We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of Villa Daphne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Daphne
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Although we travelled out of season, the beginning of November we could not have picked a better hotel in this town.
You could criticise the position, or the closeness to restaurants but to be honest this would just be nit picking.
We were warmly greeted on arrival and the experience just improved from there on. We were the only British couple staying which made greetings at breakfast interesting, it changed from bon journo to gutte morgan on a regular basis due to the German guests.
The food was excellent, and the service exceptional.
Will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side at the back to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

lovely hotel in a quiet location.Rooms are spotless. We had a room overlooking the pool with a small balcony. Had dinner here one night not good at all. a 10 minute walk away are 6 restaurants go there.The only thing thats lets this hotel down is Ryanair tendencies.
1: WiFi 3 Euros for 15mins
2: pool towel 2 Euros
3: they have section of beach that you can walk to Loungers 5 Euros
Shame about that it is a lovely place

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank julianshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a really lovely boutique hotel with very pleasant staff and a high standard of cleanliness. There is a bus stop a few metres from the front entrance and also car parking facilities.

The room we stayed in was spacious, bright, airy and most importantly, spotless!

There is a beautiful furnished terrace (this is where the evening meal is enjoyed), leading to a really lovely pool area with sun beds and parasols. The pool is not that big but it was adequate and again, very clean.

The only aspect of this hotel that disappoints is the meals: they are slightly repetitive (particularly the starters) and really quite small portions. It was a shock to find this otherwise appealing establishment risking all by, in my opinion, so obviously trying to widen their profit margins by serving children's' portions to grown men! Yes, the main courses really were that small!

We would definitely return but in order to enjoy the experience of sitting under canopies with soft spotlighting while dining al fresco on the lovely terrace, we would be aware that it is probably better to have a dinner when out and about at lunch time and regard dinner in the hotel as a light supper. Yes..the portions really are that meager. A Table D'Hote menu is offered at breakfast where you will be expected to chose a starter and a main for that evening. It's usually potatoes with the main, two small quarters for everyone is all that arrives on the plate. The meat and fish portions were so thin and generally really small and the starter was pasta or risotto - every night!

Lovely hotel, lovely staff but please sort the menu out!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 2 nights, bed and breakfast in a Standard room No. 218 with balcony facing Mt, Etna and were delighted with the room, it's cleanliness and although we were facing the main road into the village the soundproofing of the room was amazing. There was absolutely no noise from the street or the adjacent guest rooms and the relaxing atmosphere was just what we were looking for. We had spoken to one of the front desk personnel ,Rosanna, on several occasions prior to our arrival who helped us arrange whatever we needed. The hotel staff was always available for all of our needs with our best interests at the forefront. The breakfast is your typical continental style with a smile from every employee all of the time. The Cena Siciliana dinner for the two of us was a fantastic surprise and the live entertainment was typical Sicilian and the cost was even more surprising as it was less than 60 Euros without the wine! We can also recommend the best Fish restaurant in all of Giardini Naxos, the Sea Sound, which is a 7 minute walk from the front door of the hotel, ask for Orazio when you arrive and,weather permitting, sit outside for the most amazing evening that you can imagine. The public transportation is located about 100 yards from the hotel which will take you to Taormina for 5Euros return and an exciting drive up the mountain and above the beautiful coastline,
Would stay at the Hotel Villa Daphne every time we go to the East coast of Sicily !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area do not offer much of a view, we found the rooms facing the street and Mt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel fine, food absolutely dire. Either a miniscule piece of fish or 1 other choice Veal escalope neither of which were great. No lovely anti pasta dishes, like roasted veg 1 choice PASTA with a bland sauce on same. Oh I forgot 1 night Fish soup was 1 of the main courses. Fish never had a slice f lemon on same and I would have expected to see some olives somewhere or another,Cheapest bottle of wine on menu was 14.50 euro and not a sign of a bottle of chianti anywhere. I actually went to bed hungry every night , I tend to be semi vegetarian but would have starved to death if I was looking for anything resembling. The total holiday incl 1/2 board cost me 950 euro, a total and utter rip off As for Giadini Naxos forget it, there is absolutely nothing to do there there is not even a shopping area, nor an ATM machine. Go to Taormnina where ther seems to be plenty of life and leave Giardini Naxos with its crumbling houses and nothing to do.

Room Tip: Do bot go here if you are looking for somewhere lively, there is absolutely no attractions what so e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 5 nights of our sicilian holiday in this hotel. It really is great value for money.

The rooms, and the entire hotel, are beautiful and clean. Breakfast was small but lovely. As there are not many rooms, the hotel has a very relaxed, quiet and friendly atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The mini-bar is reasonably priced and the balconies, a lovely bonus.

Only issue, lack of wifi in the rooms. There is wifi in communal areas at a cost, but only wired access in the rooms which we felt was a little old-fashioned.

Overall, great value. Highly recommended. Could easily be 4 star!

Room Tip: You can park on the street outside the hotel for free. The road is busy, but we had no problems leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouflon_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Daphne in Giardini Naxos for a total of 6 days and it was absolutely wonderful. The hotel is small and has only 22 rooms so it is very quiet and ideal for a relaxing holiday. The rooms are also fully equipped with everything you need and are quite big (we had the standard rooms overlooking Mount Etna and Taormina. Its location was perfect as it was only a minute's walk away from the bus stop from where you can catch a bus to Taormina, Isola Bella, etc. The beach (Recanati beach) is not more than 10 minutes away and the area is full of great restaurants and cafes which serve amazing food.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone planning a holiday in Naxos!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are found overlooking the pool area whilst the standard rooms are on the facade o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGrech89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daphne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daphne

Address: Viale Dionisio s/n, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: £86 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daphne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Daphne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Daphne Hotel Giardini Naxos
Daphne Hotel Giardini Naxos
Villa Daphne Sicily/Giardini Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing