We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but surely not the best in Lipari”
Review of Borgo Eolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a clean, modern hotel with good air conditioning, a nice pool and free wifi in the lounge. The staff generally speak good English and are friendly and helpful. The bad news is that it is a long way from the ferry port and it's a sweaty 15 minute walk uphill with your bags in the midday sun. The good news is that they have a free shuttle bus (if only we'd known in advance) and the out of the way location means that it is very quiet at night, pretty much guaranteeing a good night's sleep as the hustle and bustle of town is safely out of earshot. The bad news is breakfast starts at 8am which is useless if you want to catch an early ferry somewhere. The good news is that they provide a bagged breakfast for you to eat in your room if you ask the night before. The bad news is they have no restaurant. The good news is that they have negotiated discounts at a dozen or so restaurants so that their guests can save a few euro. So on balance, a good place to stay. But I can't imagine it really is the best in town as Trip Advisor's ratings suggest as it really isn't anywhere that special. 

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service, good location, great clean and large rooms. If I head back to Lipari I will defiantly stay here again. All the staff are so friendly from reception to the lovely housekeepers. Nothing is ever too much hassle. Breakfast is very sufficient with lots to choose from!! Value for money, can see why it's number one on TA.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sannge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We shared our stay of 4 nights between 2 hotels and this was the better one. Both had a kid of villa feel to them. The Borgo felt slightly bigger but in a good way ie more room. We had two connecting rooms/ apartment. The bedrooms were big and each had a terrace from which we could see the sea but the view is not that great as you can see some older buildings etc. not a biggie though.
The photo you see on the website with the pool is the back of the hotel with two rooms. most rooms seem to have these nice terraces.

Big plus is the friendly and helpful staff! We gave them a challenge to find a very specific tour and although we had asked also our previous hotel, the borgo staff found just want we needed, showing great knowledge of the activities and tour companies in the area.

Big plus too is the free shuttle to two. There can be 15min depending how fast you walk but in the heat of the summer its hard to even walk 5min! The shuttle is at set times but well enough to cover any need to go to town and back too. Again not all hotels do this as we found out. They do also offer pick up and drop off from the port.
they do not have any option for lunch or dinner on site but do have agreements with about 20 restaurants in town for discounted meals. We thought it was a great idea.

One negative was all the wasp activity we found at the pool, which is a nice pool by the way. The first time we went there it was full of wasps! very off putting, but we told them and they had someone spray the area which fixed the problem for that day and the next, although of course, some wasps were still around it was manageable! at least we found they responded straight away.

Overall, a very good choice as it is away from the noise one could find in town but with the shuttle service which made things easier

Room Tip: Maybe away from reception, there seem to be 2 rooms next to reception but I would think it could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Borgo Eolie was the perfect charming boutique hotel on Lipari island. They complimentary shuttle service from the port to the hotel and the hotel to center (8 -10 min walk on foot) proved a relief in the heat of July with bags. Stayed with two other girlfriends in a ground floor room close to the lovely heated, hydro massage pool. Modern and extremely clean rooms with AC, standing shower with hot water and flat screen TVs. Turn down/maid service everyday was a nice touch after we spent most days exploring the nearby islands and lipari. The restaurant agreements that the hotel offers with quite a few establishments in town are extra helpful if you are watching a budget as well. Complimentary breakfast is not lacking if you travel to Italy you will know what to expect (brioche, cakes, toast, fruit, juices, tea coffee, cereal, a small selection of eggs and baked beans i believe for american/uk travellers). Great hotel and would definitely return in the future. The staff in the reception area always had a smile and were super friendly and eager to help despite the time of day. Luca the driver of the hotel van was always pleasant as well. Grazie per una vacanza stupenda Hotel Borgo!!

Sidenote - if you have allergies to pollen/trees/bees bring medication or spray as the surroundings are lush with beautiful flowers and shrubs that tend to attract alot of insects.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Three nights at Borgo Eolie proved too few. The hotel is an well managed, nicely maintained, intimate resort in a picturesque location. The outdoor heated pool is one of its finer features, as are its manicured grounds, and spacious air-conditioned rooms. Free hi speed wi-fi near the breakfast and reception area also a bonus. The staff, especially Massimo, are very helpful and welcoming. The hotel is several minutes walk from the center of town, so the hotel provides a regular shuttle for guests to and from the town and the port. For the price, I have found no better value in all of Italy. The breakfast is good, though not exceptional, but the surroundings are such that its hard to care too much. Highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Marthapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very well-maintained, clean and efficiently managed hotel. (see comments below on room location) Generally quiet, calm suroundings with a clean pool. All staff welcoming, pleasant and professional. Massimo, we love you !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden area. Try to avoid the rooms above the garage area on the left of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A lovely calm, beautifully maintained base for our time on Lipari. The staff treated us exceptionally well. We would definitely recommend to others. The shuttle bus service into town was really helpful but actually it's a really pleasant walk too (though perhaps not in the heat of the day!).

Room Tip: 209 had a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLM1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipari
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#29 of 33 in Lipari
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Eolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Eolie Hotel

Address: C/da Mendolita, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Price Range: £43 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Eolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borgo Eolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing