We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really that private beach (payment)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Greif Lignano
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Lignano Sabbiadoro
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 5 stars but if you want to go to the beach, you have to pay for the sunbed and umbrella. Not really that is a private beach. The staffs are very nice and hotel is clean but about the beach is really disappointed. My first time here and also the last time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ttpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is one of the few in not only one 5 star hotel at Lignano. Very friendly and always at your service staff, comfortable rooms, tasty and assorted breakfast, close to the beach, pine forest around, many restaurants with very tasty and affordable Italian cooking. And if you find time to visit attractions Venice and Verona are not that far away. Best Recommendations!

Room Tip: Ask reception, they offer rooms to choose from the available ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhivov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Generally spoken: a pleasent Hotel with well educated/wealthy guests and friendly staff. Rooms are nice, but definitely one or 2 stars to high ranked + bath not 100%clean. The price for the location, room standard and breakfast offered again: too high. way to high!
Our impression was the following: this is a house that's probaly around for 2-3 generations. So are most of the guests. Wealthy and because they have been probably already spending their vacation there in their kids time not so picky. If you are a new guest you most likely expect more, especially given the really extraordinary high price. Bottomline: not a place to complain about, but weak price-value ratio, weak location, a little aged. For those who like pattina and have-been atmosphere with good service and a very nice pool - a place to go. For those who are internationally travellng and have a number of 4 and 5 star benchmarks, probably skip the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelers_BM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We are in Lignano from 16.3. till 19.3. Area and hotels - most of them - are closed. In this time is every year world dance competition in Lignano. And that the reason why we are there. Hotel was nice, clear, with good service - they are realy frendly and help for example with hot water for baby on 3 a.m. :) Rooms (we have 2 rooms) are clean, quiet and 4* level. Rooms have own safe. Enough place for clothes. Doors have sound absorption. Is it not far to public beach - 200-300m. Our 2 years old son walk there without problem. We are not check how far ist private beach (because out of season). Hotel have nicely swimming pool - not testing from me ,)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thommicthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

For the last time many tourists from Russia prefer Lignano because it is very nice quiet comfortable place on a sea shore. Not all of them who stays in Greif Hotel knows that this is unsafe place to stay. Hotel have 4 entries that never close. Administration of hotel notify thief about guests who may have enough cash or goods. For the last months there was several cases. No action has been taken and the hotel administration is not going to compensate the victims loss. Vacations was spoiled.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sergey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Greif is actually the only 5* hotel in Lignano. Concerning the rooms, the service and
the food and drinks, you get all you expect from such a hotel. It also has a marvelous
terrace for breakfast and dinner and a really big outdoor pool. Service is excellent
and there for you 24h/7ds. But remind there are other hotels in Lignano that are
also luxurious and that are located next to the beach. When staying at Greif, you
have to take a walk to its private beach. Yes, there is hotel service at the beach,
but don't expect the staff to offer you what you need for the beach. Asking more than
twice may be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This is a lovely 4* hotel, however it does not meet in no way a 5* hotel requirements. We stayed for 3 nights. The stuff was extremely friendly. Our room was clean, though a little worn.The bathroom had no bath tab (which is common in Italy) and had a rather poor interior (as previously said not a 5* one). Generally, no complains except very small ones,i.e Internet connecton wouldnt work even after the IT guy was called. Plus, we were charged 4 nights (as booked) even though upon arrival we mentioned to the receptionist that we were gonna leave a day earlier.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iolanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lignano Sabbiadoro hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Golf Inn
Hotel Golf Inn
#19 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Italia Palace
Hotel Italia Palace
#5 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellini
Hotel Bellini
#25 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alex
Hotel Alex
#1 of 17 in Lignano Pineta
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anapaya
Hotel Anapaya
#7 of 17 in Lignano Pineta
41 reviews
1.7 mi away
Florida Hotel
Florida Hotel
#41 of 134 in Lignano Sabbiadoro
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greif Lignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greif Lignano

Address: Arco del Grecale 25 | Loc. Pineta, 33054, Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > Lignano Sabbiadoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Lignano Sabbiadoro
Price Range: £92 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Greif Lignano 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the beautiful and famous woods of Pineta and just a short walk from the sea, the Hotel Greif, surrounded by a large and wonderful garden with an heated swimming-pool, is an ideal place for a pleasant holiday, where, in an elegant ambience, refinement and quality of service are the guarantee for an unforgettable stay. The particular attention to create excellent and delicious fish and meat specialities, suitable to satisfy the most exigent palates, and the quality of highly professional service, are our greatest pride. The welcoming and engaging bar with its terrace by the pool, during the day offers savoury snacks and excellent drinks and evening, gladdened with the piano-bar, a great variety of cocktails to end a beautiful day on a high note. To complete our offer: a private beach, a wellness centre with hair salon and a congress room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Greif Lignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing