We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Location Unbeatable”
Review of Palazzo Rollo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Rollo
Ranked #22 of 319 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Character and Location Unbeatable”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

You could not ask for a better place to be if you are staying in Lecce and want to walk around town and soak up the street life. The building is a historic palazzo with character, unique rooms and great space to lounge in after a day of walking or going to the beach. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and willing to help in any way possible with navigating the streets (literally!) and area. The only disappointment was in the breakfast, which was rather bland without much in the way of options. Still, for price and quality it is hard to imagine a better, more authentic experience in Lecce.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    41
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
92
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

About 300 meters from the Duomo! When we arrived the city happened to be in the middle of a one-a-year open house of the beautiful courtyards around the city. The Palazzo Rollo happened to be on the those on the showcase tour. This tells you how beautiful it is! The old palace has been in the family for over 200 years. They turned it into a lovely B&B only about five years ago. Everything is clean and modern. We had a special place to park our rental car even though this is mostly a pedestrian only town. That was the only challenge -- getting back into the city when we wanted to come home. But it was worth a few laughs now when thinking back on it.

Room Tip: Our room facing the inner courtyard was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Internet description was accurate, this was a real find at a great price, 85€ per night. There was a sitting room and a nice enough double bed and bath. The staff were very helpful, even printing a Google map in Italian for a trip to the Gargano peninsula. Then, translating it for us. The duomo is right around the corner with a helpful tourist office in the piazza where we got a map for our own walking tour. The rooftop terrace looks right at the duomo bell tower, a great place for a glass of wine near sunset when the city turns orange and pink. Just a few steps out the gate to the right is a wonderful yogurteria as good as gelato. Only problem is wi-fi can only be used in the office. And it takes 4 keys to get to your room, no need for a safe. Breakfast is just adequate, but there are plenty of coffee bars around. All in all a fine choice at a good value.

Room Tip: No elevator so try to get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr4gums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Staying here enhanced our great visit to Lecce to the max.
It is smack in the center of the historical center, around the corner
from the Duomo, and from here you can walk everywhere.
The palace itself is gorgeous, do not miss the rooftop
of this palace and views in every direction.
We booked the suite with the kitchenette. It was fully equipped,
comfortable, quiet and perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Could not have asked for a more perfect location or a more beautiful building. Rooms were very spacious, comfortable, clean, and functional. Breakfast wasn't very impressive but I prefer exploring local cafes for breakfast anyway. The owner/manager was very nice and helpful. My only gripe is they really need to get wifi in the rooms and not just in the courtyard- it's pretty inconvenient to have to go downstairs to use it, and cell reception in the rooms is already shaky due to the massive, thick walls of the building. Invest a few euros and put wifi in the B&B, then Palazzo Rollo would be perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

For both short and long term stays in Lecce, Palazzo Rollos can't be beat. Centrally located in the historical center of the city, it's just footsteps from the Duomo and the main Piazza. There are plenty of restaurants and shops on the street and some of the very best Gelato in Lecce is just to the left. The coffee shop across the street is a great place to stop in the mornings before you head off sightseeing. Be sure to check out the rooftop terrace for the most stunning views of the city and the bell tower- especially at sunset. So beautiful! I stayed in a long term room (as I was in Lecce for three weeks) and it was quite basic but very large. There are no real amenities or services for the long term rooms (except for wifi), you must ask to have your sheets and towels changed (I had them changed only 1x in three weeks) and I was directed to the grocer when I ran out of TP.(they did give me one roll).. but it's not something you would expect from a hotel or apart-hotel. However, on the plus side, you do get to feel like a local with your own apartment- shopping for groceries etc. I did get to see the regular rooms too and they are quite lovely. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to others. I think with some organization and

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pariyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent three night there. The room we had had a balcony on to a courtyard where we could access the Wi Fi. Breakfast was ok but we had to ask for more coffee 2-3 times. Some local meats or cheese would have made a difference. The room was adjacent to a lovely library and a relaxing television lounge. We arrived by car and Signora Andretta supplied us with an online map. However we were a bit confused when we arrived first and used the stat nav which took us only to the start of the route to the hotel, Via Fazzi continue straight ahead into Via Verdi, ( don't turn right as this is tempting). At the end of Via Verdi turn left and then bear right and continue ahead into Via Ammirati ( where there is a very good Pizza al Taglia) then turn right at the end into Via Petronelli, continue on and you see the dark green door of Palazzo Rollo on Via Vittorio Emanuele in front of you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macanta_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.2 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azzurretta Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Fanfulla Rooms
Fanfulla Rooms
#54 of 115 in Lecce
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Belli B&B
Palazzo Belli B&B
#75 of 319 in Lecce
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dimora San Giuseppe
Dimora San Giuseppe
#4 of 319 in Lecce
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Storico
Centro Storico
#3 of 319 in Lecce
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Rollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Rollo

Property: Palazzo Rollo
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele II no 14, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Palazzo Rollo 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Rollo is a charming bed and breakfast placed in a 17th century palace in the heart of the historical centre of Lecce. Its beatiful structure offers to the guests the opportunity to appreciate Lecce's baroque masterpieces in just a few steps.Newly-restored Palazzo Rollo has spacious luxury rooms and suites with stunning surroundings, soaring ceilings and antiques furniture, all accompanied by the ease of a Bed & Breakfast-styled atmosphere. In the same building are also available comfortable, indipendent and fully furnished apartments with kitchen and private bathroom for longer stay.The terrace is embellished with plants and flowers in the typical mediterranean tradition. This roof garden is ideal for mild summer evenings. The inner courtyard, famous for the climbing vines that coat the walls with Oldworld opulence, is available to guests for car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Palazzo Rollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing