We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great skiing holiday over Xmas.”
Review of Hotel Lion Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lion Noir
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Castledawson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great skiing holiday over Xmas.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have skied for years in France, and only recently discovered the joy of skiing in Italy. The thing that really makes the difference is the people (although the scenery of the Dolomites and the Aosta Valley is also a major plus). Whether it is on the slopes, in the villages or in the hotels, the local people tend to be cheerful, helpful, and friendly. Especially so in the Hotel Le Lion Noir. We had a family skiing holiday over Xmas 2013. The food was excellent, as was the service. The infectious good humour of the staff made the evening meal a fun social event into the bargain. The view from the hotel lounge must be one the best from any hotel in Europe, with an unbroken panorama from Mt Blanc to the Matterhorn/Monte Cervina. Skiing out is easy, down to the Chamole chairlift. Skiing in requires a little more confidence if coming straight off the red run along the side of the hotel, but does not require much more effort for the less adventurous coming off the main return run through Pila - a short walk up from the blue. I had some concern about what snow conditions would be like over Xmas, but the snow was perfect, and the north-facing runs of Pila which are over 1800m, have a good snow record for the early part of the season. We encountered queues only on the morning of Dec 27th - the rest of the week we skiied straight onto the chairlifts and enjoyed almost empty pistes. We can fully recommend the Hotel Le Lion Noir and Pila.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    40
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very comfortable stay. Rooms clean but very basic, and walls a bit thin. Very clean hotel with good food service and staff. Ideally located for the slopes, but very quite in the evening due to mountain location away from town. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, R?on de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, the walls are worse than paper thin, I think they have built-in amplifiers. We were in a group of 38 grandparents, parents and kiddies aged from 3 months to 7 years. The smaller ones could (and did) cry in the night, waking neighbours all round. Our daughter walked around the skiroom at 4 in the morning with her toddler, to avoid waking the baby next door. My husband and I were lucky to have neighbours who didn't shout or snore.

On the plus side, the hotel is well situated for skiers, and for kiddie walks to the play area. Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, towels thick and fluffy. Food was excellent - buffet breakfast was continental plus (eggs, cold cuts), and we loved the dinner - antipasta buffet, fresh soup, 2 choices of pasta, 2 choices of main, and dessert buffet. Enough choice to avoid gluten (one of our group is intolerant) Wine only by the bottle, no carafes.Starter buffet doesn't get replenished, so get to dinner on time.
Swimming pool disappointing - not like the photos -small, gloomy and a bit green. None of our group went back after 1st attempt

Room Tip: Views on the front are spectacular, especially balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just back from PILA and yet another fantastic stay in the Lion Noir, truly is a ski in ski out hotel, put your ski's on in the ski locker open the door and your on the piste. The team who run the lion noir make you feel so welcome with great food and service. The most panoramic view from the bar, 180 degrees from Mt Blanc to the Matter horn just caps of the days skiing when you return for a little pares ski before you dinner. Then its out on the slope at 8 the next day a good 2 hours before the rest of valley get on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I posted a review of Lion Noir after our first visit 3 years ago,
we returned last year as we were getting the plans in place for our wedding this year.


We booked our trip via Carole from Pilaski who catered for everything else and helped sort out our wedding venue, I can't reccomend her enough. We have been away with Crystal before and always feel service is lacking, this is not the case with Carole!! book with her!

When we were booking in for this years holiday (2 weeks this time!) we had found out that my (well now) wife is Coeliac, (Intollerant to Gluten & Wheat.) We made the hotel aware and they catered for her at a level we would never have expected! We found Pila as a whole were amazing with catering for a Gluten-free diet (see review of Maison de Jean.) They provided Gluten free bread with all meals and also made her pasta dishes with gluten free pasta! She was so happy!

Antonio, the manager was fantastic, he got us a room that looked out down the valley (front of hotel.) and kept some meats and cheese for our arrival (we got there about 11:30pm/midnight.)
He is one of the most friendly people we have met, he cares so much about his staff, hotel and most of all his clients! With the care and passion he has about his job, no wonder this hotel gets great reviews!

During our stay the usual fun staff were around but also they have 2 new members of staff, one was a guy, usually in the bar (didn't catch his name) but he was as friendly as the rest and a good laugh with my attempt at italian. The other new staff member was a lovely girl called Erica, She was very chatty and her service was always with a smile. The level of service from the staff in this hotel is excellent, going the extra mile is standard for them!


The food through the 2 weeks was quite something, a great range and enough to fill me up (i can eat a lot!) The Gnocci was especially good!!

The 2nd week, we had 8 of our close friends and family come out for the wedding and of course we got them to stay with us! My parents had never been to a ski resort and they are looking at going back next year for my fathers 60th Birthday. Everyone came back with gleeming reviews of the hotel and holiday!

Everything i said in my old review still stands, the only negative point is that if you have noisey neighbours, you can hear them but when i mentioned this to Antonio, he has already put a request to the owner to make a few changes to help stop this problem! (first week was fine, we had a couple next door that we chatted about Wadger sightings, 2nd week we had some noisey Russians!)

I've probably left stuff out but all i can say is, if you are going to Pila, Stay HERE! it is worth it for the service along with the Ski in/Ski Out and pool!!

I've had many people email me from my last review and 2 couples (one this year and one last year) who asked if i was the trip advisor guy, so my review must have helped them! If you have any questions, don't hesitate to message me! I will try and reply as soon as i can!

Adam

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with stunning views.

Easy to access slopes - 50 metre walk from blue run or ski to door from a red run.

Staff friendly and fun- always paying attention to detail.

Food plentiful and amazing. 4 courses every night. Buffet style continental breakfast. Fantastic selection of wines -reasonably priced.

I agree with previous reviewers that the hotel walls are extremely thin but this didn't cause us too much concern.

There isn't much apres ski in the resort, lovely atmosphere in the hotel in the evening though.

Resort suited to families.

Runs very much suited to intermediate skiers and boarders.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirby Hill, North Yorks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at the Lion Noir in Feb 2013 while ski-ing in Pila. From the look of other hotels in the resort this looked to be the best and we were not disappointed. The hotel is right on the side of red run no 2 and any skier should easily be able to negotiate the path from back to the hotel from the piste - it's only about 50m and in the morning it's a quick schuss down to the chairlift - couldn't be more convenient. The hotel itself is comfortable and well appointed with a pleasant restaurant and bar. The food was excellent and plentiful - you definitely won't go hungry here and head waiter Aldo is a great character! Pila itself is a relatively small resort so intermediate skiers may get a little board after a week and it's not that straightforward to access other resorts in the Aosta valley. That said, the fact that it is small and relatively unpopular means that it is rarely busy and there are few if any queues. There's also plenty of off-piste to keep you occupied. It's also worth catching the gondola down to the town of Aosta in the valley floor for an afternoon - this is a lovely old town and worth a walk around - the lift pass covers the gondola to Aosta. You can catch a bus from here to Courmayeur, however in ski boots it is quite a walk from the gondola station to the bus station so be warned! If we were to return to Pila again, we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel as you get fantastic views down and across the Aosta valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Junkie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gressan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#2 of 6 in Gressan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#4 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
#6 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valtur Pila
Valtur Pila
#3 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Della Nouva
Hotel Della Nouva
#4 of 12 in Gressan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lion Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lion Noir

Property: Hotel Lion Noir
Address: Localita Alpila SNC, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lion Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lion Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion Noir Italy/Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing