We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Borgo Eolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great hotel. Maybe it's a bit distanced from the town centre, but fortunately the hotel offers free shuttle at every full hour. It's also clean and there's free wifi in the lobby. Breakfasts are quite good and you can rent a car there so it will be waiting for you in the hotel parking. If I ever visit Lipari again I will stay in Borgo Eolie =).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miha95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    124
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
312
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on our trip through Sicily and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a lovely new hotel with great staff and good location - it only takes a few minutes to walk into town. We were picked up from the port by the hotel shuttle bus and also got a lift there after we checked out, so we didn't have to drag our luggage through town (as I was 6 months pregnant that helped a lot). The breakfast is nice and you can see the sea from the terrace. There is WIFI on the terrace but not in the rooms, which might be something to consider for improvement but not sure how often you want to check emails on holiday anyway. We spent a few hours at the pool, which was refreshing after a hot day and lots of time on our little balcony, just relaxing. The rooms are clean and spacious - only recommendation would be to add some tea/coffee making facilities so you don't have to go down to the bar to get a hot drink to enjoy on your balcony.
All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony, not a terrace as the view will be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBlueOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Relatively new hotel, located in the outskirt of the town. Easy walkable to the port or use transport offered by owner. The complete hotel is small but very clean, eooms are modern, sleeping excellent. The pool area very inviting for warmer days then when we were there. Breakfast was very good. It is a small hotel so personal attention by owners is guaranteed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This place is a little way from the port - about 15 minutes walk, and into the hillside 'suburbs' of Lipari town. We were happy to walk with our minimal luggage, but I guess you could pre-arrange a pick up with the hotel. They have a minibus for the shuttle service with a regular timetable through the day and evening, but were happy to take passengers down to meet the hydrofoil for an early departure before breakfast.
Breakfast was an excellent buffet with a wide variety of sweet and savoury choices, including scrambled eggs, pastries, fruit etc.
Our room was spacious and the shady balcony had a comfy sofa and a 'sea view'. Yes, you could see the sea - beyond the street lamps and surrounding buildings. Don't imagine a picturesque scene.
Massimo was a very smiley and helpful host. The list of restaurants provided was useful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsider79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Fantastic. Stayed here in August with 3 friends. The staff could not be more helpful. The rooms basic but modern and very clean. The pool quite and relaxing. A perfect base to explore the islands. My only criticism would be the coffee at breakfast, not great. The hotel is a five minute walk from the main shopping street of Lipari but the staff run a very frequent minibus which is great in the heat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredensborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is the best experience we had over a 14 days tour through Southern Italy. The service and atmosphere was fantastic. Staff was so helpfull. We were there 4 days with our two kids (9 and 7) - and we all enjoyed it. Although a bit away from the main part of the town of Lipari, the walking distance i 12 minutes with kids, and you can always arrange with the Hotel's Shuttle Bus.

Room Tip: We had room 205 all four days - and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

It’s a measure of a fine hotel that when you finally get round to reviewing it several months later the memory is still warm and fresh. The Borgo Eolie works on several levels. It is fabulous value for money and it’s great to find a relatively new hotel in Italy. The facilities are of good quality but it’s the extra level of service that makes this one a bit special. Most of the reviews have mentioned the shuttle bus which might seem a bit odd to someone who hasn’t stayed at the hotel. It’s not that the Borgo is so far from the action that you need the bus, it’s the fact that they will take and pick you up pretty well whenever you want. This is the ethos of the hotel, you’re on holiday, they will do what they can to make it easier and more enjoyable for you.
Lipari was fabulous, the Borgo Eolie, the icing on the cake. Do visit the other islands. But if you only have time to do one thing, go on the night trip to Stromboli. Magical.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubenesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipari
4.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#3 of 33 in Lipari
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Eolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Eolie Hotel

Property: Borgo Eolie Hotel
Address: C/da Mendolita, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Eolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borgo Eolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing