We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3+ stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Charleroi, Belgium
2 reviews
“Good 3+ stars hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Quite location, good breakfast, nice bedroom
Dinner quantity was really too low - wifi almost never working

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalpihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    67
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
87
115
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The hotel is centrally located in a very quiet area and only a few minutes walk from the harbour. There are various restaurants on the waterfront where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine and watch the people stroll by.
The hotel has a small swimming pool with sun beds but if they are taken there is also a roof terrace with whirlpool. Also a small gym.
The staff are very friendly, service good and the food is excellent. There was always a choice of fish, meat or vegetarian for main course and the starters naturally pasta., just how it should be in Italy.
We had a room with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The room itself wasn't very large but very tastefully furnished with everything you need. No complaints.
Lipari is not a place where you go for a bathing holiday but ideal for boat trips to the various Islands, especially Stromboli and Vulcano.
Lipari has its own charm and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

For the rates they ask, this place is definitely not worth it. All the rooms and hallways are tiled so when someone walks above, below or outside your room, you will hear them. Then there's the piano player in the foyer who plays every night until midnight - and you will hear it from your room as it echos through the whole building. Hopefully you don't have to wake up early the next morning! Then there was the dripping water sound outside my window all night - when I complained about it, I was promised it would be fixed, but the next night it happened again. The staff at the front desk hardly speak any English so it's very difficult to communicate any problems or issues. Then there's the air-conditioning in the room: if you want to turn it on or off or change the temperature, you have to call reception to do it and hopefully they will understand what you are talking about. The only good thing about this place is the free shuttle bus to the port, but this is only to pick you up and drop you off when you arrive and leave; you can't use it while you're staying there (which would have been useful to go to the other islands during the stay). My advice is to avoid this place as there are better priced alternatives in Lipari.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2009

this hotel is wonderful. it's very clean and the service is excellent. It's very centrally located......I think it's "the best"

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BridgetT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHALipari, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, 14 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are elated to learn about your overall positive stay and that you particularly loved all our services.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This hotel was excellent. Very clean and great service. We were picked up and dropped off at the ferry. Small pool area but there was always space for a sunbed. Definately recommend it!

  • Liked — Cleaniness and pool.
  • Disliked — No view of ocean.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank J076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

What a lovely hotel. I travelled with my mum to Lipari and we stayed 4 nights. The hotel is clean and we found the staff helpful and courteous. The room was clean, a good size and serviced with clean towels daily. Our room rate included breakfast daily which offered a great choice of foods. The location was quiet which is a bonus when you need a good night's sleep. It was a short and comfortable walk into the centre for all restaurant and shopping needs. I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Clean and a great terrace for enjoying the sun
  • Disliked — Unfortunately, tea and coffee making facilities in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Summer-Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHALipari, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, 14 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are elated to learn about your overall positive stay and that you particularly loved all our services, our breakfats and the great choice of food, our rooms and the location.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2007

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful week at the Arciduca.

Our highlight was the quality of food which was excellent. Every evening we were able to choose from some fabulous dishes. Prices were good for the quality and the wine choices were also excellent (although not cheap for all).

The rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. My girlfriend loved the bathrooms - a week link on trips elsewhere).

However, what really made the hotel different was the welcome. This is a family run hotel and it showed. The team were always hospitable and extended every effort to ensure we were comfortable and having a good time! This really counted for us.

Lipari itself is something of a wonder. This small island has history, some wonderful beaches and a town centre with lots to offer all.

We took boat trips to Stromboli and Vulcano - both fascinating destinations.



If we return to Lipari we will come back to Arciduca without question.

  • Liked — Food & quality of room
  • Disliked — Wine prices slightly high!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonChablis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHALipari, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this review, 14 August 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are elated to learn about your overall positive stay and that you particularly loved our dishes and that our rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. .

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#3 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Arciduca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Arciduca

Property: Grand Hotel Arciduca
Address: Via Giuseppe Franza Lipari, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Arciduca 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the multi-coloured Aeolian houses of Lipari’s historic centre stands a romantic little cluster of three buildings: the Grand Hotel Arciduca, named in honour of Louis Salvator, Archduke of Austria. The Hapsburgs’ opulence combines with Sicilian styles from the end of the 19th century to create a summer palace. The bedrooms are elegant, public areas are warm and welcoming and the service is excellent. The restaurant terrace overlooks the heated swimming-pool with its hydromassage, set among the colours and perfumes of Mediterranean shrubs. A sun terrace, a gym and a games room complete the ideal setting for a holiday on Lipari. Just a few steps away is the square of Marina Corta, by the fishermen’s port and the hydrofoil dock. The little beach of Portinente is a two-minute walk and the colourful little shops and boutiques in the town centre can be reached in a couple of minutes more. Those in search of culture, on the other hand, have only a 5-minute walk to reach Lipari’s Castle, which has a museum and an archaeological garden, and the Cathedral with its cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Arciduca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing