We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Severely disappointed during high tourist season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I was excited about going to the Aeolian Islands and planned to stay on Lipari for 3 days while exploring the other islands. My room at the Grande Hotel Arciduca was not up to the standards I expcect, especially given the price. The linen was of poor quality. The air conditioner to handle the hot summer heat was insufficient. The foot was mediocre. I did enjoy my tour of the other islands, especially Stromboli. I just wish I had booked at a different hotel

Room Tip: Go up and check your room out before committing to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHALipari, Direttore at Grand Hotel Arciduca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

This is not the first time that we get a suspect feedback, we believe it won’t be the last one. We have been threatened several times and as we can see the revenge keeps going on. We still receive false reviews.

This is a 4 star Hotel, situated in the center of Lipari, a few steps from the main street. We provide very good service and the housekeeping is excellent. Our linen is made of natural fibers and very good quality.

We have a centralized air conditioning system, we have never had problems with it and our guests can switch it on/off or manage the temperature directly from their room.

Service is personalized and very attentive to guest’s needs. We do not recognize any guest we had at the Hotel corresponding to your profile.

Trip Advisor is an excellent medium of communication but it cannot and it must not be used for mean purposes.

M. Fiorentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is my fourth stay at this wonderful hotel and I can honestly say that it just keeps getting better every time I return. The proprietor obviously takes much pride in providing hotel guests with clean and comfortable amenities that the hotel is refurbished every year ensuring that everything is operational and functional. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. The hotel is in a very picturesque and quite location and is only a short 5 minute walk to the Marina Corta: a beautiful port surrounded by shops and bars or to the main strip Corso Vittorio Emanuele which leads to the Marina Longa. The food in the restaurant at the Arciduca is sensational: fresh produce is supplied to the hotel daily and if you like to eat fish (as I do) there is plenty of it here. The proprietor is obviously clearly a wine affacionado as there is a wonderful selection of wines available - I sampled a different red wine from a different region in Italy each night with my meal. The breakfast is also substantial and caters for every guest's taste and dietary requirement. Staff are very friendly and accommodating: nothing is too much trouble. If you are looking to stay at a fabulous hotel on this magical island - look no further. I am very much looking forward to my next memorable experience at this hotel. Grazie mille.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cohuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great service, wonderful breakfast, excellent restaurant and perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

grand hotel arciduca was in a fantastic location! rooms were very large, spacious & clean. hotel staff was very friendly & helpful, breakfast was good & hotel pool was large & spacious. best part of the hotel was the rooftop jacuzzi, perfect for quiet relaxtion & tanning. overall it was a fantastic place to stay in lipari & would definately reccomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Hotelarea : split on 3 places ( main building, new building across the street, villa )
Rooms : Deluxerooms are ok, standardrooms are extremly small and also the shower is made for superslim only
Breakfast : continental with some small italian sweets
Dinner : mainstream, extremly fast due preordering,
waiters : soso
maid : not good; the used cups where not replaced for 3 days, minibar not refilled during the whole stay
In total the location is quite good for starting excursions on foot and boat as well. The small harbour is only 2-3 minutes to walk and to reach the center of Lipari it will take perhaps 10min on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DolceVita36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Quite location, good breakfast, nice bedroom
Dinner quantity was really too low - wifi almost never working

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalpihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The hotel is centrally located in a very quiet area and only a few minutes walk from the harbour. There are various restaurants on the waterfront where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine and watch the people stroll by.
The hotel has a small swimming pool with sun beds but if they are taken there is also a roof terrace with whirlpool. Also a small gym.
The staff are very friendly, service good and the food is excellent. There was always a choice of fish, meat or vegetarian for main course and the starters naturally pasta., just how it should be in Italy.
We had a room with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The room itself wasn't very large but very tastefully furnished with everything you need. No complaints.
Lipari is not a place where you go for a bathing holiday but ideal for boat trips to the various Islands, especially Stromboli and Vulcano.
Lipari has its own charm and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#28 of 33 in Lipari
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#14 of 33 in Lipari
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Arciduca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Arciduca

Address: Via Giuseppe Franza Lipari, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range: £52 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Arciduca 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the multi-coloured Aeolian houses of Lipari’s historic centre stands a romantic little cluster of three buildings: the Grand Hotel Arciduca, named in honour of Louis Salvator, Archduke of Austria. The Hapsburgs’ opulence combines with Sicilian styles from the end of the 19th century to create a summer palace. The bedrooms are elegant, public areas are warm and welcoming and the service is excellent. The restaurant terrace overlooks the heated swimming-pool with its hydromassage, set among the colours and perfumes of Mediterranean shrubs. A sun terrace, a gym and a games room complete the ideal setting for a holiday on Lipari. Just a few steps away is the square of Marina Corta, by the fishermen’s port and the hydrofoil dock. The little beach of Portinente is a two-minute walk and the colourful little shops and boutiques in the town centre can be reached in a couple of minutes more. Those in search of culture, on the other hand, have only a 5-minute walk to reach Lipari’s Castle, which has a museum and an archaeological garden, and the Cathedral with its cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Arciduca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing