We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never go back...”
Review of GrandHotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandHotel Riviera
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would never go back...”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife, sister and brother in law were looking for a 2 bedroom place near Viareggio and this place came up on our search. I was already a bit taken aback by the 300 euro a night price tag but the photos looked ok and the pool looked great.

When we checked in there was only one bedroom not two as advertised. This might suit a family with two small children, not 4 adults as we were. The promise of free wireless internet was useless as there was no available connections to the wifi for the entire time we were there. Reception were extremely unhelpful in resolving this issue saying the signal strength was weak. The Wifi signal was fine and I could connect to it, but there were simply no available connections. I would guess that there would be no more than 20 connections available to the WIFI at any point in time. The shower leaked as well and every time someone had a shower, water would come out from the side wall.

The only saving grace was the pool and the location. The pool was extremely well maintained and the location was right next to the beach with lots of restaurants and bars in the close vicinity.

If I had my time over again, I would rather stay back in viareggio at a better hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    145
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
85
130
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a very large room with the most amazing views. The resort is expensive and the Hotel bar prices are similar to the surrounding bars for price. Food was good Italian food, plenty of choice, served nicely. The hotel is very elegant, very comfy beds and handy for the beech and peir. Buses are regular and stop near the hotel, there is an information office close by and we found them very helpful. Lots to see in the area, Pisa and Lucca are both a short bus ride away.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, very spacious but no balcony, good views even from the bathroom. A couple we t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkshireSealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My room was spacious and spotlessly clean. However, sleep quality was very poor because the walls are paper thin and televisions, conversations etc. can be heard quite clearly from adjoining rooms. I agree with the comments from other reviewers concerning the unappetising food.We travelled with a large group and unfortunately we were on half board. The waiters were an unhappy lot, surly and quite disinterested in their job, with one exception a pleasant and friendly waitress.The location is excellent for trips to Pisa and the unmissable Lucca, with frequent bus and train services. The tourist office is located in the Via Colombo behind the hotel and the staff there are very helpful and pleasant. Would I return to this hotel? Definitely not.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is supposed to be a 4star but food wise it did not live up to that at all., The food got gradually worse throughout the week, baked cheese that was so runny you could not cut it with a knife and fork, fried chicken "Tuscan style", that was just like KFC, horrible and not even cooked properly inside, another night we had fried fish but it was just like a fish and chip shop piece of cod, in batter and not very tasty!! Walking with the waiter to choose a dessert was not my idea of table service at all. Salad starter was OK when there was any left!! Breakfast OK, just normal. Hotel was clean but no pool attendant while we were there and I did not see anyone clean the pool. Bar staff and Reception friendly, good location BUT I would not return to this hotel because of the food, after all Tuscany is renowned for its food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Hotel was ok, the rooms was clean and quite large. We had booked with a travel agent and were assured that we're have a room with a balcony. What we got was a room on the first floor with a tThe food was continenal for breakfast but the evening meal was a bit differant, it consisted of a salad buffet and three courses which are best described as two starters and a desert just basic food. Be aware of taxis they are extremely expensive I took a taxi to the train station from the hotel and it cost €18 travelling 1.5 km, I found out later the bus stops at the back of the hotel and it cost €1.60, trains and buses are very rellible and cheap and travel to all the major cities and surrounding areas best by far but dont forget to validate your tickets before entering trains, on the buses you validate on the bus. Buy your bus tickets in advance at the bus station or tobaconists shops there valid until you use them.

Room Tip: Book the 5th floor with a balconey, and a frount view from the hotel loking sat the sea all the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmpedAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hotel staff quite accommodating. We were told about free parking areas a few streets removed from the hotel that worked very well for us.
Our corner room was huge and had a splendid ocean view. Furnishings were modern, spare but sufficient with very comfortable king bed.
Breakfast was pretty bad - packaged foods, no fresh juices, uninspired coffee -
When we discovered there were no chaise lounges at poolside, the pool manager went with us and removed towels from unused lounges. Perhaps the hotel wasn't full but we thought the pool adequately sized.
Go a block behind the hotel to via Colombo. Turn left and walk about 3 blocks until you come to a seafood restaurant on the left. Cannot find the card with the restaurant name but we had about the best meal ever there, served nicely in a funky looking Alpine setting. Reason enough to return to Lido!

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at the Grand after booking on line and paid 230.00 euros per room per night. Quite a lot even for the location and considering it was the height of the season. The check in was friendly and the room on the corner of the the third floor was lovely with beautiful views of the promenade and the pier. Nice and quiet with the double glazed windows closed so we could not hear the traffic. Air conditioning was very good and not too noisy. The housekeeping was very good and the room was kept beautifully clean and tidy for the time we were there.

However, the restaurant was a real disappointment. The staff were surly, unhelpful and the choice at breakfast was , frankly, miserable. It was definitely not in line with a 4 star hotel. Poor choice and very average quality. It felt old-fashioned and cheap.A real let down as the rest of the hotel was nice, and especially in Italy where they take such pride in their food. If you can get a rate without breakfast it would be better value. There are plenty of places very close by to eat so not a problem.

The resort is very nice, clean and friendly but very family oriented so if you are a not child minded then maybe this is not for you.

Would we return ? To Camaiore yes, but not sure we would stay in this hotel again unless they improve their breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor corner room , it has double aspect windows and lovely views, very good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido Di Camaiore
1.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#4 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Caesar
Hotel Caesar
#15 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lungomare
Hotel Lungomare
#24 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lido Inn
Hotel Lido Inn
#5 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandHotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandHotel Riviera

Property: GrandHotel Riviera
Address: Vle Pistelli 59, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#13 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandHotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your GrandHotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
GrandHotel Riviera Lido Di Camaiore, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing