We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, "retro" hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Venere Azzurra
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel has a 60s vibe - terrazzo floors and large sea-facing balconies. It is located right on a beautiful beach and easy walking distance to San Terenzo and Lerici. Easy to get to Portovenere on the ferry, and from there to the Cinque Terre. But, it's farther than you might think from here to La Spezia station - around 1/2 hour on a crowded bus.

We had a family room which had two adjoining rooms and one bath that shared a balcony. The hotel bathrooms are as others have reported - small with showers that drain v-e-r-y slowly. Not a big deal for us - turn down the water pressure and you'll be fine. Go have a drink on your balcony and enjoy the view. My teenage daughter thought the room looked "skeevy" because it needed a coat of paint and some updating of linens.

Service was an issue at this hotel. Evening front desk staff couldn't recommend local restaurants by name - a general wave of the hand toward the nearby towns is all they could come up with. They claimed to have no idea what the bus schedule was like for La Spezia even though the bus left from 50 minutes away.

We had a bad experience personally, but I don't imagine it would affect others. Our luggage was lost and the airline was delivering it by courier to our hotel. The hotel staff said they would be there to receive it, then refused to sign for it while we were out for the day, so luggage went back to the Milan airport. When we tried to call from the hotel to resolve the problem with the courier, the desk clerk kept taking the phone out of our hands and hanging up to handle other calls. Completely unnecessary and to say it was a huge inconvenience to us would be an understatement. It cost us several hundred dollars to fix this problem.

I would think long and hard before going back, based on service and the need for updating the facilities. Love the area, but the hotel needs new management and a makeover.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cynthcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Venere Azzurra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Fantastic location and wonderful views over the Mediterranean and across to Porto Venere and the castle. Right on a sandy beach with calm water and easy walking distance to the shops, cafes and restaurants via a wide public esplanade that stretches from Lerici to San Terenzo. It's a great walk in the late afternoon right next to the beach and water.
We had a double room with a private terrace and sea views. The terrace was beautifully tiled, about 4 metres square with comfortable furniture and a roof made of terracotta tiles and held up all the way along with huge columns. It was a lovely area to laze away the late afternoons with a drink and a good book or to just stare at the wonderful views. It felt more like an Italian Palace.
The room was light and airy with double doors out to the terrace. It was a good size with a reasonable sized bathroom that was modern and very clean. The air conditioning worked well but not really needed as the sea air flowed into the room through the wide opening doors. Wifi worked best in the guest lounge which was always a good temperature with the air con and/or open windows to the sea.
Breakfast was on the top floor indoors but with double doors leading outside to a small terrace and stairs leading up to the rooftop terrace. It was an extensive start to the day with lots of freshly baked pastries and sugary donuts filled with custard, juices, coffee (even cappuccino), tea, cheeses, meats and yoghurt. On most days there was some sort of tart - asparagus or cheese etc We stayed 3 nights and wanted to stay longer. The hotel had a very pleasant lounge/reception area and a lift to each floor which was a bonus.
From Lerici it is possible to get a boat to Porto Venere across the Gulf of La Spezia and on to the Cinque Terra villages (which is the best way to view them I feel) and to get the train back to La Spezia and a bus back to the hotel. We also enjoyed a self guided tour of the Lerici castle, first founded in 1152 and the square of Lerici with it's cafes and restaurants and little streets leading away from the water. I will go back to Hotel Venere Azzurra and have one tip - make sure you book a room with the large covered terrace/balcony and not the one on the end as the bathroom is smaller than other rooms. Thank you for looking after all of us from Australia so well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with large, covered terrace/balcony and not the one on the end as the bathroom is sma...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loutro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel has a great location, infornt of the see and many rooms have provate balcony from which enjoy great sea view and sunset.

The room was clean, but the bathroom was so small to have difficulties to enter! Door and wall were scrateched. and it is really a shame because between location and cleaningness this can really be a good 3 star hotel.

Breakfast was basic, but at least you will be able to find fresh local pastry. with an amazing view of the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just stayed at the hotel Venere Azzurra for 3 nights and had a great stay.
The rooms while very simple are quite comfortable, bathrooms as noted are small, however its more than made up for by the staff and location.
This hotel is right opposite the best public beach in Lerici and in a great location for access to all of the local restaurants, ferrys, castle etc.
Our room had a seaview balcony and it was lovely to sleep with the balcony doors open and the sound of the ocean, could have stayed for a week.
The breakfast room is also very nice, though I can not say the same for the breakfast which was quite basic, but this seems common in Italy.
The staff went out of their way to assist us with parking, booking nearby restaurants and providing everything we required.
I thought it was great value for money at 105euro per night, especially with parking included, an amazing view, location and good staff.

Room Tip: got to have a seaview and balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I've stayed here many times over the years, last in July 2012. The balconies on the first floor are huge, with wonderful views over the Bay of La Spezia to Porto Venere. The breakfasts are great, not sure why some people have commented on poor coffee, I thought it was very good - you can choose what you want - cappuccino, espresso etc etc. Also delicious fresh pastries and breads, and lovely spinach tart. The reception staff are all very friendly and helpful - my little boys especially loved the bowl of sweets which they could help themselves to! Fantastic family friendly beach with beach bar/cafe just across the road. It's a 10 minute walk into the centre of Lerici along the beachfront road - very picturesque. You can travel by boat to Porto Venere and the Cinque Terre from here. In the other direction you can walk along the beachfront road to San Terenzo, also about 10 minutes. Loads of choice for good restaurants in Lerici and San Terenzo. Overall a great find.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have huge balconies - wonderful for sipping prosecco as you watch the sun go down...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanglemould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

With everything booked in the area, I felt lucky to get a room at this small hotel overlooking the beach. My daughter and I found it to be a great central location from which to explore the Cinque Terra, etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. Basic room, slow draining shower (let's face it, the entire bathroom floor got covered in water with every shower), but very clean and the room air conditioner worked fairly well which was a HUGE bonus considering the outside temperature. Great little balcony from which we saw a fabulous fireworks extravaganza one night. Might be tough for someone not able to do a lot of stairs up to the entrance while dragging their bag. Once in, there's an elevator to the higher floors. Overall, a thumbs up

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel was booked for me as i was traveling on business.
i found that the access to the hotel a little difficult and i would say for a disable person it could be impossible
the room had a good balcony overlooking the sea which was just across the road. (the road seemed quite)
The shower was small and did not drain well and the water pressure was low so i was unable to rinse my razor well.
Staff were helpful and supplied a free parking permit for a car park just 200m down the road.
over all i found the hotel comfortable and convenient

Room Tip: all rooms overlook bay
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-the-surveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lerici hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shelley Delle Palme
1.1 mi away
Baia Blu RTA
Baia Blu RTA
#5 of 18 in Lerici
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Del Golfo
Del Golfo
#15 of 18 in Lerici
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
#1 of 3 in Fiascherino
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
#4 of 18 in Lerici
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venere Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venere Azzurra

Address: Lungomare S. Biaggini 29, 19032, Lerici, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Venere Azzurra 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Venere Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venere Azzurra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing