We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great slope side hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chalet Des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great slope side hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is another little gem of a hotel in Pila. It's location is perfect for both beginners and more advanced skiers/boarders as it is literally right next to the nursery slope and also just 100m or so to the main Chamole chairlift which will take you up to the top of the mountain. All abilities will be able to ski right to the back door at the end of the day.
The hotel itself is relatively small and has a nice cosy Alpine feel to it. The rooms are warm and comfortable and have good storage space, (we had a triple room and had more than enough space to hide away all our stuff, and we don't travel particularly lightly) There's a heated boot/ski room which leads directly, up a short flight of steps, onto the piste.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style affair but has a great spread of breads, cakes, cereals, cold meats etc. There's no hot stuff except boiled eggs which was fine with us.
Dinner starts with a huge buffet of antipasta and you are then served a further 2 courses of great local cuisine followed by a choice of pudding. It's not exactly Michelin star fine dining but its good hearty and wholesome food, well cooked and pleasantly served.
There isn't much to do in the evening, other than a quick drink in the bar. There is also a very cosy lounge with a log fire on the the first floor if you just want to sit and read or snooze.
There is free wi-fi, although coverage for this is only available in the reception/bar area.
All in all a really great value, comfortable, friendly hotel in a terrific location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at Chalet des Alpes in early January which is in an excellent position for ski in ski out. It was just a couple of minutes walk to the beginner slope which you cross to the Chamole lift.

Our room (number 204) was spacious for 2 people but probably a bit of a squeeze for 3 or 4. There didn't seem to be anywhere to store cases so we used the spare bed. It had a balcony overlooking the mountains and the slopes over the east side and the road below. The heating in our room was not under our control with the radiator coming on in the bathroom in the evening and staying on all night. The air con didn't appear to be working, so it got a bit warm at night but we didn't complain as it wasn't that big a problem. None of the rooms have baths and our shower cubicle was made of fibre glass and a bit worse for wear.

The dinning room was consistently cold but the food was good if a little interesting! We weren't sure what we were eating sometimes although it tasted good but the free wine was only borderline drinkable with the red having a slight fizz. The service at the hotel was very good and the staff helpful although they didn't speak English all that well but it was certainly better than my Italian! Free wifi can be gained in 4 hour slots by obtaining a password from reception every day. The coverage is only guaranteed in the reception area but it seemed to work fine in room 204.

The ski and boot room could do with a bit of a make over and a clean up and the heater wasn't working on the first day. There are cages to store equipment in and if you have a small padlock you can secure your kit. The door to the outside world was open all day but I presume it was locked at night but didn't check. You are not allowed to keep equipment in the rooms.

Pila is a very small and quiet place and ideal for people wanting to get away from it. The slopes were generally quiet with no lift queues apart from the weekends. It's worth a trip down to Aosta if you like a bit of sightseeing as there are plenty of Roman ruins and the ride down in the gondola is enjoyable in itself.

Room Tip: Room 204 was good for wifi reception. I heard that room 201 is cold and very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwishyMichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is a great family run hotel situated about 2 mins walk from one of the main chair lifts. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The food is of the highest quality and in abundance with a 5 course evening meal that starts off with a great buffet. I would definitely go here again as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diav70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We agree totally with UKMarg's review. We had an excellent holiday, food was plentiful and the owner and staff could not do enough for us. This was highlighted when they even came and collected us from the medical centre after my daughter had twisted her knee skiing.
The room was always cleaned and beds made daily. The room was either too hot or a bit chilly, but that was probably down to us fiddling with the controls, but we sorted that out after a few days (once we stopped fiddling)!
Overall, a lovely, friendly hotel, excellent value for money and good position for both chair lift and the local bars/restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arry001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This family run hotel is certainly not the Ritz but in terms of value for money it could not be beaten. The owners work tirelessly to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. Maurice served us breakfast, pre-dinner Prosecco (excellent at only 12 euros a bottle) and dinner every day. He was even up at 5am to provide breakfast with a smile on the day we left! Breakfast was always good with ham and cheese for your fresh ciabatta rolls. The anti-pasta buffet in the evening was delicious and plentiful, more than compensating for the occasionally disspointing main course! There was always cheese and fruit available so you could never leave the restaurant hungry. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a large balcony looking right out onto the slopes. This is a true ski in/ski out hotel and if you are working with a limited budget I can not recommend it higly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MEFH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
2.4 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#2 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#4 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lion Noir
Hotel Lion Noir
#5 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Norden Palace Hotel
Norden Palace Hotel
#10 of 18 in Aosta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valtur Pila
Valtur Pila
#3 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Des Alpes

Property: Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
Address: Frazione Pilet, 11020 - Aosta, Gressan, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chalet Des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes Italy/Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing