We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful holiday! would go back tommorrow”
Review of GrandHotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandHotel Riviera
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

lovely hotel, we had two very large rooms, which were clean and well furnished.
The hotel was amazingly quiet at night in such a busy resort. There was plenty of choice at breakfast but there was no dinner menu displayed before dinner which is usual in other hotels we have stayed in. The pool was kepy very clean and there was a lifeguard
for most of the day. overall this is a excellent hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiftysomethings_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for GrandHotel Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

Just returned from a great holiday.

Room very well furnished.
Food good , with excellent service.

Drinks a bit dear, but expect with this quality.

Don't go on organised trips.
Tourist information behind hotel as is the bus stop where you can get to Florence for 6.2 euros each way takes 90 mins. Van also go to Lucca and Psa for even less.
Promenade about 10 mile s long.

Strongly recommend hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms at back.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10Bilkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

What we liked? The location - a modern addition to a classic mid-twentieth century Italian coastal resort with good public transport links throughout the resorts and out to the main tourist draws of Florence, Pisa, Sienna, Lucca and beyond. The hotel - clean, tidy, well looked after; when one of the lifts refused to work, it was repaired very quickly. The pool - clean and kept clean by a very industrious pool attendant/lifeguard. The room - clean with good furniture and well attended by the housekeepers. The staff - very friendly, a few words in Italian to the staff certainly goes a long way, considering the diverse nationalities from all over europe that they have to deal with. Food - good, plentiful and a varied traditional Italian menu, the highlight of every dinner was being escorted to and from the dessert table, essential given the delicious fare on offer - it would have been rude to refuse!
What wasn't too good? - Reduced bus services from 1st Sep (end of season) especially locally in the evenings. Room - bit of a squeeze past the lovely large handwash basin to get into the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winston84smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We travelled to Italy late in the season so we had to organise a hire car direct from the airport. It was still warm enough for us to wander around in shorts and t shirts despite it being the end of october. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us... We were put so at ease we felt confident enough to try out some faltering Italian. The decor IS a little old fashioned but I couldn't fault the food or the service but a bit of butter with the rolls at dinner would have been good (Easily got round though by remembering to pick up a couple at breakfast and storing in the minibar)... Would love to go back again... Especially to visit the marble quarries and to drive along the windy mountain roads around Massa Rossa on the way back from Pisa.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Very good value for money as it is in such a great location. We did not bother with the organised tours as the bus ran behind the hotel to get to all the main places of interest or could take you to the train station if you felt like travelling further afield.

The room was clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom was small and the shower smaller (luckily I am a small person and even then my bottom was lodged against the door).

Breakfast was perfect for us but the evening meal could fluctuate in quality. We loved the pasta dishes and often asked for pasta as our main course rather than as a starter. Drinks were VERY expensive and we did speak to the Rep who said these were fixed by the Hotel themselves. It would do them a favour to reduce the prices as many guests including ourselves made a point of drinking elsewhere!!

We travelled with Thompsons (having initally wanted to book with Citalia but being concerned that they use BA and strikes were impending)!! Thompsons were great value, the Rep was outstanding and being a 'more mature lady' spoke Italian fluently and never failed to answer our questions fully including being able to offer advice on planning our annual skiing holiday in February.

I was a little concerned that payment was required to use the local beaches but was delighted with the hotel pool which appeared to be manned by a life guard most of the day. Due to the number of sightseeing trips we did not need to use the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMM186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

stayed 11/6 to 26/6 2010 staff first class managament very poor, location excellent, mobility facility very poor, pool excellent when cleaned, travel by bus or train very cheap,good base to travel around tuscany

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TractorboyLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

Nice view but boring neighborhood. No own beach, you have to pay to get to the sea. They charge for parking even if there is no parking place in the garage, you have to leave your car key at reception and they move your car when someone want to use his/her car. Reception is OK but they do not break their neck to help you. OK hotel but do not expect too much.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank pengemex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido Di Camaiore
1.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#3 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole e Mare
Hotel Sole e Mare
#30 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Caesar
Hotel Caesar
#14 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#20 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandHotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandHotel Riviera

Address: Vle Pistelli 59, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#13 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range: £47 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandHotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GrandHotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GrandHotel Riviera Lido Di Camaiore, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing