We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Guscio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Il Guscio
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Grado
Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed as a couple for one week in September 2013.

I specifically ordered a double bed (I hate twin beds). We still ended up with a twin bed. After making the reception aware of this, I was told they don't have twin beds.

Breakfast was very disappointing. Poor selection, and the coffee is the worst I've ever had in a hotel.

Location is good, and they have a parking lot. Which is why I chose this hotel in the first place. There are better close by for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elesius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent hotel both for rooms and service. The stuff's always kind and prompt. In the hotel there's a garage watched over and you can rent bikes for free (which is great to hang out in Grado!). The breakfast buffet is rich and you can also have breakfast in the outside. The rooms are wide and have a big terrace. Great for a group of friends or a family. You can buy a beach package directly from the hotel reception (which is awesome, because it costs more buyin it at the beach). Great experience, I'll surely go back!

Room Tip: It's better to book directly from the hotel (rather then from booking sites on the web) because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenkfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a suite (2 floor room with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms). We were 5 people and 2 babies and it was enough space for all of us.
The location of the hotel is really great. You can walk to the beach and the city center within 2 min. also the parking lot was great, which was included for one car. Breakfast was also, for Italian conditions, great. Coffee was excellent for a hotel.
Rooms were very noisy. In our room we could hear the elevator at night and the neighbors going up and down the stairs. Not so good!
Although the room seemed to be clean, my baby had flea bites on his face and hands after the first night. I think they must have been from the bed. I had a few bites too and a friend as well. So the cleaning seems to be only superficial. Very sad, since the hotel was despite of that very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emoticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here this weekend with our dog (at no extra charge, which is unusual) and thought that it was a great hotel. Having already read the reviews and spoken to the owner, we were ready for the directions to another hotel to collect our key but once we had it, we had off road parking at a very reasonable rate, and a lovely clean room one street back from the main area. Don't come here if you want an all-singing, all-dancing hotel (it's not that) but definitely do come if you want a clean, tidy, large room and balcony in easy walking distance of everything in Grado.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atvidaberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

....OK hotel. Nothing special. Helpful staff when on site - reception was not open all day. A bit weird that the front door to the hotel was open when coming home at 11.30pm at night, felt a bit "unsafe" even though you had to have a card to access the front gate but still...front door wide open and no staff in reception.
Parking in front of hotel was a bit tricky and tight but worked fine since the hotel was not full when we were there.
Might consider a second stay since the price was not bad for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam, netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

we stayed at this hotel with 2 kids in a senior suite ( floors!). It was good vaue for the price we payed. service was limited but enough to get around. clean, friendly and great , location for the beach and city center and it has a parking lot wich is hard to find in Grado

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

Although the hotel has a three star rating, which requires attended reception 24 hours a day, there was no one there to receive when we arrived at 8:30 on a Saturday. What's more the front gate was locked so the front of the hotel was not accessable (to read a sign in the door telling one to go elsewhere for a key).
This is perhaps also the only hotel left in Italy that does not have even an answering machine. We tried to call repeatedly but there was no answer.
Hotel? that isn't really the right term for a place like this. Vacation rental room, perhaps, but it does not provide the services of a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank JSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grado hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grado hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#21 of 45 in Grado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#14 of 45 in Grado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hannover
Hotel Hannover
#5 of 45 in Grado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Serena Meuble
Hotel Serena Meuble
#22 of 45 in Grado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel alla Citta di Trieste
0.9 mi away
Hotel Merano
Hotel Merano
#30 of 45 in Grado
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Guscio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Guscio

Property: Hotel Il Guscio
Address: Via Venezia Giulia 4, 34073 Grado, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Gorizia > Grado
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Grado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Guscio 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Il Guscio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing