We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay in such a clean new hotel with friendly service”
Review of Borgo Eolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice to stay in such a clean new hotel with friendly service”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We were 4 couples traveling around sicily. What a fun treat to stay here. They nicely picked us up at the port and gave us many trips to town for dinners, touring and excursions to Stromboli. Arellano and "max" made everything easy for all of us. Rooms and breakfasts were perfect for our group. We enjoyed wine on the terrace and for one of us who enjoys dirt coke ,even brought Ice without being asked. Yes!! Great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    126
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
322
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Visited this hotel in year 2012. Despite the fact that the hotel is a bit far from the sea, get to it quite easily. Service and maintenance within the hotel is quite good. Rooms are well appointed and quiet. In the hotel we took the excursion on Isola Vulcano, were very pleased. Breakfast with no frills, but overall quite tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We liked this hotel a lot and it was a perfect base for excursions to stromboli at night ( a must !) and to explore Lipari. This hotel has spacious rooms, balconies and a lovely pool.

Staff were friendly.

There is a shuttle service by arrangements from the port.
Walk without luggage is easy and takes about ten minutes.

Breakfast was plentiful and included fruit, joghurts, cheese etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berggans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

bad point first: it's 10min walking from the harbor/city center, where you should arrive by boat. But there is a bus service to take you there and drop you off for free, provided by the hotel. So what?
Staff was nice, rooms were spacious and clean, with soft towels, good beds, a small terrasse. Really good room, and calm. The breakfast is fully-fitted, and you can have it outside, which is lovely with the mountains view. Definitely the best hotel in Sicily during my trip! (and not expensive at all off peak season)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived in Lipari by hydrofoil from Stromboli and called the hotel prior to leaving to organise a pickup at the port. Arriving at the port there was no one to pick us up so we eventually called again and got an apology and a car dispatched immediately. We finally got picked up after about half an hour from arriving. The man at reception was very accommodating taking our cases and booking us in quickly and efficiently. I don't think the room we had was on the "A" list, but it had a large balcony looking over the drive way. It was possible to see the sea to the right over other buildings. The breakfast was okay except for the eggs and sausages. The scrambled eggs were like rubber and almost inedible the small sausages were hard and tasteless. The rest for the breakfast was fine.
Once orientated the walk into town was fine. We were provided with a list of restaurants that were recommended and also provided some extra value to guests at the hotel, the best we found was Kasbah café. They had the best quality food we found after two weeks in Italy and cooked by chef's as opposed to cooks. Another place going to was a wine bar that also served anti pasta and Panini's it was called "Eno Paninoteca Gilberto e Vera". The host was a real character and the wine and food were exceptional.
Lipari was an experience and the first place where we were able to experience the real Italy.
Two days was not enough.

Room Tip: A room near the pool would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trzin, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Borgo Eolie is located outside the city center, which might discourage some travelers from staying there, however, the hotel provides a shuttle service that will take you to the city center or to the port free of charge. The walk is not that long either, it takes about 10 min to get to the main street from the hotel. They also pick you up (free of charge) when you arrive by hydrofoil or ferry, you just have to let them know the hour. We didn't know in advance when we would arrive so we called them upon our arrival and they sent a minivan to pick us up.

The staff were exceptional, especially the guy at the reception that worked afternoons! The most cheerful and helpful receptionist I have ever encountered. He also speaks English quite well for an Italian.

Another great thing about our stay was that they provided gluten free breakfast for me (I notified them about my condition beforehand) without charging extra money for it. Their breakfast also surprised us as we were used to getting bread, butter and jam in other parts of Sicily and the Eolian Islands. At the Borgo Eolie, however, they serve different types of bread, pastry and cakes, all kinds of jam, cereal and yogurt, ham, salami and cheese, two types of eggs, hot dogs, different kinds of juices, milk, coffee, tea, fruit, etc.There's also free coffee or hot drinks available free of charge throughout the day and they provide you with a list of restaurants where you can get a pretty nice discount if you mention that you're staying at the Borgo Eolie. Some of the restaurants on the list offer gluten free pasta and almost all of them have gluten free options like fish or meat for you to choose from if you can't eat pasta or pizza. We liked Bartolo the best.

The rooms were also lovely. The furniture is new but it has that antique feel that is felt throughout the hotel. They are also very well equipped: safe, fridge, hairdryer, etc. The cleanliness is amazing, they clean your room every morning and by clean I mean really really clean. We had a lovely little terrace overlooking the hills and we really enjoyed spending our evenings drinking wine and just hanging out on the terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabuk, Saudi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Arrived in Catonia Airport last month but my luggage didn't, a big disappointment & travelled out to Lipari the next day, arrive at the hotel & on them finding out that my luggage had been lost took over ringing morning & night & informing me how they were going until one afternoon the announcement that it was arriving on the wharf at 8pm it did & also 2 of the staff to make sure it happened & to smooth anything over, they went outr of there was to make my stay welcome, breakfast is continental & beautiful, they have a vehicle to pick you up from the wharf just ring them, it goes down every hr for guests & after 10pm every 1/2 hf till 12pm

Room Tip: from whatI coud see they were all alright, I had on on the mid level lh side & still had a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamjam101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#29 of 33 in Lipari
338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Eolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Eolie Hotel

Property: Borgo Eolie Hotel
Address: C/da Mendolita, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Eolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Borgo Eolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing