We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have stayed twice at the Bougainville, and each time it has been the highlight of my visit to Sicily. The rooms are large, airy, and stylish. All amenities are up-to-date. The views from the terraces and patios are breathtaking. The breakfast is sumptuous and the staff could not be more welcoming or helpful. All in all, a stay at the Bougainville is a vacation in itself!

Room Tip: A room with a "vista del mare" is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleveland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Bougainville hotel is a lovely spot in the town of Lipari, one of the Aeolian Islands. They met the ferry to transport us and luggage to the hotel but the rest of the visit we walked the pleasant 5-10 minute walk to town. I lucked out with the most beautiful villa, a large covered porch, salon, and master bedroom with a wonderful draped bed and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. I felt like a queen!

The hotel staff, especially Guiseppe the manager, were very accomodating and breakfast was very nice. Attractive and clean. Great value and a great spot on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for # 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at the Bougainville with a group of 17 artists from the mid Atlantic for a stay of 5 days to recover from our whirl around norther Sicily. We all had the most marvelous time in the so thoughtfully created guest rooms with their beautiful tile floors and exquisite baths. The terraces were the perfect antidote to a group that was city weary. The breakfasts were the best we had in Sicily featuring a wide array of fruit and boiled eggs and much , much more. All the staff answered our every wish with prompt service and ready smiles. Guiseppe, the manager , was a dream to work with and he anticipated our every need. While the walk from dock is 10 minutes Guiseppe arranged that all our luggage be delivered to our rooms, before we could even imagine what to wear next. In addition the staff enabled us to have a couple of fare well parties as our group departed to the USA.
This is a beautiful property and it restores the weary as days pass in relaxed luxury.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for a sea view terrace room ---you will enjoy the parade of ferries as they come and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel is beautiful, very clean, the rooms are absolutely great and the staff including the manager and all the receptionists was very very nice and helpful. Breakfast is simple but much better than in other hotels in Italy and offers a nice variety of options. It is true that the hotel is a bit off center (about 8 to 10 minutes' walk) but the hotels offers shuttles to the harbor and also to the beach. The walk even becomes a nice one if you are after a big dinner or want to experience the local town a bit. We highly recommend to choose the hotel, it offers a very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first room with a garden terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ido_Gruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Collected v quickly from the harbour on a baking hot day. The rooms are really excellent and the quality of the linen was superb (I personally don't know anything about it but travelling companion was wowed).
Breakfast was good - typical Italian with a few extra nice touches - Big choice of pastries.
The Bougainville is a 15 min walk from the harbour - very manageable once you know your way.
They say they will have a pool in the coming year and it will finish off this place really well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATTWA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We made the trip to visit the Eolies and stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. We enjoyed very much the place, the service and the staff.
The rooms are large, the restaurant is very agreable and thorough cooking the meals. The reception provided us with all the information we asked (even managed to talk english, spanish and portuguese!).
Just a few notes for other travelers that plan to visit these volcanic islands :

1) Take an italian dictionary because, amazingly, in such a touristic place like these islands, it's VERY difficult to find people that understand other language than italian - not to mention that in certain places the spoken language is... sicilian! We even saw italian people having trouble to communicate...
However, communications problems aside, the islands are wonderful!
2) Whenever travelling between islands avoid the boats from Ustica Lines – they are always very late, (sometimes over 45 min.s!) and the staff is not at all friendly. (the captain can even be rude if you complain about the delay).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mely_Vitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel on the edge of Lipari gives the impression of a professional and clean hotel, a bit business like. If you are passing by Lipari and need clean room for a night this hotel might be good. However, if you - like my girl friend and I - are having a longer stay, the hotel has some unfortunate lackings from my experience;
- to get to the harbour you need to traverse approx. 400 meter in a dark back alley; this is not a nice place in daylight and of course worse after dark
- the hotel is focused on a "business like" atmosphere and lacks any trace of charm
- the restaurant also used for breakfast has no view other than bushes, the garden and a wall; there is a great view of the harbour from the upstair terrace, but this is not used for serving and also in general rarely used by the guests
In addition we experienced a very poor service in terms of flexibility in check in time etc.

For the rather expensive price of the rooms, it goes with the above that this was a rather disappointing stage on our vacation this year. Luckily, the Eoli islands have a lot of other good accomodation opportunities...

Joakim

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joakim_graff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel La Giara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainville Lipari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainville Lipari

Address: Via Balestreri, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lipari
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
Price Range: £58 - £641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bougainville Lipari 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bougainville is located in a privileged position a few hundred metres away from the historical centre, from the commercial port and from the beautiful Bay of Marina Lunga, and it is inmersed in a beautiful garden with typical Mediterranean Maquis Shrubland plants. The hotel has 35 large and bright rooms smartly and confortable furnished.The rooms are carefully taken care of down to the smallest details, the wall colours, the pickle-stained furniture and majolica floors evoke a sensation of freshness and relax. It has a wide hall , a well stocked bar and large terraces where you can enjoy delicious aperitifs in a peaceful atmosphere and enjoy the striking panorama. Services: internal restaurant " La Lampara " where you can taste typical dishes of Aeolian and Sicilian traditional cooking; panoramic breakfast room, cocktail-bar, room service, laundry, solarium, baby sitting, free internet point and connection wi-fi ( area hall ) free, private parking, garage, free shuttle bus transfer service in arrival and departure, free scheduled shuttle bus from/to the centre , swimming pool. The hotel has a convention with an external restaurant, same property "Al Pescatore" located in the square near the sea named Marina Corta, connected with a free shuttle service from/to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bougainville Lipari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing