We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for junior suite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Don Juan
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Giulianova
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good value for junior suite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

right on good beach(across road).very clean&staff were helpful.breakfast good cold buffet,not much hot food but not unexpected.had dinner in hotel twice,average.eat out at restaurant '19 December ' a car ride away but top class food and great service.
would go back for location and B&B value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mondovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    200
    123
    68
    54
See reviews for
188
270
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We arrive on Friday 20th for lunch time and we were invited immediately to the beach barbecue...delicious fresh fish with all the flavour of the sea.We felt really welcomed from all the staff which is wonderfully trained and ready to make your holiday memorable, a special mention to Mrs Brunella the Hotel Manager, charming and elegant woman adored by the employees as well as Mr Franco Reale the Food and Beverage Manager.Although the hotel is huge (about 140 rooms) you don't feel a number on the list but they have got the ability to make you feel home, evrybody iis lovely, smiling with a good sense of humour.Friday the dinner was superb, there was a musical created by the animation staff and then we danced until our legs supported our bodies! Mr Reale was a revelation cause he is a marvellous dancer and one of his friends danced such in an harmonic way with him that there were a pleasure for the eye.The places at the beach are wide (not like the one in Rimini or Riccione which you can hardly gain a spot of sun!) and the restaurant food is excellent (we had a seafood sald saturday and mixed fried fish today).Saturday there was a piano bar night and we had the pleasure to hear Antonio Sorrentino who was one of the excluded boys for X-Factor.He has such a wonderful voice that none of us could believe that he wasn't chosen for the show.Other friends of Mr Reale have sung; a lady and another boy but of course they couldn't be compared with Antonio! After another day of sun and relax we left after dinner Sunday night with a sort of sadness in our heart but determined to come back as soon as possible maybe before the summer season ends.That's what I call an excellent service and example to follow from all other operators.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cinzicabulzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed here for two weeks in July and really enjoyed the hotel but with a few quibbles.

Giulianova is about three hours south of Rimini on the Adriatic Sea and about 30 minutes from the regional capital Pescara which is well worth a visit.

Most of the bars, restaurants and action is centred around Giulianove Lido an area which includes the town piazza and most shops and is close to the rail station.

This hotel is situated about 2 kilometres from Giulanova rail station, northwards in the direction of Ancona, taxis at the station are a bit hit and miss regarding availability.

Firstly the positives:

We got a very good rate on the Aer Lingus hotel booking site which in turn was handled by lastminute.com who obviously act for Aer Lingus regarding hotel bookings.

There are two lifts which worked well during our stay, however the decor in the reception was spoiled by a paint scheme coloured with a shiny extremely dark bottle green gloss paint which gave the entire area a depressing feel to our minds anyway.

The room allocated to us on the 5th floor was at the side of the hotel and to the rear which left us with a decent side sea view as well as the adjacent hills from a very small balcony.

The room was spacious due to its corner configuration with a separate wardrobe area as you entered, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and looked to have been refurbished with modern fittings etc, the bath and combined shower had lots of easily temperature controlled hot water, toiletries and towels were replenished on a daily basis.

The air conditioning unit worked well but seemed to need to be reset every so often after knocking itself off.

The mainly Italian TV channels were supplemented by CNN and SKY News for English speakers with a couple of German and French channels also.

The room cleaning ladies did a fantastic job during our entrire stay.

The included buffet breakfast had the standard continental fare with cold meats, cheeses, breads and pastries along with cereals and fruit, all sorts of speciality coffees were available to order from waiters at no extra cost, so if you are a coffee lover you should do well here.

As most of the clinetelle were native Italians staying on a full board basis the option to eat dinner in the hotel is provided from a set menu at a fairly high cost to those not on full board, we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant so can't comment.

The grounds and swimming pool were really well maintained with Stefano the pool guy putting great effort in at all times, this is a spacious hotel by comparison with most Italian seaside hotels and we heard it rated independently throughout Giulianova as probably the best in the resort.

The negatives:

On check in we were issued with a "beach club card" and told this was mandatory to cover the use of the beach with a parasol and 2 deck chairs, the hotel swimming pool, childrens animation team, tennis, gym and bicycle hire etc, the cost was €25 per person per week so you need to be aware in advance

For anyone with sleep difficulties you need to be aware that the double bed provided was actually two singles joined together amd was rock hard, this is not an exagerration!

The pillows were equally rock hard, we didn't ask for replacements so can't comment on their availability or otherwise.

The mandatorty "beach club card" charge was extended to include a compulsory use of swimming caps in the pool at a cost of €3 each for an item worth perhaps 50 cents.

The use of towels at the pool is regulated by charging €2.50 per towel issued, hand this back in for cleaning and this will prompt a further cost of €2.50 per towel re-issued.

Now these are not huge amounts of money but perhaps typically Italian given the amount of bureaucracy and paper work involved in implenenting the system, they really should be just included in a slightly hgher room rate and make life less complicated for the guests.

We did discover that the "beach club card" charge applies just to the summer months, whatever that means.

The included bicycle hire ran for exactly one hour per guest per day, anything above this is charged on a €2 per hour basis, again petty charges not worth the hassle but the hotel has this policy of charging petty amounts of money for "extras".

The gym seemed to consist of a few machines spaced in an area right outside the litts on the 5th floor with no privacy offered, if you were thinking of using this gym be prepared to be on show to all and sundry as they use the lifts.

The entertainment at night usually consisted of a solo singer with a limited repertoire of Italian only songs and a half hour of children being entertained by a couple of young people going through a medley of hand waving tunes.

The business centre appeared to consist of just one computer terminal in the reception area, as we were determined not to be sucked into checking on e-mail while on holidays we can't comment on costs or quality here.

In summary this is a very nice hotel in a typical Italian seaside resort catering for very much a family clientelle, the Gilui anovaresort has any number of cafes with snacks, drinks and "gelaterias" etc but if you are after a night club scene there didn't appear to be one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

I recommend this hotel with no doubt.
I spent only one night in this hotel, but I will definetly go back and spend a longer time. I was here in early spring time and it was absolutely perfect. All the staff is extremely kind even beyond their normal duties.
Rooms are clean, large, with cable TV and internet wireless connection.
The breakfast is rich and lasts until late (which is good, at least for me). There is a really pleasant and relaxing atmosphere also helped by a private beach (which I believe should be even better insummer time).
The restaurant is absolutely remarkeble.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faber2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

This beach town is a perfect location. Lots of great food, night life and access to all points Italy. Very close to very interesting midevil towns and authentic culture/shopping.

Service at the hotel was excellent.

Only thing that kept this from being 5 stars is that the rooms were noisy. We were located above the restaurant, so that may have had something to do with it.

I'd go back in a heart beat.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Very noisy
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

Edinburgh: March 08. We stayed here last year for 4 days, liked it so much that we have booked for 1 week in July 08. My wife and I travel to Italy, by car, every summer for 4 weeks. We have over the years noted a hand ful of hotels which we always return to. The Don Juan is now high on our list. It is very difficult to find fault with this hotel, from arrival to departure our whole experience was very positive. The pool and beach area is where we spent most of our time, it was difficult to get us to leave. We opted for 1/2 board last year and were delighted to have done so. The quality and range of food on offer was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble, if you required something special. Guilanova itself is a very interesting town, a mix of modern Italy and the old town perched above. We are looking forward to returning again in July 08. 1/2 board of course.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdmillanUddingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giulianova hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Park SPA Resort
Sea Park SPA Resort
#1 of 23 in Giulianova
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Europa
BEST WESTERN Hotel Europa
#8 of 23 in Giulianova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 900
Hotel 900
#5 of 23 in Giulianova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#10 of 23 in Giulianova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clipper
Hotel Clipper
#3 of 23 in Giulianova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Fiorita Hotel
Villa Fiorita Hotel
#6 of 23 in Giulianova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Don Juan

Property: Grand Hotel Don Juan
Address: Lungomare Zara 97, 64021 Giulianova, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Teramo > Giulianova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giulianova
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Giulianova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Don Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Giulianova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing