We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family wedding”
Review of Magione Papale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magione Papale
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family wedding”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our son married his Italian wife here in June,2013.
About 20 UK guests and family also stayed here for 2 nights.
The unanimous verdict for the hotel was that it was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful.
The wedding was fabulous. The wedding couple had arranged a unique day including an outdoor ceremony which, apparently, is rare in Italy and therefore was disapproved of by other hotels that they visited. The hotel staff listened to the requests and delivered perfectly. Everyone agreed that the food and drink was superb. The staff were highly efficient, balancing informality and formality, creating a relaxed atmosphere.
The jazz band was ideal for the cross section of guests.
One specific advantage of Magione Papale is its setting. The expansive lawn has a children's playground and a shallow pool. This enabled the many children at the wedding to occupy themselves all day within easy view of the adults.
The hotel is in a valley with backdrops of Colle Maggio Church, mountains, trees and, oddly enough, a very active birdlife!
Some guests wanted to visit the city and were given precise instructions how to walk there through a botanic garden.
Our son and daughter in law chose a superb venue in her home city less than 2 hours by bus from Rome's airports.
A day to remember.
Thank you Magione Paple.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillfromAyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    57
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
41
3
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schoten
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here for one night. Beautiful atmposhere in entrance hall, real charme hotel. Room was perfect, very quite and clean. Located at the end of a dead end street, with nice parking, surrounded by snow covered mountains

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipSchoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Excellent use of after earth quake funds, this is a former windmill that has been turned into a boutique hotel, with very nice, new and clean rooms - all different, this is what they claim. The windmill is in the middle of a park with horses and riding stables, kids playground and swimming pool.
Position is also good, isolated and quiet but a few km away from the Basilica Cinquemaggio, which deserves a visit to verify the impact of the earth quake, and from the damaged centre of L'Aquila, beautiful and sad.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed a this hotel two years ago (August 2010) and should have written this earlier since the short stay was entirely satisfactory. It is in a quite location, the staff very pleasant, the modern rooms confortable and the restaurant extremely good. From the current comments nothing has changed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dch0ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and the staff. Everything was immaculately clean and well maintained. The staff spoke English very well, the rooms were wonderful, and the food was amazing. This will certainly be our go-to hotel when returning to l'aquila. The free wi-fi was a huge bonus as we were here for business as well as to visit family. The desk staff helped out with printing and other business necessities. Our children loved to swim in the pool which was very nice and clean. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was outstanding and worth a visit even if you do not intend to stay here. They also offer horseback riding and are very close to everything worth doing in the city. I would not hesitate to stay here in the future or to recommend this hotel to other members of our family when traveling from the states to l'aquila.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Could not have ask for a more excellant B&B experience. The facility is new, beautiful, and technologically very up to date with free and dependable WiFi, solar heat, and many energy saving features. Rooms are modern, immaculate and bathrooms are large and very up to date. The breakfast is ample and the highly rated dining room has a excellant chef and staff. Food was wonderful. The grounds are beautifully kept, large and green with a pool and immense covered patio area. There is a large playground for the kids and grounds feel as if you are out in the country. One of the best features of this 17 room jewel, is the reception desk staff. The two English speaking women we dealt with, Allessandra and Ilenia, could not do enough for us, from talking us in by phone, as we were hopelessly lost in the city, to translating for us with our Italian distant relatives in the area. Both management and staff are fortunate to have these two young women.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetgirlsnonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Aquila hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Valle dell'Aquila
1.0 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 21 in L'Aquila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Dimora Del Baco Hotel
La Dimora Del Baco Hotel
#4 of 21 in L'Aquila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#17 of 21 in L'Aquila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Canadian Hotel
Canadian Hotel
#9 of 21 in L'Aquila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magione Papale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magione Papale

Property: Magione Papale
Address: Via Porta Napoli 67/I, 67100, L'Aquila, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > L'Aquila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Magione Papale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magione Papale Italy/Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing