We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing!!!! EOLIE 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group

Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group
Ranked #3 of 24 Tours in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing!!!! EOLIE 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

i have just returned from my holiday in Sicily. I visited the island of Lipari in the eolian Islands so that i could make a night excursion to Stromboli, which i had read about in my guide. We decided to use the "Da massimo Dolce Vita" company, as they were the only company that used the Magmatrek guides in Stromboli to make the ascent to the top.
Those guides were also recommended in our guide. We were very impressed with the way the tour was organized - small groups with a very friendly and polite crew on their boat.
We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip, and can highly recommend it to any others who would like to make this excursion while on the islands.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massimo1423, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie Joseph speriamo di rivederci alle Eolie.
Saluti
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    27
    7
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the worst trips of my life!! Thought we would die on the boatride home...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have dreamed about hiking up to the crater on Stromboli for many years, and now when I visited a friend in Sicily I took the chance and went to Lipari, and bought a the spot on Dolde vita group's tour "Climb to the topo of the Crater in Stromboli".
The beginning was rather okay, except the organization is a bit bad. And it's rather bad that no one in the staff speak any English, not a word.. And on the first stop I started to feel that the staff on the boat was rather rude! I was about to board the boat after the stop on Panarea, and to "tell me" it was to early to board one of the guy in the staff is whistling and shooing at me?!?! As I was a dog... I felt rather insulted!!
The hike on Stomboli with Magma Trek was very good!! Great staff and organization! But then came the worst part of the whole trip. Despite warnings of a close by thunderstorm the staff on the Dolde vita group still choose to take the boat back immediately.. Which means we ending up in a huge thunderstorm (for the 2 hours boat ride) with lightning hitting the water all around us every few minutes!! It was pure luck we didn't get hit and badly hurt or killed during this ride!!
My recommendation, go to Stromboli directly and book a hike from Magma Trek instead if you want to go up to the crater.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massimo1423, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Google Translation
Tutto cio' mi sembra molto strano,le nostre barche sono attrezzate con apparecchiature moderne,
non siamo pazzi, non mettiamo a repentaglio la vita di nessuno,la strumentazione moderna ormai ti calcola la distanza dei temporali,certo per la gente che non è abituata un fulmine ad una distanza di 3mg ti sembra vicinissimo,i nostri ragazzi ricevono complimenti per cordialità,simpatia,gentilezza,cortesia tutti i giorni quindi ribadisco che Tutto cio' mi sembra STRANO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
215 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not more than a ferry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We took this company for a Lipari and Vulcano trip. Reviews seemed to be very positive.
However, we never got the trip as quoted in the brochure. We got one swim in a remote area, no visit to the pinnacle, no landing on the black beach. Instead they just brought us to Vulcano and took us back. We could just have taken the normal ferry for a fraction of the price. The staff spoke little English and was quite rude and disinterested. Definately not worth the money.
When we visited the office after returning there was no apology, they said " you got one swim and got to Vulcano, basta". Not quite the same description as their brochure, nor verbally beforehand. Apparently they did not do the normal tour that day, but the were not too shy to ask the full tour price for a ferry trip.
Such a pity, because friends of mine were quite positive before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massimo1423, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Google Translation
Siamo increduli dinnanzi a queste parole,i signori hanno fatto con noi la gita a Stromboli trovandosi benissimo,la mattina seguente sono venuti nella nostra Agenzia comprando semplicemente un trasferimento all'isola di Vulcano andata/ritorno ad € 15,00,anzi noi abbiamo regalato loro un bagno fuori programma, non capiamo il motivo della lamentela,ho trattato io stesso con i clienti,tutto cio' mi lascia di stucco in quanto parlo con la gente sempre con il massimo della trasparenza per non avere problemi dopo.
Saluti
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Will never use them again don't even consider them”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed on two separate occasions at Diana Brown B&B and her daughter and Son in law (Massimo) - Dolde vita group- were recommended by her as people who did excursionis from lipari to The various Islands. There appear to be many companies but in fact there are only à few who do The tours and different agents who Sell them. The one selling point Massimo has is that they run smaller boats and this is supposed to be an edge on the opposition. This is not the full story as little is here on Lipari, you need to be wide awake not to be taken for a ride. A small boat is all good and well but NOT if you are going say to Alicudi or Stromboli which are a long way away. You do not need a massive boat but a medium boat goes quicker. Simply put a smaller boat takes much longer so bear that in mind.

Back to La Dolce Vita group and Massimo. We went on a small tour lipari - vulcano 3 -5 weeks ago and it was just as the brochure promised save there was NO English commentary. This is a problem on excursions here so ask and get it in writing before booking. The tour was good.

Today I was back with other friends and booked the same 15 euro tour as it was so good the previous time. What a mistake. There was almost NO tour. What the brochure promised and what actually happened could not have been further apart. Further on arrival in Vulcano we were told we were on another boat coming back half an hour earlier. None of this was communicated when we booked. He was quick to charge and take the 60 euros and on return when we complained it was a disaster.

On return we went to their office and asked his wife (Diana Brown's daughter), she also works there, what the 15 euro tour entailed and she mentioned what we envisaged. Massimo came in and the rage started saying that today a cup of coffee cost 15 euros, that says it all. Quickly his wife tried to change what she originally said, told me how stupid I was and that they did not need our support, and then the whole issue degenerated into a loud mess. Of course a simple apology and some sort of recompense would have solved the matter at once but they were NOT prepared to accept any responsibility in any form and Massimo became threatening.

Back at Diana Brown, Massimo was already there trying to influence her before we chatted to her. Again very threatening and more worried and angry about me allegedly throwing a pen on the table than the real issue. That says it all. Of course for Diana it was problematic as guests on one side and family on the other but the fact of the matter is she recommends them and her B&B is advertised at the back of their brochure so it is not scott free I am afraid.

This company takes your cash quickly delivers little on service and where a legitimate complaint exists goes on the attack with no apology.

There has been a price war this last week for excursions from Lipari. Massimo and the Dolce vita group were 5-10 euros more expensive on most trips per person and did not offer as much as the others.

Don't touch it or do so at your peril.

A little tip. When looking for excursions of this type get in writing what the tour entails precisely where you stop and swim, as this was often very different to what is sold or expected, and check if there is English commentary. Do all of this before departing with your hard earned money. There are people here who are arrogant enough to think they can take your money and offer very little in return and you will be satisfied and not complain.

On a much more positive note:
If you want a company and boat that goes the extra mile do not hesitate to book with Luna Quinta and ask to go on the boat Santino. The tour to Panerea and Stromboli with them ticked every box and they went the extra mile. Truly outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank CarlK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massimo1423, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Google Translation
Il nostro programma offre tante tipologie di servizi ,la gita di € 15,00 è semplicemente un trasferimento di andata e ritorno per Vulcano,con una sosta bagno,questo è quello che i signori hanno pagato ed hanno svolto dalle 10,00 alle 13,00,basta pensare che un mezzo di lineea costa € 12,00,vi era anche l'alternativa Vulcano giro completo dalle 10 alle 17 con tanti bagni,perchè si lamentano? ho venduto io stesso questo servizio ai signori,mia moglie non c'era,perchè dicono che era presente?SE SONO RITORNATI da noi vuol dire che s ierano trovati bene,perchè lui stesso ha detto che non siamo i piu' economici,non è assolutamente vero che le barche piccole sono meno veloci di quelle grandi anzi.
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“1 day with Da Massimo made my whole 2-week trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Simply put: this was the best part of 2 weeks in Italy. Upon arriving in Lipari I spent an hour walking up and down the main streets in Lipari asking every tour company what they offered for the next day. Most of the boats were huge with over 75 people going on the trip. As a solo traveler, this is not what I was looking for! I was so glad when I got to Da Massimo and learned that their boat has a max of 20 people. Not only that, they really make it special by chopping up and passing around a fresh watermelon to share at one of the swim stops, and by toasting with Lipari wine over sunset while watching Stromboli spew its eruptions. A whole day trip for €55 (less with the discount they were offering when I visited!)...DEFINITELY worth it. If I had stayed in Lipari longer I would have done another excursion with them, and will definitely do so if I'm lucky enough to get to travel to the Eolian islands again! While the boat operators speak only a little bit of English, they were incredibly kind and funny and made me feel very safe. Overall it was a wonderfully organized tour--one I will never forget!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pepponde05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massimo1423, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per le bellissime parole nei nostri confronti,speriamo di rivederci.
Saluti
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group also viewed

 

Been to Da Massimo Dolce Vita Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing