Daphne
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Daphne the first week of October. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is small,and no things for children to do so it was also very quiet. It's 5 minutes from the bus stop, so it is easy to go sightseeing, and their recommendations for dinners were also perfect.The only reason I won't give this an ""excellent'' is because they have a very limited lunch menu and the pool area is very small and very hot! There is no breeze to cool you off. Having said that, I do recommend this hotel for people who like the quiet and don't plan to spend lots of time at the pool. We had a very late pickup for the airport, and while we couldn't have a late room checkout, the owner allowed us to use his office shower before we left. The rooms are large and cool, and extremely clean. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room. They are on the back side and not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have just returned with my wife from a week's stay at this fantastic little hotel (12 Sept 2012). The accommodation was first class and our room had been completely redecorated and refurbished. The hotel was cleaned throughout on a daily basis. The air conditioning has obviously been upgraded as the room had a programmable digital control. The 3 star rating is difficult to understand as it was in our view superior to many 4 and 5 star hotels that we have stayed in around Europe and the USA! A good buffet was available for breakfast and dinner was ordered from a varied menu and food was expertly prepared and beautifully presented each evening on the candlelit terrace. The pool and surrounding area was clean and extremely pleasant. Hotel staff were very professional and friendly. The bus stop located 50m along from the hotel provided easy access to a number of locations at a reasonable cost (including Catania airport 7.50 euros each way). As someone that is not easily pleased, I cannot praise this hotel enough - you will not be disappointed with your visit! Peter Mountford.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week from 12/8/12. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, but what makes it stand out are the staff. They are the most helpfull and friendly people i have ever met in any hotel. We stayed 1/2 board and the meals were fine (basic but ample). Bring your mosquito repellent as the evening meals are served outside. The rooms are small but comfy, and the airconditioning was fine although not adjustable in the room. The bus stop is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel. From there i advise you to travel to taormina, the buses leave every 15 minutes and cost just 2euro 60cents return per person. From taormina you can get another bus to casa mora, which have lovely views of mount etna. We found a bar down from the hotel at the T junction where the prices were very reasonable (3.50 for a Jameson whiskey and 3euro a bottle of Heineken. You will not be disappointed with this location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fastnet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a week and I think it is perfectly located for a tour of eastern Sicily. The rooms are clean, brand new and with details of remarkable design (with two little flaws, WiFi missing in the room and not being able to regulate your own ac temperature). Breakfasts are generous with homemade cakes and dinners are exquisite. The overlooking Etna is amazing, and the pool with surrounding garden is a paradise. The price is high for a hotel of this category but the staff is very attentive and helpful. Do not expect a great number of Italians guests and although more noisy choose the rooms facing the street: there is an incredible view of Etna waiting every morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

MY wife and i stayed at Villa Dahhne For one week from the 22nd of july 2012 . When we arrived after a 40 min bus ride from catania airport we were delighted straight away with villa daphne , the staff were helpfull and could speak english extremly well . My wife was 6 months pregnant at the time and the staff were very accomadating to us both .
FOOD : Buffet breakfast with breads ,cakes , meats ,fruits, cheeses , boiled /scrambled eggs ,cerals ,all of which were fresh and tasty .We stayed half board so we had dinner in the hotel the 7 nights we stayed there .We really enjoyed all the meals , the starters are very nice and generous portions ,same with the mains and the deserts were yummy too .The waiters do an excelent job and if you dont like something on the menu they are more than happy to get you something else .
ROOM : We stayed in room 312 facing the main road , lovely views of the hills n mout etna and even though its on a main road the 2 sets of doors makes sure no noise can be heard .While the room we stayed in was not overly big it more than catered for our every need ,the shower was very nice and a great way to freshin up , the air conditioning was great too as we were there during the hottest part of the summer . The rooms were utterly spotless too and very well kept , the chamber maids do a great job and the room is pristine every time they leave .
AREA : the hotel is situated right beseide a bus stop ,only 50m away , you can get a bus to anywhere from here and not very costly , tormina is reccomended .Most evenings after dinner we would walk down to sires bar pizzirea resturaunte ,a large glass of wine and a non alco beer is only 4 euro here , the food is great too and because we went all week we got looked after very well , make sure to vist here as its where the italians eat !!!! Also is ur hungry during the day visit the supermarket just across the road from sires , they do lovely fresh salad rolls , nice for lunch .
OVERALL : If you want a drunk holidy then this is NOT the place for you , its for couples and familys who want the finer n nicer things to enjoy , we will be back hopefully next year with our little future bambino .

Room Tip: All rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dangerousdave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Really relaxing and private hotel. Only 22 rooms, great staff in reception and the waiters are really nice too.
Really nice rooms, cleaning okay, but the pool needed cleaning!
The wii-fi was horrible. Expensive and didn´t work as promised, hardly worked by the pool and in hotel areal. In rooms laptops has to be cabled, so you cant sit on the balcony with it.
The food was okay, BUT the bread was horrible hard and dry. So all quests bought lunch outside the hotel, sandwich at the marked, or pizza in one of the many local restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room with pool view, the other side og the hotel has rooms just across the locacl buss cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katuscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a lovely time last week at the hotel Villa Daphne, the staff are really friendly and the hotel is modern but in a traditional style with a terrace overlooking the pool. The rooms are a good size and the bathroom, air con etc are all good. There is a good selection of breads, fruit, yogurt, eggs etc for breakfast and the staff will bring you fresh coffee. The location is slightly off the main strip, about 10 minutes walk, but there are nice bars and restaurants close by. I would also recommend the supermarket which is down to the right towards the hilton just a few minutes walk away, they have a good deli counter which we used for lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
933 reviews
2 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#8 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daphne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daphne

Address: Viale Dionisio s/n, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: £86 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daphne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Daphne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Daphne Hotel Giardini Naxos
Daphne Hotel Giardini Naxos
Villa Daphne Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing