We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Della Scala
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Lazise
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Through some luck we got Apt. 233. The apartment of the former owner. Absolutely stunning and huge with a terrace overlooking Lazise castle and the lake. It has the wow factor!! The staff was lovely and breakfast had everything you could want. Best part is that it's 5 min walk to the old town. We felt at home and were sad to leave after two days. The pools are smaller that they appear on the website but still big enough. Great for kids as there's a shallow pool with sand in it. Waitress at the pool was absolutely darling and very attentive! We're coming back soon!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baumburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    52
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
83
56
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had a fantastic week at this hotel located in Lazise. Great rooms, very clean, good aircon and super buffet breakfast. Underground carpark is secure and of a good size. Reception and all staff very friendly and helpful. A few minutes walk to the town centre. Pool was always quiet and there are free loungers most days. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have not stayed at the hotel but are very disappointed with it. We decided to spend our holiday in Lake Garda and after looking at the various towns and hotels chose Palazzo Della Scala from the reviews and website and booked it in January for a visit in July.
Everything seemed to be going great, the price was good, the responses from the hotel were prompt. As the hotel didn't do airport transfers we emailed and asked if they could arrange a taxi. They emailed back with a price, which again was reasonable.
I emailed back to ask them to book the taxi and my email bounced back as it did a further 6 times. I then tried to ring the hotel and the phone was disconnected (This was over Easter). I contacted the Tourist Information in Bardalino to ask if they had any reports about problems but they knew nothing but also couldn't contact the hotel and suggested we booked another hotel.
We found another hotel in Bardalino and have booked that and sent an email cancelling Della Scala (accepting the email would bounce, which it did).
Today on the off chance I range the hotel number and lo and behold, it range and was answered and I was told the hotel would not be opening until May but with no reason why. I did manage to get a new email address for the hotel and reconfirmed our cancellation but the hotel have not responded to this.
Luckily we have not paid anything although the hotel do have my credit card details and I have instructed my card provider not to allow any payment to be taken by the hotel.
I am sure that the hotel is very nice, but the way we were left hanging was not acceptable. The least they could have done was make contact with all guests that had booked and advised them what was happening and giving the new e-mail address.
Very very disappointing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strommen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a lovely week at the hotel, using it as a base for visiting wineries in the Veneto region. Large, clean rooms with excellent view to the lake, just 5 minutes walk to Lasize and all the restaurants.
Unfortunately they did not serve dinner, but breakfast was excellent.

If going to this area, I strongly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room with seaview if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tordan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I booked this hotel on their own website and it was very straight forward.
We got a taxi from Verona airport which took about 30mins and cost £45. We did consider a bus/train etc but with young children and an elderly relative we decided to pay a little more for the ease of it.
On arriving we were very impressed with reception and the warm and friendly service. The two bed apartment was fab; lovely sized living room with dining table and kitchenette, a beautiful bathroom and good sized bedrooms. Air-con was very welcome as the temp outside was 38˚c. We had one of the cheaper rooms but still the view from the balcony was of the lovely garden and a slither of Lake Garda beyond. All the rooms were immaculate and the lovely cleaning ladies kept it so throughout our stay.
We found the bed very hard and didn't have the greatest night's sleep but perhaps that's just us.
Breakfast was quite a banquet, from fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, continental and cooked breakfasts to a variety of cakes and biscuits. Wonderful!
The pool was the main reason for booking this hotel and it did not disappoint, we loved it! Our 7yr old twins spent hours in it. Half the pool is shallow with a sandy bottom and 'beach'. It was a big hit.
The medieval town is just 5mins walk away and packed with excellent restaurants and little shops. We made a couple of boat trips and would highly recommend visiting Sirmione.
We had a wonderful week away, thank you everyone at Palazzo della Scala!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Yes it is truly an unforgettable holiday trip for me. Last month I stayed at hotel of Palazzo della Scala and it was a pleasurable experience of mine. Very beautiful place and awesome view of lake made my trip perfect. I would love to visit again. Thanks Palazzo della Scala.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a long weekend at the end of October. As we have two children, aged 8 and 3, we booked two rooms. The receptionist was very kind and proposed us a spacious suite on the ground floor that we gladly accepted. The suite, beatifully decorated, comprises one living room with a kitchen (which is very convenient especially with small children) and two bedrooms. In front of the living there is the terrace having sunbeds and a table to eat/drink outside (too bad the weather wasn't that good during the weekend). The terrace is 20 meters away from the swimming pool and that is very convenient in summer. The hotel has it own parking in the basement, included in the room price.
There were two TVs, one in the living and another one in one of the bedrooms and they are always needed when travelling with children to keep them busy in the absence of their toys and books. I could connect wireless both my laptop and tablet and surf the Internet for free. The beds were very comfortable (as I am 1.95 I often have problems sleeping in short beds). The breakfast had a good variety and the food was delicious. There is even a game room in the hotel where we enjoyed playing baby-foot (here some toys would need to be replaced though).
Next to the hotel there is a supermarket and there are plenty of restaurants.
The location itself is fabulous. We planned to go to Gardaland, but because of the rainy weather we went to Movieland instead (that was a five-minutes drive from the hotel). Besides, there are other atractions around (brochures available at the reception), such as the Medieval Times (dinner & show), an aqua park, a zoo with a safari drive or the lake. The town is one hour away from Venice.
Despite the weather we enjoyed our staying in the hotel and region so much that we plan to spend a week or even ten days in the same hotel (and suite :) in summer. We're sure we'll have a fantastic time!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lazise
0.7 mi away
Hotel Corte Valier
Hotel Corte Valier
#2 of 27 in Lazise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giulietta Romeo
Hotel Giulietta Romeo
#1 of 27 in Lazise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Parchi del Garda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castello San Antonio
2.2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
2.0 mi away
Villa dei Cedri
Villa dei Cedri
#1 of 4 in Cola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Della Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Della Scala

Property: Palazzo Della Scala
Address: Via Gardesana 54, 37017, Lazise, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Lazise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lazise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Della Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with elegance and tradition, the Hotel Residence Palazzo della Scala is ready to make a memorable stay on the shores of the South Lake Garda. Immersed in the quiet of the hills and the medieval atmosphere of Lazise, be enchanted by the sweetness of the landscape of Lake Garda, pampered by a friendly and qualified staff. You can reach the center of Lazise with a short walking or if you like you can rent a free bike at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Della Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Della Scala Lazise, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing