We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't come up to its write up.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Chiara Suite Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Lecce
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Doesn't come up to its write up.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is pretentious. It's also very noisy. It's by a nice square but it gets busy at night. Also bars right next to it so again it's noisy. It didn't go quiet until 1 last night. The B'fast was tired. One of the worst I've had in a long time. Fruit was past it. It's served on top floor and is very cold unless it's a hot day. The roof garden isn't even worth a mention! There is plenty of room for B'fast to be served downstairs. Says it has a restaurant. Well blowed if I can't find it! No one helped with our bags. And the bathroom had bits broken in it. Like my taps, the shower door etc. Wouldn't come again. Plus side is its near the centre but a bugger to drive to - trust me on that one - even with a GPS!

Room Tip: One way from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    105
    40
    23
    10
See reviews for
40
94
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a week in January and loved it. The location, staff and rooms were all great and the wifi a welcome addition. Breakfast on the rooftop was better than the average Italian fare. The noise in the night outside the hotel, in the square was a pain, but you could ask for an inside room. The hotel is aware of this problem. Special thanks to Vittorio and Sara for their assistance. Nothing was too much for them.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank chupchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here with my elderly Parents in November. Superb staff who really care. They were extremely attentive to the needs of them. We were up in the rafters as I wanted a very quiet room for them. Room Size was perfect, breakfast was served in a lovely conservatory area on the roof and everything was as it should be for this price level of hotel. Good Management, lovely rooms and a splendid location.

Room Tip: Lecce can be Very noisy at night on a saturday night. If you are staying at the weekend ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In the centre of amazing town of Lecce, the hotel has a really good location, beautiful rooms and very good services. This is a very charming old building restored with elegance. They also have an efficient sistem to park the cars. Great experience !

Room Tip: ask a room with hight ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuseppe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The building was converted to serve as a hotel, so the rooms differ from one another.The
interior is imaginative, giving a cosy feeling. Therefore it is advised to choose a room according to your needs. location is excellent - you are in the center of everything worth seeing and experimenting in Lecce, and believe me, there is a lot to get from this gem of a town!
The staff is friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Downstairs nice but noisy a bit on weekends, top floor rooms not having windows to street, but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliya38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Everything was good about hotel itself. Location was close to everything in town

Location was good, except on the Friday/ Saturday nights the street noise disturbed us...even with double glazing on windows. Of course nothing that the hotel can control. There was no active bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiethefloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Don't try using your satnav to find this hotel - too many one way streets/dead ends. It is a great location for exploring the town - good restaurants nearby and all the sites of the town within walking distance. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and explained that there was a music event going on all night and advised a room not overlooking the town. Therefore we had no windows, but it was spacious and well equipped and fairly quiet. No restaurant but a nice roof terrace where you could have a drink and survey the town - great view. Breakfast was OK but not great. Staff need to know which restaurants are open on Sundays - and inform customers when reservations can't be made. Their recommendations for dining were good though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.2 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
665 reviews
1.0 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Leone di Messapia Hotel & Conference
1.6 mi away
Arthotel & Park Lecce
Arthotel & Park Lecce
#10 of 21 in Lecce
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torre del Parco - Dimora Storica 1419
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Chiara Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Chiara Suite Hotel

Property: Santa Chiara Suite Hotel
Address: Via Degli Ammirati 24, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Chiara Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Chiara Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing