We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best if it wasn't ...”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Lecce
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The staff was very helpful, specially the small thin guy that worked in the reception the afternoon we checked in, he answered all the questions before we even ask. The location is perfect because its walking distance from the historical and shopping center of the city.
We had dinner once at the restaurant and the food was real good and there are so many choices for breakfast too. but the minus was the room, i dont really care if it has old furnitures but I had problem with noise. I could hear everything and am sure they could hear me too. I started not using the toilet after 11pm , or not flushing it because of this weird loud sound that came after you flush the toilet. One night ( we stayed 3 nights) my husband jumped from his sleep because someone from next room flushed theirs. I wish they would sound proof it more...
anyway, apart from that annoying sound all in all our stay was ok .,,

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeescka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel. Located very close to Lecce's historical center and shopping. The breakfast buffet was satisfactory. Would make you eggs upon request but there was no bacon, ham and sausage as per North American standards. That was ok though as we ate like kings at the restaurants during lunch and dinner. The bathrooms are very small and not well organized. The bedrooms themselves are big enough and clean. The staff is supper friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed one night after going to their wonderful Sunday Brunch (which we loved). We booked the last night of our holiday in Lecce and were really looking forward to it especially as we got such a great promotional rate (62 Euro inc. breakfast for the two of us) with the Standard room. Of course because the hotel is 4 stars we thought even the standard room would be great but it was not like this. The room was ok, quite basic but with all necessary comforts, except that the bed was hard as rock and the place smelled musty and stale. I only noticed in the evening after my husband had gone to bed and fallen asleep (in the daytime when we checked in the window was wide open and we did not stay in the room very long).

I did not want to bother my husband on the day before our trip back so I put up with the bad smell but it took me ages to fall asleep, between that problem and the rock-hard mattress.

The bathroom was clean and adequate for our needs.

The saving graces of this hotel are two: the exceptional customer service we received everywhere, from the reception to the restaurant and bar, and the AMAZING buffet breakfast, abundant and varied, with local sweet and savoury goodies.

It is a real pity that the room smell was so unpleasant and the bed so uncomfortable because otherwise we would have loved our stay and it would have scored much higher.

Room Tip: Go for a better room, don't stop at "basic" or "standard" and ask to see (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caterina_Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

An excellent hotel, The owner is at the hotel everyday. The staff are helpful, well trained.
We had a superior room on the 6th floor.and found it to be quiet and comfortable.. The
hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the churches and the popular tourist spots. Good
restaurant with friendly staff. Excellent wine list for the "budget" imbiber ! The hotel will
help you with guides, transport, etc for visits to adjoing towns.
A pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: 6th floor for superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in March. It's located very close to the historic baroque centre though it's a long way from the train station which can easily be reached via public transport. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and the buffet breakfast quite generous. Still the amount we paid for our stay was extremely reasonable.
The staff at the reception desk were all helpful but we would like to thank Antonio who used to go out of his way to help us get train timetables and suggest places in the vicinity of Lecce we should visit.
So "Thank You, Antonio". We will never forget your friendliness and charming Pugliese smile.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel is located very near the old town, about 7 mins walk. Hotel provides free WIFI and the room is huge and spacious. Staffs are helpful and the breakfast is great. But the hotel is ageing and I suggest hotel need a medium degree of renovation especially the lighting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hkgphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was great. It was right in the heart of the city centre and within walking distance to everything. The hotel room were spacious and comfortable. They were also very clean and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was amazing! The food was fresh and there was a lot of variety. For those who have access to a car, I would definitely recommend driving to Otranto and Galipoli since they are only about 20 min away. Both Cities were by the Adriatic sea and the views were amazing. All in all, I would recommend this hotel since it is inexpensive, compared to many other italian hotels, but very good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gh0badi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiziano e dei Congressi
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Leone di Messapia Hotel & Conference
0.9 mi away
Hotel delle Palme
Hotel delle Palme
#9 of 21 in Lecce
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce
1.5 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arthotel & Park Lecce
Arthotel & Park Lecce
#11 of 21 in Lecce
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lecce
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lecce
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel that has a Restaurant open for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner. Valet service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Lecce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing