We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, terrible service”
Review of Il Banco

Il Banco
Ranked #69 of 583 Restaurants in Lecce
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Great option for a light dinner: an extensive selection of small, tapas style options. Cured meats, cheese, etc. all really great.

However, the service is slow and unfriendly. It took a very long time to be served a drink, the food was slow to follow and any additional requests (such as another glass of wine) were treated as a hassle.

Maybe we were unlucky. So don't be put off, the food IS good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heleniums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano122010, Proprietario at Il Banco, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Google Translation
Grazie per la recensione e per l'apprezzamento del cibo non sono per niente d'accordo per il servizio da lei descritto pessimo, evidentemente si è trovato in una serata in cui vi era molta gente quindi normalissimo aspettare un po' più del solito anche perché i nostri piatti sono preparati al momento ed il nostro locale offre ai clienti musica jazz quindi attendere un poco è piacevole.........rilassatevi voi che siete in vacanza!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    60
    21
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brindisi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEEEEER”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

One of my friends invited me to this place and it was simple, humble, relaxing and full of young creative people.

Most importabtly, there are no words to describe the quality of the home made beer that you can buy here. It is called 3/4

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Nice atmosphere and very good quality food and wine”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a drink and a snack one evening and we were so impressed we went back twice during our stay. The wine is top quality and the food is really tasty; we were there for the aperitivo one evening and the snacks and sandwiches that we tried were all really tasty. Whatsmore it has a great atmosphere with interesting characteristic modern meets traditional decor. Would definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a small treat in a stylish pakcage”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Il Banco is a small place offering sandwiches, cheese and sliced meat platters, and salads. They have an extensive wine list and artisanal beer selection. We found it a delightful alternative to all the multi-course meals we've been eating on our trip. FRESH, HIGH QUALITY food!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“I wich we had a plce like this at home.”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We went here twice, first for an apertif and the day after for lunch. We had antipasto that was excellent both times. They serve good wine by the glass and they also make theit own beer, called 3/4 (named after the bottle size, I guess). The beer was unfiltered, unpasteurized and very good. I ordered a second bottle with the lunch, a bit too much I have to admit. The interior is very nice and personal and the young staff obviously know what they are doing. We'll be back!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Banco also viewed

Lecce, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Il Banco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing