We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice - very central”
Review of Arte dei Sapori

Arte dei Sapori
Ranked #15 of 583 Restaurants in Lecce
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Choice - very central”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was recommended to us and when we walked in thought the decor was a bit colourful and crass - but not so the food and service. We had fish and steak which were both splendid. It had a real family-run feel and for somewhere so central in Lecce was a nice authentic experience. If they did the place up and invested in some better crockery and cutlery they could get away with charging a lot more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiWin383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    236
    79
    49
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

For me could be number one in Lecce.
Great food, well prepared, nice service, great staff.
Large portions, if you are not so hungry you can even share.
We had dinner under the tree, facing that small alley Italian Barroque style.
Dont hesitate..

Helpful?
Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Large Portions - Mediocre Food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Chose this restaurant because of the location and the positive TA reviews, and we were disappointed. Portions were massive, but the quality was less than impressive: seafood over cooked, filet was greasy etc.

So far, our worst meal in this otherwise fantastic region for foodies.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank swisshoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Islands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dine out like the Italians do.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Do NOT be put off by the decor like we almost were. I would say this family-run restaurant in the heart of the old town of Lecce is the real McCoy but that expression is so not Italian! We had the time, and meal of our lives. It was a real adventure in seafood. We loved the server, who listened graciously to our wishes and then recommended totally different meals and wine. We didn't have to make any decisions. It was clear we were there for the seafood and seafood we got and got and got. The chef was over several times to see how things were going, as we savoured small plate after plate of fish and a variety of 'frutti di mare' and then came the main course - a large dorado attractively displayed and served to us without a bone. A potpourri of veggies and a lovely serving of the home made liqueur, Limoncello, were thrown in for free. Our friend is celiac and the staff and chef were marvellous about making him special dishes and ensuring he did not take any chances. The chef even made him a special dessert. It was not a cheap dinner, but if you only eat once in Lecce this needs to be the place; it's worth every Euro.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank movingmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just great...”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The owner of our B&B recommended us this place and we were not disapointed.
We had the daily menu (three courses with housewine and water for 15 Euro) which was surprisingly good for this affordable price, especially the "Spaghetti di cozze" and the "Antipasti di mare" we enjoyed a lot. I first was a bit reluctant to eat mussels in a restaurant on a Monday, but because the place was recommended to us I thought I give it a try and was not disappointed at all.
We returned another two times, always for the daily menu. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly, we had some nice chat with them. When at the last day the main course of the menu was not very much to my liking they even offered to cook something else for the same price (what I declined, because I think that if you order the daily special it is a bit like eating at home - you just eat what is there...). All three days the food was nicely prepared and good value, but we gained the impression that it's a better place for seafood than for meat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arte dei Sapori also viewed

Lecce, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Arte dei Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing