We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit. Period.”
Review of Ristorante La Virata - CLOSED

Ristorante La Virata
Price range: US$28 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Characteristic Restaurant renovated from an Old Convent of 1600 with a vaulted ceiling and columns of stone. Typical Italian Cuisine with a breath of innovation. Homemade Pasta, Homemade Bread, Homemade Desserts, Fresh Fish every day. Dehor with 30 seats and Air Conditioning.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must Visit. Period.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The restaurant is about a year old. It is run by father, uncle and son. Father and between the 3 of them they have 100+ years of restaurant experience. Davide (the son) was waiting on us. He suggested we let them do the choosing and we were brought a 7-8 course traditional Italian seafood dinner. Each plate was explained to us before and during the course. Davide even came and gave my mom some recipes. The father took the kids out to ice cream between the meals. The wine was very good. They even gave us presents when we were leaving! A fabulous experience, wonderful food and wonderful atmosphere. We ate like kings, 5 adults + 3 children, only 350 Euros, I think it was a bargain. Thanks Davide!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakgsrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Friendly, they made us pizza an hour before their opening time! Pizzas were good, too and we enjoyed our visit a lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stupendo”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Really good place and enjoing time like ever done.
I liked all that i ate , was stupendo like italians people say and like i prefer to say, i like italy and italian language but the most this restaurant with the special food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanremo, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT FOOD and SERVICE”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Outstanding in every way .....formidable,. sehr gut essen..... Troppo Buono !!!
In any language this is worth the trip and absolutely worth the money
Starting with 5 little morsels as an appetizer then 4 courses each better than the one before followed by a desert selection to die for. And the presentation of each course was beautiful, as one would expcet in a fine european restaurant
I am an American... but my companions were Italian and Danish and my opinion was shared by all.
Location is right on the waterfront road (not the main road) on the West side of Porto Maurizio easy to find with plenty of free parking up and down the street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JIM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“New favorite restaurant in Imperia”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've been to the Virata three or four times now and the food and service just keeps getting better. Our first visit was opening night, and even though they were still working some of the kinks out, the staff went out of their way to make our visit memorable and delicious. Our last visits have been even better - we always enjoy the wine recommendations of the staff and enjoy the surprise of the innovative presentations of traditionally flavored Ligurian dishes in the tasting menu. We love the variety of warm baked breads they always serve and friendly service. Great quality and price. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barolo_Backroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagruell, Proprietario at Ristorante La Virata, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Google Translation
Grazie for evere....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Virata also viewed

Imperia, Italian Riviera
 
Imperia, Italian Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing