We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Hotel La Chance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Chance
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family have stayed in various hotels in Pila over the last twenty years. This is an absolute find. The welcome was great, the rooms clean and pleasant, the staff knowledgable and helpful, and the food amazing.

It's a short uphill walk past the toboggan park (great for the kids) to the nearest slope but combine it with leaving your skis and boots in the heated lockers beneath the gondola station and it becomes a nice warm up for the days skiing.

We will look forward to staying here again.....if only to try out the spa facilities we didn't have time to enjoy.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank sailinghelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family stayed in La Chance for the second time in 2013 over the Christmas week (22nd to 29th December).

We were on an Interski package and having used the hotel before we were particularly keen on this hotel as it's a short (but steep) walk to the lockers for the skis etc and then less than a minute to the bottom lift. The hotel went from relatively empty to very full over the week but the service we had was brilliant all the way through.

Special mention of Natasha (again) and her brother who remain very charming. The food was very good quality all week and the staff in the restaurant lively and quick.

Very good massage as well.

Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel especially if skiing from Pila.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed two nights here and it was fantastic. The hotel has a very welcoming and cosy feel to it. The staff were all so very friendly, helpful and approachable. The rooms were great clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. We stayed during winter and it was beautiful the rooms were warm and had a great view from our room overlooking the mountains and snow. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was yum feeling very full afterwards. Breakfast was included which had a good selection. The location is close to the fun park and about a 10-15 minute walk to the main section where the ski lifts are. Overall I loved our stay here and would recommended it to anyone and hopefully will return back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Used the hotel as a quick stopover on our journey to the south of France.

Hotel had great views and the rooms were nice, modern, clean and spacious, but had a crazy mezzanine floor with an additional spare bed accessed by a ladder about 3 metres up in the roof. This is great fun, but is not the obvious room assignment for a family with two young children. This would be great for older kids.

We were given detailed instructions on where we could find dinner in Pila on our arrival, in excellent English by the guy on reception.

Breakfast was great- lots of nice italian cakes, good coffee etc.

The only downside was that we couldn't get a WIFI singnal but as it was a leisure visit- this was no real issue.

Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is a nice new chalet. The staff are attentive and friendly and the kitchen varied from good to great. Spa is nice. View is nice off the back. Room was large.

Although the hotel was pretty much empty and even though we requested a room with a valley view we got a room with a view of ... the parking lot. :( There is a dog on site which is unfriendly and barks a lot. I love dogs, but the owners should probably find another home for this dog as all the strangers seem to stress him out.

I would stay here again but the beds were awfully hard, to the point where my wife ended up trying to sleep on an even less comfortable (for sleeping) couch one night. Also there are no end tables or artwork in the rooms. It seemed like the owners had run out of money or time and didn't quite finish decorating. Finally, wifi access was quite bad and apparently does not work at all in most rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I booked this hotel because it has high ratings here on Trip Advisor and because it was included with the Aosta listings. I was looking for a quick stopover, but it turned out that it is quite far from Aosta. After finding the hotel (which is not that easy, even with a GPS), I quickly regretted using it as a stopover. The hotel and its rooms are lovely and the location is stunning. In fact, the whole area is gorgeous. I truly wish I could have spent a couple of extra days here. Next time, I will.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent a week at Hotel La Chance and generally enjoyed it. Service is pretty good but could be a bit friendlier. On our day of arrival we missed the last gondola from Aosta and the receptionist kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up.

Try to get a bedroom that overlooks the valley rather than the road. The rooms are a bit small and basic with hard beds, limited storage space, no full length mirror, etc. Bathrooms are equally small with no bath to soak in after a hard day on the slopes! There is however & decent spa area in the hotel which, bizarrely, is free to use before 4pm only. Not exactly customer-centric. It's a nice addition, though, and the treatments are well-priced and pretty good. There is also a really nice lounge area with a roaring fire.

Breakfast was ok, not great. Trying to get a hot cup of coffee or tea was a challenge each morning. The aperitivi were tasty & plentiful each evening (apart from Sunday) - usually made with the leftover ingredients from the previous evening's meal. The 4 course dinners were generally ok - with dishes varying from amazing to dreadful over the course of the week. On my birthday the staff kindly presented me with a cake which was a lovely touch.

Pila is a cracking little ski resort. It's well worth a visit and staying at Hotel La Chance is a good option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
16.7 mi away
Parc Hotel Billia
Parc Hotel Billia
#1 of 10 in Saint-Vincent
687 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
6.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Cogne
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#3 of 6 in Gressan
170 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
404 reviews
3.3 mi away
HB Aosta Hotel
HB Aosta Hotel
#2 of 18 in Aosta
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chance

Address: Localita 5 SNC, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Price Range: £112 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Chance 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to restore yourselves in one of the most pleasant locations of Aosta Valley, choose the most natural wellness, rediscover the pleasure of the contact with nature The hotel is built using local materials with a modern twist and it is in harmony with the tradition of Aosta Valley and with the high quality of Italian design. The perfect balance between modernity and mountain authenticity, between sport and wellness... Wood, stone and iron as furniture of exclusive design. Creams, oils and natural fragrance are the basis for the body care and for beauty treatments. Local products and vegetables, healthy foods. Pellet boilers for heating. Solar panels for sanitary water. A strong commitment to sustainable development in order to respect the concept of eco hotel. Every detail is studied to get to have a structure that guarantees a more and more reduced environmental impact. We will be happy to welcome you in our hotel opened in January 2010. Charm of the location, atmosphere, comfort, wellness and elegance...much more than just a three stars! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Chance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Chance Italy/Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing