We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guests that stay at Hotel Fortunella are Fortunate Indeed”
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fortunella
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in room 401 for two weeks from 11 -25 June 20014. Everything about this hotel is first class, and deserves at least a four star rating. The welcome we received from the manager, Salvatore was so warm and friendly, we were put at ease immediately. Our room was so spacious and comfortable, it had large balcony, with a view of the sea on one side and mountains to the other. The bathroom had a walk in shower, basin, toilet and bidet. Towels were of a very high quality and were changed daily. The bed linen was changed every other day, and again of good quality. The room was kept spotlessly clean by two young ladies, who were so cheerful and friendly, they wished my wife a very happy birthday as they saw her cards. They also gave us Italian lessons, which was great fun.
Without a doubt, the star of the show was the food at this hotel. Breakfast was a help yourself continental breakfast, but you could boil your own eggs or order scrambled or fried from the kitchen. We have stayed in 4 star hotels, where the breakfasts on offer did not come close in terms of quality and choice. However, this was only a prelude to the fabulous dinner we were served each evening in the lovely restaurant, where you were allocated a table for your entire stay, a nice touch. The cooking was done by Salvatore's Mama and Papa, who are food geniuses. There was a buffet, which you helped yourself to a delicious selection of dishes, such melon with parma ham, prawns, home made meat balls to name but a few. The second course was either, home made pasta, risotto or soup. If you go, please try the tuscan green peas soup, its the best soup we have ever tasted. Then it was a choice of fish or meat, again it was so fresh and tasty, and finally a surprise dessert. Some reviews have indicated that this course is mostly ice cream and fruit. We did not find this at all, each evening was different and divine. So nice to be served at the table, rather than having a buffet for each course. We had the added bonus of being waited on by the lovely Vanessa, such a delight, both in efficiency and personality. She is a real asset to the hotel. To sum up the food, we felt like we were eating out in a fine dining restaurant each night.
We can not recommend the Fortunella highly enough, if there was a problem, and I stress there were very few, Salvatore sorted them out immediately, and always with a smile.
The location of the hotel is great, only a 5 minute stroll to the most beautiful beach and very central for visiting Pisa and Lucca, 3 euros each way by bus. Ask Salvatore, and he will print you out a time table. So if you want a fabulous hotel in a wonderful location, then look no further than the Fortunella. Go you will not regret it. Thanks Salvatore and all the team, we will see you soon.
Allan & Gwenllian

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor, for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gwenllian812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went there with my girlfriend and we had a really nice holiday!
The food and the service has been perfect.
The hotelroom was cleaned every day and we got new towels.
We will book this hotel in the future again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just returned form a 6 night stay at this hotel in a lovely room with balcony overlooking the Mountains. We chose this hotel becouse of the excellent reviews and they certainly deserve them.
Our room was perfect and Big.
Breakfast was excellent with a good selection. Dinner fantastic!!! Salvatore and all of the staff were friendly and very helpful.
We would highly recomend this hotel and hope to go back soon

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent_Dorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful stay at Fortunella. Standards very high and you instantly feel the homely atmosphere of this family run hotel. Mamma & Papa cook the excellent Italian food.Salvatore & Grazia very attentive and friendly and efficient . it was lovely to be greeted every day with smiling faces and special thanks to our charming waitress Leila who was always smiling and never forgot the pepper!! great location & well located for local buses to villages&Pisa & Lucca and so cheap e.g 6.80 euros return to Lucca. Salvatore very kindly opened restaurant earlier for us for breakfast on day of departure . A bit more variety in packed breakfast I am sure would be appreciated but this is a minor detail. Long may these family hotels continue. Fortunella is a gem of a hotel with great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cumbriantwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second stay at the wonderful Hotel Fortunella and it did not disappoint. Standards were still as high, an exceptionally clean hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff and a wonderful homely feel. All the staff were always on hand for any help you needed and Layla the waitress was so lovely and always had a friendly smile. The Fortunella is excellently situated for easy access to Pisa, Lucca, etc. The food was very good and we give our compliments to the Chef. The staff were always on hand and very attentive. The Fortunella may not be as handsome or striking as other larger hotels in the area, however, we personally feel this hotel is by far much superior and would highly recommend this little gem. We would like to thank Salvatore and his staff for their hard work and great service which gave us such a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 303 on the 3rd floor, the balcony was on the side of the hotel and we had a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

the staff were friendly and spoke good english.the hotel was very clean.it was on a main road,good for buses but not so good for noise.lucca&pisa could be reached by bus.i would stay there again if i was in the area.the food was good,especially if you like pork&fish.the pasta dishes were excellent as you would expect in italy.if you are on the 4th floor the lift only goes to 3rd floor,there is no porter service so you have to take your cases up the stairs yourself.if you have an early start and miss breakfast,the packed lunch is poor,do your own.apart from this i would recommend it.if they could put those 2 things right i would give full marks.

Room Tip: if you dont mind taking your cases up 2 lots of stairs room 402 has a wonderfull balcony.room 307 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I spent a week at the Fortunella in August. As a lady travelling alone, the hotel staff were very welcoming, caring and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I stayed in a single room which was very comfortable, quite spacious and spotlessly clean - it was cleaned every day. The food was delicious and typically Italian. The starter buffet was excellent with so much choice. The location is ideal, a few minutes walk to the beach and also to the bus stops from which most places are easily reached.
I had a very enjoyable time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lido Di Camaiore hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#3 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#8 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mariani
Hotel Mariani
#5 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
GrandHotel Riviera
GrandHotel Riviera
#4 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club i Pini - Residenza D'Epoca
Hotel Club i Pini - Residenza D'...
#6 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Address: Via Italica 37, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range: £64 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore
Hotel Fortunella Lido Di Camaiore, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing