We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tatty”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Lecce
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of a holiday touring Puglia. Hotel and rooms looked very tired, most of the furnishings seemed to be from the 60`s. Bathrooms in rooms used for single people very cramped and dirty although the bedrooms was quite spacious. City centre location with about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main square and Cathedral. Breakfast ok but organised chaoticaly especially when different groups were having breakfast. Dinner on first night quite good but over 50% of the group subsequently went down with a tummy bug the following days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice hotel quite near the city center. Sleeping quality, unfortunatelly a bit noise at the beginning of the night because of the street traffic (street in front). The beds are very comfortable and big size. Excellent breakfast buffet and friendly staff. It was at bit difficult for our bus-driver to reach the hotel because of the traffic and the "one-way"-streets.
The bathroom was very clean but the toilet was very noise when you flushing the water.
There was a good possibility to have a drink at the bar and the prizes are fair.
We would come again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not to main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerhard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Leuzzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our HOTEL PRESIDENT **** Lecce and your positive feedback.
Best regards.

Antonio Leuzzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just come back from our second stay at this lovely hotel.

Our room was really spacious and very clean and we both slept well. We had a large bathroom with shower and bath which was immaculate. The pluming is a little dated however and we had a leaky tap on the hand basin.

We thought the breakfast was great. There was a selection of cheese, ham, bread rolls, fruit and a lovely selected of cakes and pastries which included some of the local speciality pastries which were yummy. The staff at breakfast were really helpful and friendly and offered cappuccino etc in addition to the jugs of tea and coffee at the buffet.

We also found the staff at reception friendly and helpful. They gave us maps and helpful advice when we arrived and arranged transport for us to go back to Brindisi Airport.

Thank you to all the staff at The President we will definitely be back to stay soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyLapwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Leuzzi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our HOTEL PRESIDENT **** Lecce and your positive feedback.
Best regards.

Antonio Leuzzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Potentially this is a nice hotel, the public areas are a high standard. We had a nice bedroom with comfortable beds, the food was good and there was a good choice at the traditional continental breakfast buffet. Staff were very helpful and friendly although it seems that their English is a bit limited. The one big problem we had was the plumbing. The tap on the basin wouldn't turn off properly and on one occasion we flooded the bathroom because the shower wouldn't turn off, even when working it was tricky to use without getting water everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamw0rth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Leuzzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our HOTEL PRESIDENT **** Lecce and your positive feedback.
Best regards.

Antonio Leuzzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff were friendly & helpful, if at times difficult to locate, particularly at the bar before dinner!
The bed was large, firm & comfortable.There was a comfortable settee. The bathroom was large & adequate. The fittings were a bit dated, but if they had not been so vigourously clean ( with, I suspect vicious cleaning products over the years) they would still be looking good. The chrome fittings had been cleaned down to the brass underneath. Despite being on the road side, sleep quality was good.
Breakfast was adequate(I loved the tomatoes & large wild rocket!) There was a large bowl of apples, but all other fruit was tinned, which is a shame when fruit is so cheap locally in the markets. Coffee in jugs on the buffet was poor, but a request for cappuchinno quickly brought a cup of good hot coffee served with a smile.
Dinner ranged from quite good to just passable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel while my husband had meetings for work. The room was really big and had a really big bathroom. It looked pretty dated as far as furniture and decor and could be a bit noisy at times. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the room felt hot when we arrived. Some people from our group complained about hot water in the shower, but it worked well for us. The breakfast was fine, plenty to eat. The people working in the hotel were all very nice. Nobody treated us rudely. We stayed in 2 other places in the area after staying in this hotel and we just found that hotel president was a little bit pricey for what it was, but it isn't a bad place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Leuzzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay in our HOTEL PRESIDENT **** Lecce and your positive feedback.
Best regards.

Antonio Leuzzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I´ve reserved two nights for work at this hotel, and I must say it has been one of the worst experiences of my life ....
I am a person that for work travel a lot, more than once a month, and for pleasure too and I have stayed in hotels of all types, but I had never happened to go to a 4-star hotel and find a hotel that does not deserves no star.
the room smelled bad, no light, broken window, the rusty bathroom, dirty room. Breakfast also very bad, poor, to anything from a 4 star hotel. a lot of noise at night and throw the broken window came the cold, so I did not sleep for two nights almost anything .... all my coworkers, 20, came to the same opinion as me.
we would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anouska g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio_Leuzzi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Guest,
we are sorry to read that your stay at the Hotel President was not in line with your expectations. Each Your comment has been shared with management in order to solve the problems you encountered.
We hope to have you soon as our guest to be able to demonstrate the quality standard that we are able to offer.
Sincerely

Antonio Leuzzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lecce hotels
1.3 mi away
Arthotel & Park Lecce
Arthotel & Park Lecce
#10 of 21 in Lecce
800 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Leone di Messapia Hotel & Conference
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiziano e dei Congressi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce
0.9 mi away
Hotel delle Palme
Hotel delle Palme
#9 of 21 in Lecce
477 reviews
1.5 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lecce
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lecce
Price Range: £43 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel that has a Restaurant open for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner. Valet service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Lecce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing