We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!!”
Review of Grand Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Certificate of Excellence
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I loved this hotel, great place for our group to stay and be able to get together in the evening. the breakfast was amazingly great. The fresh squeezed orange juice machine was awesome. The rooms were clean and we had a room with a patio out of our room. Very comfortable. This is my husband and I 's first trip to Italy and to start it there was unbelieveable. Beautiful.

Room Tip: I don't think out of 25 of us there was a bad room. Some larger than others but still very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clsmith335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    159
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
73
159
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I will start with the highs - the views are amazing from this hotel. Breakfast was unbelievable - amazing selection and so fresh. Unfortunately, it is a hike up from the town where most restaurants are and the boat to visit Cinque Terre. The rooms are quite small and the walls are so, so thin. We could hear a group 2 floors down and heard all neighbouring doors shut. Bring earplugs, focus on the positives, and be prepared for a hike to the hotel, and it will be a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for a few nites and thought it was a nice hotel. We thought there were some positives and negatives. On the plus side, the room was clean and the maids do a great job of keeping it that way. The lobby is fantastic, the breakfast ample and the views nice from the deck, and the staff at the desk speak english (useful for us) and helpful. The hotel has ample parking available, outside the ZTA. On the downside, the hotel is a bit of a hike up the hill; you're not going to want to dash back to your room, and it gets pretty hot walking up on a warm summer afternoon. If I was staying there again I'd pay for a view room.

Room Tip: get one with a view; worth the extra 20E or so
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_1234z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were attending a very good friends wedding in Lerici and she recommended a few hotels, Europa was one of them. We were on a limited budget so we decided to opt for a hotel that was not beachfront, but was also comfortable. This hotel came to mind as the decor and views including price fit our budget for a 6 night stay in Lerici.
The rooms were comfortable and if you pay a bit more you can get a junior suite with a terrace overlooking to entire piazza of Lerici with it's breath taking views.
Here are a few tips:
We arrived via train to La Spezia. If you call the hotel or email them in advanced with your arrival time, they can assign a driver to pick you up for a mere 15 Euros. Instead of a taxi from the train station which will cost you over 35 Euros. The car service only works before 7pm, after that you are on your own! the ride is about 20 minutes.
The hotel offers subscription Wifi service only and I would advice just opting for the 24 hours option for a mere 5 Euros if your stay there is over 2 days. The 24 hours is only counted as online time, so log out after every use to conserve your Wifi time.
There is an amazing spread for Breakfast, but I suggest getting there early as you might still lose out on the pastries ( if that is your thing )
Free beach towels are on offer at the reception desk.
There are paid beaches and free beaches. It's kinda nice paying for a beach with lounges for a mere 16 Euros each and not getting harassed by beach vendors. The Lido Bech was by far the best.
And finally the steps!!!! Make sure you are able to walk up some steep steps from the town to the hotel. I can be a bit tiring, but oh boy what a workout you will get. I tend to be scoffing Gelato on my way up as a treat...lol.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same, it's just a matter of terrace or no terrace and how much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milehighclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The room was great with a new furniture, plasma tv, ar conditioning, view, minibar, big wardrobe. The bathroom was clean and big with great towels and shower amenities. The breakfast was the best I ever had with a lot of options like dietetical products, different kind of eggs, cheeses and fruits. The staff are very polite. The location is great and close to the castle and also de beach.
I loved!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My wife, 2 yo son and myself spent 4 nights ath GH Europa. We took a Deluxe room with a view on the bay, lovely! Some key things to know about this hotel:

- Location: pretty close to Lerici castle. Stunning view on the bay, you could contemplate the views for hours (day & night). We won't forget it. As mentionned infra, there are stairs close to the hotel allowing you to reach the centre (garibaldi place) by foot. We did it with our little son and it was ok. Of course the return to the hotel makes you sweat (certainly in August) but it's feasable. very handy (free!) parking at the hotel.
lerici is also great for visiting the Cinque Terre, boats leave closeby (stop also at Portovenere, nice little centre)

- Rooms: rather small (the master bed fills almost the entire room) but convenient. Flatscreen Tv (we did not watch a single minute but it's there if you want). The beds are great (also for tall people). My wife loved the bed, for me (this is personal) it was too soft. Bathroom has all you need (except a bath). Airco (absolutely necessary in the summer). Small but pleasant terrace. In our room the minibar did not work well (not cold at all), however you can enjoy free water.

- Services: nice people at the reception, always there to help. You can enjoy free wifi in the hotel (works very well in all tested areas). No possibility to dine here but you have plenty of restaurants closeby (tip: Al Cantiere is very good. One of the best pasta vongole i ever had). Breakfast is top class. More than sufficient choice (we liked the fresh juices & large choice of fresh fruit + succulent pastries!) in combination with the view, 1st class

We enjoyed our stay very much and if we plan to come back to lerici, it will be at GH Europa.

Room Tip: Spend some extra money on a room with a view on the bay, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgingVje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in a superior room as no standards were available but there did not appear to be anything superior about the room at all, being smallish with no balcony. The air conditioning was also located so that it blew a cold jet on to me which ruined a good night’s sleep. Also note that Wi-Fi is extra.

Enough said in other reviews about the steps but these are the only things keeping you from the harbour which is situated directly at the bottom.

Breakfast on the balcony was hugely enjoyable – outdoors with great views.

Overall, a nice hotel, just a little pricey compared to others we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lerici hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baia Blu RTA
Baia Blu RTA
#6 of 18 in Lerici
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
#4 of 18 in Lerici
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shelley Delle Palme
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
#1 of 3 in Fiascherino
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europa

Property: Grand Hotel Europa
Address: Via Carpanini 1, 19032, Lerici, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lerici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing