We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Village Resort
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Lignano Sabbiadoro
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A good stay in July 2012.

We were on full board and travelling with two small kids.

Restaurant was good, however eating could sometimes be stressful with staff running all over the place.

We had a designed table which was good as we never had to go baby seat hunting no matter what time we arrived for lunch or dinner.

For breakfast, we sometimes had to wait 10 minutes before being seated but this was not an issue if you arrived around 8am for breakfast.

The swimming pool was great. Pool bar service was however very slow.

Apartments are great with a separate room for the parents and the child bed which is easily stored away. Two private balconies and ground floor apartments have a garden. We appreciated having a microwave to heat the milk bottles. Our apartment was equipped with a sink and a fridge. Good to clean the milk bottles and store drinks to be fresh.

Shower was also very nice.

Night animation was fairly basic but very enjoyable for small kids. My kid loved the dances.

Service is good and on arrival, a golf cart was handed to deliver our belongings. The restaurant boss was not very friendly. Perhaps due to me having two small kids to feed which can sometimes be a bit of a challenge.

The big problem with this place is the Mosquitos. Better come equipment with some serious repellant. My wife developed a rash and she was not alone. Those Italian Mosquitos are hell for more northern people. The Mosquitos chase you indoors from you balcony and you will observe the newcomers smacking themselves silly during the night animations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAMPAGNOL110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    57
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
121
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Went there with my family for a week, and wasn't disappointed at all. Hotel seems to be new, with apartments in very good condition and all appliances work well. Staff is good (to Italian standards). My advices: (a) have a car so you can do some day trips (b) don't book any meals at the hotel other than breakfast, because you can easily go out for dinner in the surroundings and try something new every day, and it will probably be cheaper as well (c) beach is 5 min ride by bike (hotel offer good bikes for EUR 2/day), or you can take the shuttle, which needs to be pre-booked in advance - I'd rather use the bike though...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bochinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just home from our second time at the GVR and it was as good as ever. Staff fab especially the bar man, food amazing. Only down point the restraunt was really a bit too busy. This time got a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with front and back garden and was great. Will be back next year - love it !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is a resort where you stay in your own appartement or house. You have hotel facility, cleaning, towels, breakfast and dinner in main building. We stayed in a house, which had two bathrooms and two big bedrooms, accomodation for 6 people. Everything is new and well maintained. There is good service, exemple our microwave didn't work properly and was replaced within 10 minutes. This resort is developed for family with children, everything is save, fences everywhere, a big pool with seperated child area. A large heated pool with whirlpool, ideal temperature for the kids. Food is great, large breakfast buffet and dinner is fantastic! You have you own table, drinks served at your table. The buffet is several meters and full of seafood and luxurious antipasti. Then there are two counters with maincourses, to much choise for one dinner! We had a wonderfull time here and would return, we have never said this before! The resort is situated near the sea, there is a free shuttle bus. For excursion we recommend Venice, less then one our away!

Room Tip: Ask for a house, an appartement is one floor of this house. Its really worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just back from a week in The Green Village and was a great experience. We went with Thomsons for a week half board, with our 20 month baby. We had a garden room which consisted of a fenced front and back garden, kitchen/dining/livingroom, bedroom bathroom. the finish of the apartments is very high and is cleaned daily. Swimming pool huge and well maintained. Food is great but you have to be in for dinner starting or you wont get anything as is a buffet. Lots of choices.
The resort is about a 20 minute walk away but was closed when we went which was a little disappointing. The only other thing I would say is that this hotel is clearly geared towards a German client, staff assume you are German and they dont even sell Italian beer!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Green village is shiny and new, spacious and clean. The rooms are stylish and spacious, the pool area is also spacious and clean. Now for the negatives - kids everywhere! expensive drinks! too far from any shops to be self catering! My biggest gripe is the beautiful spa pool that is supposed to be for adults only was full of kids all day long. its a health and safety hazard for one and really frustrating when trying to relax. The staff need to sort this out, i did complain but was told there is nothign they can do - people just ignore the sign! we hired bikes which were a godsend as there is NOTHING within close proximity of this resort. Theres no local bus service either which is really lacking, we relied on taxis back from the town centre, not ideal for an entire week.

We booked an excursion to Venice about 1hr away by coach, which was beyond a doubt the highlight of the week, what a beautiful, magical place. Escape the crowds and spend time wandering the backstreets or take a taxi ride around the smaller canals. Despite people claiming venice is hideously overcrowded and expensive we found it no more expensive than london and certainly no more crowded, do not wear heels or take prams, steps everywhere! I intend to go back for a longer weekend to spend some really quality time wandering, beautiful!

The Green Village would be wonderful with a few improvements, ban kids properly from the spa pool, add a reasonably priced supermarket/shop and provide a free shuttle bus in the evenings to the town centre rather than just the beach during the day.

oh and Lignano is a huge resort and not very picturesque, its modern and bustly with a few cool bars and restaurants, thankfully we got a taste of old italy in Venice - a huge contrast. Hemmingway described it as the italian florida due to all the waterways and lagoons and this is accurate, cycling on the roads feels safe too so enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The apartment is more like a house. we have a two floor, with enourmous space, an own garage, and it is very clean. Everything is clean and the pool is really good. This place is for couples with young children. The staff in the reception and the housekeeping is really nice and helpfull but in the restaurant they can learn to be friendly. Everything is thought out well, but not well implemented everywhere. This probaly takes time. And yes the WIFI sucks, the breakfast is everyday the same, but very good. At diner we love the appitizers but the main courses are just ok. the surrounding is very nice with a lot to do. With the right staff everywhere this place will be great

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank versteje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lignano Sabbiadoro hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel President Lignano
Hotel President Lignano
#25 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
125 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Al Prater
Hotel Al Prater
#3 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Italia Palace
Hotel Italia Palace
#7 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#2 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lignano Pineta
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bella Venezia Mare
Hotel Bella Venezia Mare
#12 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Resort

Property: Green Village Resort
Address: Via Casa Bianca 4, 33054, Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Lignano Sabbiadoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lignano Sabbiadoro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lignano Sabbiadoro
#9 Family Hotel in Lignano Sabbiadoro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lignano Sabbiadoro
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lignano Sabbiadoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Hotel Lignano Sabbiadoro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing