We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Local and delicious food!”
Review of Gli Attortellati

Gli Attortellati
Ranked #3 of 397 Restaurants in Grosseto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Local and delicious food!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I heard about this place through a friend of mine, my parents and I were staying in Siena and were able to find it (with some help from a few locals and GPS). The food just kept coming, and all of it was so delicious, and it felt like an extra special meal since we knew it had all been grown and harvested from the farm where the restaurant is located. We enjoyed the adventure of not knowing what each course would be since we were the only English-speaking guests. We arrived early enough to choose which table we wanted and were able to see into the kitchen where the chef was making pasta. The service was wonderful and we loved every dish served.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaNance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    481
    116
    58
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Oh my Gosh! Amazing”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My sister had been raving about this place for a long time and we finally got to go all together this past July. We were a big group with 12 kids and 10 adults and the place was just as you wish it would be with so many kids. The tables are set up in the front yard of the farm house, under the trees and it feels like being home or at some friends' house. The first table who reserves for the evening gets to choose the menu for everybody else and it was us who booked first... The menu consisted of typical Tuscan style appetizers (home made cold cuts, cheese, different crostini) 2 more appetizers of our choice, 2 pasta dishes we selected between an array of excellent choices and the main dish (!!! after everything we ate already, it was almost impossible to attack the "faraona" with potatoes). And the cherry on top of the cake.....the dessert itself: ricotta tart, to die for! Everything is home made with animals and produce they grow on site. We also bought tarts and jams to bring home The kids are free to run around the farm and nobody seemed to be annoyed about it. If you arrive with your motorhome, you can also spend the night in their dedicated parking lot for free. Definitely two thumbs up and a high position in my preferred restaurants in the world list! and bonus, kids pay half of adult price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Oh Boy! Make Sure You are Hungry”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We got to course four and had to give up - we were stuffed and I can eat. Great food, great service, great location, superb ambiance. We were Tuscan food novices when we visited in May and were not sure what to expect. The first plate of mixed cold meats was followed by a quiche of some description - not sure what it was but it was tasty. Then there was asparagus soup followed by rabbit. By that stage we just had to admit defeat. This is a lovely restaurant but you have no choice, it's the menu of the day or nothing. On the pro side we were only charged for the courses we ate so at 39 Euros including water, bread and a litre of the house wine it was very good value. Maybe if we could have spoken more Italian and the staff more English we would have been able to navigate around the choices.Can't complain though. Would we go back? Probably not but that's due to the menu not being ala carte. Nothing wrong with the food or the place itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Do not worry about ordering...”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

As soon as seated, no need to place order for food, only for drinks.
The menu is fixed, several starters one better than the previous one (very nice sausages, crostini, tripe...), 2 first courses (excellent gnocchi and wonderful tortelli), a delicious main dish (extraordinary meat rolls), and dessert. Reasonable price, good quantity and excellent quality. And, if you like, wide choice of wines. You cannot miss it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great local food in a homely atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were served a delicious 8-course menu with local ingredients such as wild boar and home-made gnocci. The atmosphere is relaxed and it makes you feel like you are literally in their home. Thanks for the great evening!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gli Attortellati also viewed

Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
 
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Gli Attortellati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing