We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 10 days in Italian Alps”
Review of Au Petit Chevrot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Au Petit Chevrot
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful 10 days in Italian Alps”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed in Au Petit Chevrot end September, early October 2010. We booked for about 4 nights (because I was not sure how my life would like Valle D'Aosta.) We stayed nearly 2 weeks. We loved it. It was one of major highlights of our 7 week trip to Italy, Austria, Switzerland. The beauty of Valle D'Aosta was beyond my expectations. Each day we would typically take a side trip up a different hanging valley (eg One day to the Italian side of Matterhorn, One day to the Italian side of Mont Rosa, One day to Gran Paradiso National Park, one day up to Pila and then to Courmayeur to take the cable car up onto the shoulder of Mont Blanc. [Mt Blanc, Matterhorn & Mt Rosa are the 3 tallest mountains in Europe.] There was not on the high mountains a few times while we were there - very pretty. In early October, the goats, sheep and cows come down from the high pasture and parade through the town a few times - a great spectacle - and this is followed by gastronomic delights of tasting local cheeses etc from stalls in the main square of Aosta. Aosta is a really easy town to spend a few weeks in. Lots of Roman ruins, but not in your face like some places. Gressan was a very convenient place to stay. The supermarket was great - very convenient. Roberto had good English. His wife, our hostess, was very generous. Even though she spoke no English, she was extremely helpful with laundry or anything else we needed - very warm and welcoming. Our apartment was perfect for our purposes - good kitchen facilities which was great as we liked preparing our own evening meals using local produce. Highly recommended. Our visit was obviously low season for them, but perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puzzlebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Misgav, Il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Gressan is in the outskirts of Aosta. The complex is situated on the main and busy road towards the Grand Paradiso National Park. Complex well designed. Kitchen is missing appliances and cookware. lounge area small with only one uncomfortable sofa. large rooms. nice Bar-B-Q area with large stone table and views to the surrounding mountains. In August the area is hot - no aircondition. Situated well for hikes in the Grand Paradiso national park and Aosta. Free laundry service. owners speak french and italian - not very helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher location in summer. Take rooms not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degmisgav_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A relatively new apartment complex and apartment no. 8 was very nice. It had everything we needed, the only drawback was the uncomfortable and shabby sofa bed in the lounge area. All the other furniture and appliances were much newer and better quality. It was surrounded by views of beautiful mountains. There's not much to Gressan, and while it would be possible to walk to Aosta, it would be along not very pleasant main road, so a car is needed really. It's a good location for the chairlift up to Pila and easy to get to lots of other towns and locations. The people who look after the apartments are friendly and look after the grounds well, so there's a barbecue and sun loungers etc.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment set back from the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We were looking for a base for two nights for our visit to Mt Blanc and were very happy with our choice to stay at Au Petit Chevrot. The surrounding landscape is spectacular. The modern, two storey apartment had a well equipped kitchen and wireless internet. Our hosts were tremendous and really went beyond the call firstly to help us find the place, then actually escort us to the local supermarket and provide late access to a washing machine.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassie40A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

The good: Apartment was roomy with most mod cons. Good heating throughout. Free parking & (when it is working) free wi-fi.
The staff were very helpful & concerned for our wellbeing & comfort during our stay. Sofia was always available to help & answer any enquiries.

The bad: Mattress very hard and awful square pillows. The shower cubicle was minute, barely able to turn around without bumping something. No tea/coffee making facilities except for electric stove.
Nothing much to do if there is no snow.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88REP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
0.9 mi away
Norden Palace Hotel
Norden Palace Hotel
#10 of 18 in Aosta
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
229 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Milleluci
Hotel Milleluci
#2 of 18 in Aosta
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
0.5 mi away
Relais Du Berger
Relais Du Berger
#1 of 12 in Gressan
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Giardino dell'Artemisia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Petit Chevrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Petit Chevrot

Property: Au Petit Chevrot
Address: Frazione la Cure de Chevrot 3, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Gressan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Au Petit Chevrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Petit Chevrot Italy/Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing