We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden "Gem"”
Review of Lago Bin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imperia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lago Bin
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Imperia
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Thiis hotel is situated just a few short miles from the fantastic village of Dolceacqua (as recently featured on bbc's F1 show and recommendedby Jensen Button and David Coulthard) It is situated on a quiet road amidst beautiful countryside/ The hotels own beautiful gardens and poolarea are very much 4 star and would put a hotel costing 3 x times as much to shame .The rooms are simply furnished but are clean and comfortable (much what you would expect from a good quality 3 star hotel .I saw a review which criticised the food and can only say that writer either doesn't know what he is talking about or came across the hotel on a bad (and entirely untypical day).My family and I have stayed at this hotel (or in its very comfortable apartments situated just across the road in their own beautiful garden) on many occasions over the past 20 years or so and have always found the food to be excellent . Although we now have our own house in the area my wife and I always make a point of dining at the hotel at least once during our stay. The hotel is family owned and run and the family and their staff are unfailingly pleasant, welcoming and helpful.
All in all a hidden gem !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robroyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Lago Bin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

The hotel rooms are basic but nice and clean. Quite a few more products in the bathroom than expected at this level, where there's normally not any. The bathrooms where pretty old though. I actually saw a couple of the rooms, and they were quite different, in size and the view of course. Some are facing the front of the hotel and have a shared balcony (so it is possible to walk from one room to another from the outside). Other rooms overlook the mountains and have individual balconies. One note on the beds would be that a tall person might not be very comfortable.

Reception area is some kind of taxidermy heaven (or hell) but I liked the surrealism of it. A (live) s,elly dog was also in reception though, filling it with a not so nice odor.

There is a nice pool area and gardens.

Definitely walk the short walk up to the little village for all your meals. It's very pretty, a little village square and a backdrop just like you picture it from an old Italian movie.

But mainly go there for your meals as dinner at Lago Bin is the poorest example of Italian food I have ever experienced.

Also nice walks in the mountains, get a map and get hiking!

Room Tip: Get one with individual balcony
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swedese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

After initial misunderstanding of what we expected of a two bedroomed appartment which was quickly resolved by the management, we had a really wonderful stay. The hotel was very clean and service was excellent. A great place to relax and unwind in beautiful surrounding countryside. Highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipsCumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Cannot agree with earlier comments on location, as the hotel is beside a river with fine mountain views. Rooms are fairly basic, but bath robes, slippers, toiletries, tea, coffee and chocolates on turn down provided. Tangerines and cakes also on first night. Also mini-safe in room.

Breakfast was OK when other guests were present, but on a couple of days we seemed to be the only guests and it was rather sparse! Staff were friendly and helpful. Some late noise from music from a wedding and wedding guests returning to their rooms, but only one night and one does not wish to be a spoilsport.

I would certainly stay again and recommend it for its location and tranquility on balance.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConradF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2005

Comfortable three-star hotel with a nice swimming pool and more stuffed animals in the reception and dining room than I have ever seen in my life. Marmots, deer, foxes, boar, chamois.... No creature has been spared the taxidermist's scalpel!

Dinner was nice - and the breakfast buffet was first rate, with a neat little automatic orange squeezer and all the cake you could eat.

The rooms are well appointed... Ours had a nice balcony - although the views over the parking lot at the rear are absolutely nothing to write home about.

The Lago Bin is popular with tour parties and its pleasant canvas-topped function pavilion is in demand for conferences and weddings. However, it's in a rather uninteresting valley location - around 10 Km inland from Ventimiglia.

The village of Rocchetta Nervina ten minutes walk to the north is worth a half hour stroll. More interesting is the ancient riverside town of Dolceacqua 4 Km to the south.

OK for a one-night stop if you're passing through the area, but not a very interesting place to use as a base for touring.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
14
Reviewed 25 January 2005

My brother and I stayed in this hotel in May of 2002 when we were traveling in the vicinity (in our rental car). I just loved it because it was like a hunting lodge with lots of rustic wood and trophy animals mounted everywhere. The restaurant was lovely and the service was excellent. The other guests in the restaurant seemed charming and congenial. We weren't sure exactly what we were ordering for dinner and so the waiter played "charades" with us and pointed at one of the mountain goats, making an appropriate noise. We all laughed and I ordered the "chamois." It was a little salty, but very good. The room was small but clean with a little balcony overlooking a babbling stream. The bathrobes were monogrammed. The elevator was the "tiny" variety. The whole feeling in the halls was somewhat dim and "old Europe." That's exactly the sort of atmosphere we were searching for, however. The hunt style breakfast was delicious and plentiful, too. Very nice presentation. The hotel driveway was lined in hedges of beautiful blooming red roses. Even though it was very early in the season, we sunned by the pool before departing the next morning. A welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the French coast on the last day of the Grand Prix. Thank goodness for the travel advisor in Dolceacqua who suggested the hotel to us in our moment of need. It was just a bit further up the road in Rocchetta Nervina. We never would have found it / known about it if not for her help. A really neat place, to me!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Imperia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lago Bin
Hotel Lago Bin
#1 of 1 in Rocchetta Nervina
164 reviews
21.8 mi away
Rossini al Teatro
Rossini al Teatro
#2 of 14 in Imperia
331 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#1 of 14 in Imperia
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Albergo Dolcedo
Albergo Dolcedo
#6 of 14 in Imperia
29 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#3 of 14 in Imperia
223 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kristina
Kristina
#9 of 14 in Imperia
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Bin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Bin

Address: Regione Morga Nervia Valley | Rocchetta Nervina, 18035, Imperia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Imperia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Imperia
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Lago Bin Imperia, Italy - Italian Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing