We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”
Review of Hotel La Chance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Chance
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed two nights here and it was fantastic. The hotel has a very welcoming and cosy feel to it. The staff were all so very friendly, helpful and approachable. The rooms were great clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. We stayed during winter and it was beautiful the rooms were warm and had a great view from our room overlooking the mountains and snow. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was yum feeling very full afterwards. Breakfast was included which had a good selection. The location is close to the fun park and about a 10-15 minute walk to the main section where the ski lifts are. Overall I loved our stay here and would recommended it to anyone and hopefully will return back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Used the hotel as a quick stopover on our journey to the south of France.

Hotel had great views and the rooms were nice, modern, clean and spacious, but had a crazy mezzanine floor with an additional spare bed accessed by a ladder about 3 metres up in the roof. This is great fun, but is not the obvious room assignment for a family with two young children. This would be great for older kids.

We were given detailed instructions on where we could find dinner in Pila on our arrival, in excellent English by the guy on reception.

Breakfast was great- lots of nice italian cakes, good coffee etc.

The only downside was that we couldn't get a WIFI singnal but as it was a leisure visit- this was no real issue.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a nice new chalet. The staff are attentive and friendly and the kitchen varied from good to great. Spa is nice. View is nice off the back. Room was large.

Although the hotel was pretty much empty and even though we requested a room with a valley view we got a room with a view of ... the parking lot. :( There is a dog on site which is unfriendly and barks a lot. I love dogs, but the owners should probably find another home for this dog as all the strangers seem to stress him out.

I would stay here again but the beds were awfully hard, to the point where my wife ended up trying to sleep on an even less comfortable (for sleeping) couch one night. Also there are no end tables or artwork in the rooms. It seemed like the owners had run out of money or time and didn't quite finish decorating. Finally, wifi access was quite bad and apparently does not work at all in most rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I booked this hotel because it has high ratings here on Trip Advisor and because it was included with the Aosta listings. I was looking for a quick stopover, but it turned out that it is quite far from Aosta. After finding the hotel (which is not that easy, even with a GPS), I quickly regretted using it as a stopover. The hotel and its rooms are lovely and the location is stunning. In fact, the whole area is gorgeous. I truly wish I could have spent a couple of extra days here. Next time, I will.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent a week at Hotel La Chance and generally enjoyed it. Service is pretty good but could be a bit friendlier. On our day of arrival we missed the last gondola from Aosta and the receptionist kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up.

Try to get a bedroom that overlooks the valley rather than the road. The rooms are a bit small and basic with hard beds, limited storage space, no full length mirror, etc. Bathrooms are equally small with no bath to soak in after a hard day on the slopes! There is however & decent spa area in the hotel which, bizarrely, is free to use before 4pm only. Not exactly customer-centric. It's a nice addition, though, and the treatments are well-priced and pretty good. There is also a really nice lounge area with a roaring fire.

Breakfast was ok, not great. Trying to get a hot cup of coffee or tea was a challenge each morning. The aperitivi were tasty & plentiful each evening (apart from Sunday) - usually made with the leftover ingredients from the previous evening's meal. The 4 course dinners were generally ok - with dishes varying from amazing to dreadful over the course of the week. On my birthday the staff kindly presented me with a cake which was a lovely touch.

Pila is a cracking little ski resort. It's well worth a visit and staying at Hotel La Chance is a good option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Repeat review as previous rating not accurate. Had really lovely week at La Chance. Very relaxing and everyone made you feel welcome. . Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable and the lobby and lounge had very relaxing atmosphere. Spa was most welcome and very professionally presented. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Ask for room at back with lovely mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwynF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Once we finally found the hotel (much easier said than done since both the road sign and the hotel sign are almost invisible - when you reach the "Welcome to Pila" sign take the 2nd road and up the steep hill) we had a wonderful stay. This hotel with its amazing views has both ambitions and a service level far beyond their current three stars. The rooms are modern, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast lacks nothing and is amongst the best we have had in any alp hotel. Every day a four course dinner is served at a very reasonable price. It should be noted that, as in most of Italy, dinner times in Pila are not set with children in mind - everything is closed until 1930. La Chance mitigates this a bit by serving some complementary small dishes in the bar by the fireplace during the afternoon and early evenings.
Not much to do in Pila, apart from skiing - which is great for most skiers. No queues takes you up to plenty slopes, the majority red to light red/blue, but also with a few more challenging ones. Ideal for families - a mystery that only domestic tourists have found it yet!
Now, with a multiday pass you have one day at another Aosta resort included in the price so if you want to try something else then Courmayeur, La Thuile, Cervinia/Zermatt and Monte Rosa (Champoluc) are only some hairpin bends away;-)
The hotel has a nice spa which is complementary to the guests before 16 - however children are not allowed.
The challenge with recommending La Chance is that it may be fully booked when we want to return...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
6.0 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#2 of 6 in Gressan
168 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Cogne
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alla Posta
14.8 mi away
Hotel Parc Mont Avic
Hotel Parc Mont Avic
#1 of 1 in Champdepraz
344 reviews
16.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Billia
Parc Hotel Billia
#1 of 10 in Saint-Vincent
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chance

Address: Localita 5 SNC, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Price Range: £105 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chance 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to restore yourselves in one of the most pleasant locations of Aosta Valley, choose the most natural wellness, rediscover the pleasure of the contact with nature The hotel is built using local materials with a modern twist and it is in harmony with the tradition of Aosta Valley and with the high quality of Italian design. The perfect balance between modernity and mountain authenticity, between sport and wellness... Wood, stone and iron as furniture of exclusive design. Creams, oils and natural fragrance are the basis for the body care and for beauty treatments. Local products and vegetables, healthy foods. Pellet boilers for heating. Solar panels for sanitary water. A strong commitment to sustainable development in order to respect the concept of eco hotel. Every detail is studied to get to have a structure that guarantees a more and more reduced environmental impact. We will be happy to welcome you in our hotel opened in January 2010. Charm of the location, atmosphere, comfort, wellness and elegance...much more than just a three stars! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Chance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Chance Italy/Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing